Merrell Men’s Alpine Sneaker Cross – Review

Merrell Men’s Alpine Sneaker Cross – Product characteristics

  • Made in the USA or Imported
  • Rubber sole
  • Suede leather and textile upper Breathable mesh lining 50% recycled EVA foam insole Lightweight EVA foam midsole for stability and comfort Rubber outsole for reliable traction
Sale
Merrell Men's Alpine Sneaker, Black, 10.5
1,101 Reviews
Merrell Men's Alpine Sneaker, Black, 10.5*
  • Leather and Nylon Upper
  • Traditional lace and buckle closure
  • Breathable mesh lining

Merrell Men’s Alpine Sneaker Cross – Reviews

GREAT shoes

LOVE these shoes. Extremely comfortable and lightweight. They’ve become my go-to shoes…

Reviewed in the United States on July 6, 2020

Plantar Fasciitis Relief

I have worn these Merrell Alpine sneakers to work and while walking and they are one of the most comfortable pairs of shoes I habe ever worn. I bought them to ease the pain of my Plantar Fasciitis and they work great for that, as they have very good heel and arch support, and a roomy toebox. If they ever wear out, I will definitely be buying another pair! Money well spent!

Reviewed in the United States on September 20, 2019

Fantastic Shoes

Really awesome shoes. I was thinking that weird tread would be well weird, and it kind of was in the beginning. It definitely puts a nice lift to the shoes, like a noticeably taller than usual lift from other sneakers. Its a great bouncy cushion and the treads have been pretty capable of gripping everything although haven’t really tested out in wet conditions. The top of the shoes look great with the retro vibe and hi-tech crossover thing. They are getting a bit more dirty than I wanted them too but oh well. I was able to take out the insoles and put in my own insoles so there’s great support and haven’t had any issues with pain or discomfort. I like that the Merrel brand is subtle and people have asked who makes them with nice compliments. Its kind of funny because it surprises people when I mention that brand as they aren’t really known for sneakers, or Hiking Sneakers. Definitely hooked and hope to buy more of this same style, maybe even the red ones some day but probably not

Reviewed in the United States on September 12, 2019

Good support, great look

These shoes look great. I’m very pleased with their appearance out of the box.They do run slightly larger however I went with the size I normally wear and they are just fine. These are just casual sneakers. I would not consider them “hiking sneakers” nor would I use them for hiking purposes.Comfort is average although maybe comfort will increase after they are broken in???

Reviewed in the United States on January 1, 2020

Fashionable casual sneaker

Merell hiking boots fit my foot so well that when I needed some casual sneakers that looked good w/ jeans, I bought these. They are a bit more narrow than the hiking boots and the arches felt weird at first but after breaking them in they feel good.They are not trail shoes. That seemed obvious to me from the pictures. Not sure why they’re marketed that as hiking shoes. Maybe it’s to sell them to people who like the idea of hiking, don’t actually go hiking, but still want to make rugged fashion statements.I don’t know and to be fair I’ve not tried hiking in these, but you wouldn’t want to try. But I like the shoes. They look good and I’ve gotten a handful of compliments on them. Have a great day.

Reviewed in the United States on January 9, 2020

These shoes are okay, but nothing special.

I bought these because I liked the retro look. They also weren’t overly expensive. My thought is they are just mediocre. I expected them to be more comfortable than what they are. There’s not much cushioning with them. I also thought they would look a little better on my feet. Another person wrote a comment on here that they were sick as F. I totally disagree. They are average at best.

Reviewed in the United States on September 5, 2019

Great, durable, light-weight tennis shoes.

These shoes are great! After trying and returning many different brands of shoes, I began to get discouraged about ever finding a nice pair of shoes. Many shoes had those cheap soles (even a pair of Merrell), were uncomfortable or just didn’t fit as expected.These shoes however are awesome! They fit as expected, have great soles, are light-weight and very comfortable. They didn’t need to be broken in and so far, after three months, are holding up just fine and I’ve noticed no issues. Definitely worth buying if you are looking for a durable pair of tennis shoes.

Reviewed in the United States on October 20, 2019

Looking for a wolf, got a poodle🤨

I bought these shoes because they looked cool, and they really do! I get compliments all the time. On the other hand, I was hoping that since they were Merrell’s, they would be rugged and designed for at least some outdoor use. Here’s the problem; the looks overwhelm the performance. You think you can hike or even take walks over uneven terrain by their looks, but don’t do it, these shoes will let you down. Don’t even think about wearing them in icy conditions. You will slip and bust your butt. The gum sole is super slippery on anything wet,sandy, or uneven. The tread pattern is cool looking, but VERY unstable. Kind of ridiculous.Great design for the eyes, not the feet. If you’re looking for the retro look for an evening out, this is a great shoe! If you’re looking for a retro looking all-around shoe to hike in or walk in addition to looking great, Look elsewhere.

Reviewed in the United States on May 13, 2022
Sale
Merrell Men's Alpine Sneaker, Black, 10.5
1,101 Reviews
Merrell Men's Alpine Sneaker, Black, 10.5*
  • Leather and Nylon Upper
  • Traditional lace and buckle closure
  • Breathable mesh lining

Merrell Men’s Alpine Sneaker Cross – FAQ

Are these waterproof?

nope, comfy as hell though

Anyone know if the men’s runs wider than the womens? Had to return a size 10 w, as was too narrow. Wondering if the 8.5 men’s wood be better.

The shoe is narrow. I sometimes purchase a wide but with these I didn’t and they fit.

Can these be returned if they don’t fit properly?

yes

What’s the difference between the tobacco and tobacco leather version? (former also looks like leather.)

They appear to be the same shoe- both suede leather. The difference is probably a seller data entry error in how they describe the shoe within the Amazon SKU/ product ID system. According to Merrells’ website, they only list the “Tobacco” finish for the Alpine Sneaker. Hope that helps.

Does anyone know if these shoes are waterproof?

They are not sold as a WP sneaker. Nor would I categorize them as WP. You could spray them with a water repellant for splashes or spills. They are an extremely comfortable casual shoe.

When you select size 10 once the shoe is placed in the cart the header says it’s a size 11…so is it a size 10 or 11??

10.5

Where are these made?

Viet Nam

I live in the country and its mostly gravel for several miles around, how do they hold up with gravel? my new balance classics are not comfortable!

I haven’t worn them around gravel. Just to work and back on normal pavement. So far so good.

Sale
Merrell Men's Alpine Sneaker, Black, 10.5
1,101 Reviews
Merrell Men's Alpine Sneaker, Black, 10.5*
  • Leather and Nylon Upper
  • Traditional lace and buckle closure
  • Breathable mesh lining

*If you buy a product through one of these links, I will receive a small commission from the seller. There are no additional costs for you, and you support my work on this site. To learn more read here. Thank you and Feel Grounded. Dirk