Merrell Kid’s Hydro Junior Sport Sandal – Review

Merrell Kid’s Hydro Junior Sport Sandal – Product characteristics

  • Leather and Textile
  • Imported
  • Synthetic sole
  • lightweight imeva for weightless comfort and quick dry
  • closure to provide a precise and secure fit with easy on/off
  • soft eva molded footbed for all day cushioning and comfort
  • 0mm heel to toe drop for barefoot feel
  • Made with recycled rubber, flexible non-marking outsole with M Select GRIP for superior traction
Merrell Core Hydro JR Sport Sandal, Navy/Green, 8 US Unisex Little Kid*
  • gore and adjustable alternative closure provide a precise and secure fit with easy on/off
  • m-select fresh naturally prevents odor before it starts for fresh smelling feet
  • m-select fresh naturally prevents odor before it starts for fresh smelling feet

Merrell Kid’s Hydro Junior Sport Sandal – Reviews

Great shoes – kids love them

I just ordered these for the third time in the next size up. Our eight year old boys love them and always grab for them over other shoes they own. These sandals are very durable. The boys often play at a local state park – swimming, biking, hiking, etc. – and these are the shoes they wear. The shoes get dirty, we wash them in the washing machine, and they’re good to go and still look great. Highly recommend!

Reviewed in the United States on August 5, 2020

Sensory friendly!

I got a pair for my 8 yo and my 6 yo and they both love them. My 6 yo is extremely picky about his shoes because of his sensory needs and these past the test!

Reviewed in the United States on April 16, 2022

Great play shoes!

I purchased these for my son for the summer. It took a little time to break them in but now he wears them every day!

Reviewed in the United States on May 19, 2021

Very comfortable!

I bought these for my 7 year old for the summer. They are the perfect beach, hiking and water shoe. Great fit and he says they are so comfy

Reviewed in the United States on June 20, 2022

Grandson loves these.

He has wide feet and these are very comfortable.

Reviewed in the United States on October 9, 2020

If between sizes order up.

I wear a size 8 or 8.5 M or W depending on shoe. I got the 8 but it was too tight and short. The 8.5 M was just right. Shoe feels great on and hugs foot well.

Reviewed in the United States on July 17, 2019

Great for narrow feet

I love these sandals. My very active kids wore them every day last summer and they still look great. I bought the next size up for one of my kids this summer, but they are not wide enough for the other. I ordered him Keens instead and it is worth noting that the Keens are about a size smaller in length than the Merrell. I’m not sure which is true to size. The Merrell are long and skinny. The Keens shorter and wide.

Reviewed in the United States on April 22, 2018

Runs large

Runs large. Well made and comfortable.

Reviewed in the United States on May 20, 2019
Merrell Core Hydro JR Sport Sandal, Navy/Green, 8 US Unisex Little Kid*
  • gore and adjustable alternative closure provide a precise and secure fit with easy on/off
  • m-select fresh naturally prevents odor before it starts for fresh smelling feet
  • m-select fresh naturally prevents odor before it starts for fresh smelling feet

Merrell Kid’s Hydro Junior Sport Sandal – FAQ

Are these good for a lot of walking (theme parks) without socks?

Yes you can walk without socks and they are comfortable

Can these shoes be worn at the beach, in the ocean, and in pools?

My children wear them everywhere, the beach, waterpark, pool, etc. If they get really disgusting I have put them in a laundry bag and washed them with a batch of jeans on cold water, then put them in the sun to dry.

True to size?

Yes

How is the strap on these? i’ve had big issues with the keen straps on the h2s. are these easy on/off? strap too small or too big? thanks!

Yes, they are easy on and off. My opinion is that they have the same issue as the keens, in that the velcro doesn’t extend across enough of the strap. So if you have to strap it around a small ankle, you sort of run out of adequate velcro overlap. The strap is also narrower on the Merrells so it feels flimsy, but has always held up just fine and caused no discomfort. That said, I like these and the keens and buy a couple pairs each summer and just go with whichever is a better deal at the time because they are comparable in fit, durability, etc.

Merrell Core Hydro JR Sport Sandal, Navy/Green, 8 US Unisex Little Kid*
  • gore and adjustable alternative closure provide a precise and secure fit with easy on/off
  • m-select fresh naturally prevents odor before it starts for fresh smelling feet
  • m-select fresh naturally prevents odor before it starts for fresh smelling feet

*If you buy a product through one of these links, I will receive a small commission from the seller. There are no additional costs for you, and you support my work on this site. To learn more read here. Thank you and Feel Grounded. Dirk