3T BAREFOOT MAX Water Shoe – Review

3T BAREFOOT MAX Water Shoe – Product characteristics

  • 100% Synthetic
  • Imported
  • Synthetic sole
  • Shaft measures approximately low-top from arch
  • MINIMALIST BAREFOOT FEEL- Three toe design makes for barefoot feel but still easy on experience. Zero heel lift and low-profile ultra-grip outsole provides maximum traction for walking or hiking anywhere from the river to the beach
  • EASY ON – Adjustable hook and loop strap and adjustable shocklace system allows for an easy slip on entry while maintaining a snug fit.
  • DESIGNED FOR WATER- Flexible, breathable and lightweight water shoe makes it perfect for kayaking, stand-up paddle boarding, fishing, swimming, or any other activity in or near water
  • QUICK DRY WITH DRAINAGE – Made with quick dry materials and Integrated Drainage System (IDS) to allow water and air to move freely making these toe shoes ideal for any water activity
Body Glove Men's 3T Barefoot Max Water Shoe, Black/Dazzling Blue, 9
1,915 Reviews
Body Glove Men's 3T Barefoot Max Water Shoe, Black/Dazzling Blue, 9*
  • MINIMALIST BAREFOOT FEEL- Three toe design makes for barefoot feel but still easy on experience. Zero heel lift and low-profile ultra-grip outsole provides maximum traction for walking or hiking...
  • EASY ON - Adjustable hook and loop strap and adjustable shocklace system allows for an easy slip on entry while maintaining a snug fit.
  • DESIGNED FOR WATER- Flexible, breathable and lightweight water shoe makes it perfect for kayaking, stand-up paddle boarding, fishing, swimming, or any other activity in or near water

3T BAREFOOT MAX Water Shoe – Reviews

What’s the shape of your foot?

This would be a 5 Star review, but I’m giving it a 4 for two reasons. Like others have said, the actual size is a bit smaller. I wear a size 10 or 10.5. I changed my order size from 12 to 11. I should have stayed with 12. This lead to the second point, depending on the shape of your foot. This shoe is design for someone with toes running flat across like “Orient” style (see photo). I’m “Egyptian” style where my last three toes slants down. So at size 11, the overall fit is tight, but there’s too much room for the last three toes for me. If I gotten size 12, then my last three toes would slip out of the “3rd toe” on the shoe (hope this make sense.) With that said, because of the shape of the shoes, 11 is working for me. I don’t plan to wear them for 8 hours in a day standing up, so the tight fit is ok. Maybe 11.5 would be perfect, but they don’t offer in half sizes.

Reviewed in the United States on September 3, 2020

Make sure you size up!

I’m leaving them on right now because they feel fantastic on my feet ….when I get back from the keys in two weeks I’ll give you my updated review… I wear a 9 1/2 wide I ordered a 10 it was too small I sent them back and got an 11 and they fit like a Pair of socks…. just got back from the keys again used them for kayaking, fishing and used them out in the back country on the sandbar on a beautiful Sunday afternoon

Reviewed in the United States on September 6, 2018

Sizes are way off

These shoes appear to be very well made. I can’t give much more of a review due to their size being way off. I wear a 10.5 almost always but sometimes I need an 11. So I ordered the size 11. Well when it arrived I tried them on. The right foot I was able to get on but my toes were jambed right up to the end of the shoe, very uncomfortable. I still decided to try the left shoe and was surprised as it was so small I couldn’t even get it on. There is no label on the shoe itself only a tag attached to the rubber string the two shoes were tied together with. It said size 11. I have never had a left shoe smaller than the right. Something is very wrong with the sizing so I sent them back and ordered a 12 the largest size. Hope they fit and I will review them once they arrive.

Reviewed in the United States on September 6, 2018

Fit true to size- good protection…but that stink,stank stunk!

I usually wear a size 12 in shoes and ordered these in the same size and they fit well with room to adjust tighter if needed. They take a little getting used with the 3 toe separations, but with that design, I believe it provides a little more natural barefoot dexterity feeling when traversing over rocks and obstacles. The bottom padding provides good protection, but there is not much stiffness to it…in other words you will still feel that your stepping on a rock, it just won’t be cutting into your foot.The one big down side to these as many will tell you, is the stink. I usually don’t have stinky feet (doesn’t matter) these will smell horrible after a day or two of heavy use. I brought these with me on vacation, and had to soak them in soapy water and air out in the full sun for a day, and still had to wrap in a ziploc bag before stowing them in my checked luggage. I am still researching a cure or at least a good soap mixture to wash them in, but who wants to do that daily on vacation in a tropical place?

Reviewed in the United States on February 6, 2019

There’s no half size so order a size up.

There’s nothing to not like about these water shoes. They are a great pair to invest in. Comfy, and snugged over my feet. Highly recommended if you looking for water shoes. Hawaii here we come!

Reviewed in the United States on August 2, 2021

Love them

I don’t know why I waited so long to buy a pair

Reviewed in the United States on June 14, 2022

Muy util

Se siente muy cómodo como si fuera una zapatilla y resistente. El pie queda protegido para caminar por playa, piedras, rocas, estos dos últimos con precaución.

Reviewed in the United States on March 14, 2021

If you’re a half size, order one size up.

I’m a size 10.5 but, half sizes are not offered. I ordered a size 11 and it fits just fine. The product works as advertised. I would recommend this item.

Reviewed in the United States on August 19, 2020
Body Glove Men's 3T Barefoot Max Water Shoe, Black/Dazzling Blue, 9
1,915 Reviews
Body Glove Men's 3T Barefoot Max Water Shoe, Black/Dazzling Blue, 9*
  • MINIMALIST BAREFOOT FEEL- Three toe design makes for barefoot feel but still easy on experience. Zero heel lift and low-profile ultra-grip outsole provides maximum traction for walking or hiking...
  • EASY ON - Adjustable hook and loop strap and adjustable shocklace system allows for an easy slip on entry while maintaining a snug fit.
  • DESIGNED FOR WATER- Flexible, breathable and lightweight water shoe makes it perfect for kayaking, stand-up paddle boarding, fishing, swimming, or any other activity in or near water

3T BAREFOOT MAX Water Shoe – FAQ

Why you don’t have size 14

Size 14 is not a very common size of shoe in general sorry

Should these fit like a glove? Form fitting?

I think so. I wear them to the pool and the Y and the fit like a glove. I have to use a shoehorn when they are new to get the heel in.

my normal shoe size is 10 1/2 so what size would you recommend since you don’t have half sizes?

We ordered a size up and they were too big. We then gave them to a friend and ordered a size down which worked perfectly. Love these shoes!

I have long toes. Will they be comfy still?

Yes they will as long as you buy the right size, I also have long toes and I love mine.

How would these hold up for casual hiking?

I wouldn’t recommend them for hiking. Instead, I’d look for waterproof hiking shoes. They might be okay for a hike or two, but don’t offer much in the way of foot support.

Are the insoles removable?

No

Is there a waterproof adhesive (you have already tried to reconnect the heel onto the shoe?

We haven’t had that problem, but try Flexsteel. That is the product that they glue tiles under water in swimming pools, and glue boats together, etc, etc. I am sure that you have seen that ad on TV, and is a remarkable product. Amazon probably has it too!

do they float?

No

I have fat feet will the strap be too short?

Hey Mike, Not sure. Depends on the size of your foot. My recommendation is to go with the 3T Cinch. It’s the same style as the Max without the strap. Or we offer the Body Glove Seek for larger feet, it just doesn’t offer the 3T technology.

Body Glove Men's 3T Barefoot Max Water Shoe, Black/Dazzling Blue, 9
1,915 Reviews
Body Glove Men's 3T Barefoot Max Water Shoe, Black/Dazzling Blue, 9*
  • MINIMALIST BAREFOOT FEEL- Three toe design makes for barefoot feel but still easy on experience. Zero heel lift and low-profile ultra-grip outsole provides maximum traction for walking or hiking...
  • EASY ON - Adjustable hook and loop strap and adjustable shocklace system allows for an easy slip on entry while maintaining a snug fit.
  • DESIGNED FOR WATER- Flexible, breathable and lightweight water shoe makes it perfect for kayaking, stand-up paddle boarding, fishing, swimming, or any other activity in or near water

*If you buy a product through one of these links, I will receive a small commission from the seller. There are no additional costs for you, and you support my work on this site. To learn more read here. Thank you and Feel Grounded. Dirk