Merrell Men’s Vapor Glove 3 Luna Leather Sneaker – Review

Merrell Men’s Vapor Glove 3 Luna Leather Sneaker – Product characteristics

  • 100% Leather
  • Rubber sole
  • Soft leather upper
  • Breathable mesh lining
  • Vibram TC5+ rubber sole
Sale
Merrell Men's Vapor Glove 3 Luna Leather Sneaker, black, 10 M US*
  • TrailProtect Pad underfoot for Protection
  • Vibram TC5 Outsole
  • Breathable Mesh Lining

Merrell Men’s Vapor Glove 3 Luna Leather Sneaker – Reviews

Decent version of a great shoe concept

I’ve had a few pairs of VG 3, 4 and 5 shoes in various materials, and by far the best are the 3s in mesh. These leather ones are slightly smaller and vastly more stiff than the 2 pairs of mesh 3s I’ve had. They were bought as semi-dress shoes, so I don’t plan to wear them a whole lot. In that regard they serve their purpose, but I do wish they were a smidge bigger and less stiff.I had to return the first pair (which were slightly different in construction) because one shoe made a popping sound. These were the replacements for those, and both pairs fit/felt about the same.

Reviewed in the United States on October 2, 2021

Stiff tongue extremely painful

Now I know why these are the only vapor glove 3 shoes still in stock anywhere: this leather version is cut on the same pattern as the fabric ones but made of thick stuff leather. The tongue – also thick leather! – is so stiff it actually cut the skin over the “flex zone” at the bottom front of my ankle. Yuck. Truly awful shoes.

Reviewed in the United States on December 13, 2021

Stiff, tight, uncomfortable

I was hoping these would be more like the original Vapor Glove 3 that I had for a couple years prior to these. The leather is too unforgiving and bends poorly at the toe joints. The tongue is the worst part. Just putting these on is annoying because the side edges of the tongue fold in and get stuck. I have to make sure to hold the tongue just right to slide them on every time. Not to mention, the laces were way too short and I had to replace them immediately just to tie them.The width around the midfoot is tight even though I got the same exact size as the original Vapor Glove 3. Because the leather doesn’t flex well, it pinches at the midfoot when I’m running at full stride. It gets extremely uncomfortable after just a couple miles. For the price, I expected better .. what a huge waste of money.

Reviewed in the United States on April 21, 2022

Exactly as expected – and just what I wanted!

I love the Merrell glove shoes, and have REALLY wanted a leather version for colder weather, so was excited when they came out. I wear a woman’s size 11, but didn’t like that the women’s black version has a brown sole. The men’s black shoe has a black sole, so I tried that. The fit of the men’s size 9 seems identical to the women’s 11 (I got the red/wine in that, too), so I’m very happy with both!

Reviewed in the United States on November 21, 2018

Good barefoot shoe

I love the Vapor Glove shoes. They are one of the only shoes I can wear that prevent my back from hurting when on my feet all day (even at 8 months pregnant). With the regular vapor gloves I frequently get holes in the side. I thought they leather would hold up better. They do not have any holes after 3 months but the top seems to be separating from the sole.

Reviewed in the United States on January 14, 2020

Almost perfect

This product is a perfect fit, I purchased it 1/2 size smaller than I would for a normal sneaker. I love just about everything regarding this shoe.The Vibram support, the reinforced toe, and overall look are perfect. They weigh next to nothing, yet I am not worried about running on rough terrain.The only issue I have is that every time I run in wet grass; my feet, socks, and pants turn blue because whatever dye is used for the blue model bleeds.

Reviewed in the United States on September 11, 2020

Just not worth it.

The tops of the shoes held up really well and dealt with moisture really well. These things would dry out really quickly if you got them wet. The down side to these shoes are the soles. The treads were literally gone in a week. I understand that these are minimalist shoes but I literally wore a hole all the way through the soles in under 4 months. I honestly would not buy these ever again. They were bad enough to turn me away from shopping Merrell in the future.

Reviewed in the United States on August 11, 2020

Great shoes!

I have worn the sneaker version of these for years, and only recently discovered the Luna 3 model with suede. They are as comfortable as the sneakers, but much nicer looking. Great shoes! I have the olive ones as well as these (navy) and both look great but the navy (more of a dark gray-blue than navy) are my preferred color.

Reviewed in the United States on September 13, 2021
Sale
Merrell Men's Vapor Glove 3 Luna Leather Sneaker, black, 10 M US*
  • TrailProtect Pad underfoot for Protection
  • Vibram TC5 Outsole
  • Breathable Mesh Lining

Merrell Men’s Vapor Glove 3 Luna Leather Sneaker – FAQ

I am trying to purchase this item. it is listed as a men’s shoe. when i put it into my cart it becomes a woman’s shoe. which is it?

The Merrell website lists this shoe as a men’s product.

Is this men’s or women’s ????

This appears to be for men.

Is this men’s or women’s?

Both

I got these for running but after reading reviews I am wondering if these are casual shoes and not running shoes. Can someone help?

They can be used for running , walking , hiking ,work , casual , but not for wet weather , they wet through quickly and take longer to dry than a fabric style . A dedicated zero drop running shoe may be worth looking at.

// , Is it easy to make returns?

Check with your seller

Sale
Merrell Men's Vapor Glove 3 Luna Leather Sneaker, black, 10 M US*
  • TrailProtect Pad underfoot for Protection
  • Vibram TC5 Outsole
  • Breathable Mesh Lining

*If you buy a product through one of these links, I will receive a small commission from the seller. There are no additional costs for you, and you support my work on this site. To learn more read here. Thank you and Feel Grounded. Dirk