Merrell Men’s Vapor Glove 3 Luna LTR Sneaker – Review

Merrell Men’s Vapor Glove 3 Luna LTR Sneaker – Product characteristics

  • 100% Leather
  • Imported
  • Leather sole
  • Shaft measures approximately low-top from arch
  • Vibram TC5+
  • TrailProtect pad offers underfoot protection
  • Soft full grain leather upper
Sale
Merrell Men's Vapor Glove 3 Luna Leather Sneaker, Dusty Olive, 10.5 M US*
  • Vibram TC5+
  • TrailProtect pad offers underfoot protection
  • Soft full grain leather upper

Merrell Men’s Vapor Glove 3 Luna LTR Sneaker – Reviews

Great shoe, go half a size smaller for right fit…

I absolutely love these shoes! I’m a loyal minimalist shoe wearer. I am also a big fan of Vivo barefoot shoes except the price. These shoes are a great alternative if you don’t want to drop $150+ on Vivos. Great look and feel to these and stylish enough to wear these to work I would say.My only issue is the sizing. These shoes are definitely oversized by 0.5 a size. I’ll admit that I wear either a 9.5 or 10 depending on the shoe, but my default size is 10 for athletic shoes. In the case of these shoes, I had to order a 9.5 because the 10 was too big.All in all, highly recommended but go a half size smaller for the right fit.

Reviewed in the United States on September 3, 2018

Great minimalist shoes, just do not work for my feet..

Sadly I had to return these. I have the trail glove 4 which fit true to their name. They are super comfortable and are my go-to for short to mid distance runs and gym workouts. I wanted a similar shoe that I could wear with jeans or khakis to the office.Unfortunately these fit me a little too narrow through the mid-foot and as a result had a odd bunching of the material in that area. This caused the shoe to rub my foot and caused a blister in short order.I really liked how light they were, and liked just about everything else about the shoes, but they just don’t fit my feet properly. I tried adjusting the lacing several times to no avail.

Reviewed in the United States on August 17, 2019

… go minimal all day at work without it looking like I’m in neon running shoes

Got them for work so I can still go minimal all day at work without it looking like I’m in neon running shoes. I already knew I loved vapor gloves so these were an easy sell on me.

Reviewed in the United States on August 8, 2018

Finally got them in my size, buy 1/2 size larger than you normally wear in other shoes

Love these shoes. Think this is my 5th pair of this style of both leather and the cloth. Cloth prs seem to last about 6-8 months on average with wearing them everyday. This is my first pair of the leather so I’ll see if the area around the outside just behind the toe box will stay in one piece without ripping or separating from the sole. All other vapor gloves I’ve had has blowed out on the outside behind the toe box. The sole always wears out too fast. Every pair I have has holes in the sole right under the center part behind my toes. All I do is walk in them. I don’t run anywhere except to eat. I wear them at work or just beating around doing everything. I treat them like I would my old tennis shoes. Use them as everyday footwear. I like them and will continue buying them until they quit making them. I do hope they come up with a more durable sole and reinforced sides for a longer life of the jUpdate: The leather uppers are awesome. 1st pr of Merrels that the sides didn’t bust out. But the soles are short lived. All I do is walk in these shoes. The center of the pad behind my toes always wears out in 6-8 months. Last week, a hole developed in the sole of the right shoe and the left is paper thin. I absolutely love these shoes, but the life of the shoe is so short lived because of the soles wearing out so fast. That should be a automatic drop in price due to the lack of durability with the life of the soles. These are definitely 5 star shoes if the soles would last longer and if the availability wasn’t hit and miss. But because I can’t keep a pr more than 6-8mons, $100+ shoes are not worth it to be worn out in the span of time between spring and fall.

Reviewed in the United States on September 19, 2021

Painful

I’ve owned a number of the Merrell Glove shoes and they’ve always been very comfortable. Not these. There’s a very stiff piece of material on the tongue that digs painfully into the top of my foot. These shoes fit perfectly, but I’m not taking a chance that the material softens after wearing. IMO, it shouldn’t be there.Too bad, I waited weeks to get these and was really looking forward to them since I’m down to my last pair of Merrell Gloves and that model hasn’t been available for years … I bought 5 pairs over a decade ago.

Reviewed in the United States on October 15, 2021

This is a leather bag with laces and rubber on the bottom

Sure, I get the barefoot concept – but this is medieval. It’s literally a leather bag with laces and a bit of rubber on the bottom. It’s almost like an old-fashioned wrestling shoe, but shorter. IMO this does not match the pricing; it’s something you’d expect to see in a market in the Third World, although with better workmanship. I can’t imagine that this would last very long or offer much protection. I also cannot imagine that this would offer any ventilation. If this is what you want, great, go for it. I’ll pass.

Reviewed in the United States on May 29, 2022

Feel natural, look casual.

I wear 11.5 men’s in vans and 10.5 feet perfect. Listen to other reviews they run a size under. First impression I’m impressed with the build quality, made with real leather! Feel great on feet so far, vary light. Feels natural.

Reviewed in the United States on September 26, 2019

True to size for me…

*UPDATE*….. I returned the 11.5,which was a half size down, and got the 12. The 12 fits perfectly. However, Im not sure if people wear socks with these shoes so that might make the difference… I intend on using socks. Without them, the 11.5s would have been like a glove.Love these shoes and hope they hold up for at least a year.I followed everyone’s advice and ordered half a size down but had to return for my regular size. The 11.5 had my toes touchibg the toe box, so the 12 I have coming will fit perfectly.

Reviewed in the United States on October 1, 2020
Sale
Merrell Men's Vapor Glove 3 Luna Leather Sneaker, Dusty Olive, 10.5 M US*
  • Vibram TC5+
  • TrailProtect pad offers underfoot protection
  • Soft full grain leather upper

Merrell Men’s Vapor Glove 3 Luna LTR Sneaker – FAQ

Do these work for wide feet?

Yes. The toe boxes are adequately wide.

I’m a delivery driver and also work in a warehouse most of the day. Would these be able to stand up well to warehouse standards?

I have the vapor glove, and stand/work for 12hrs a day on concrete in them. You will not have toe protection from pinch or crush dangers that you encounter in most warehouses, but otherwise you should be fine.

Are they more durable than the standard Vapor Glove 3?

The upper is definately more durable than the standard glove 3. The sole is the durability.

How is the fit? Do they run true to size or are they a half size bigger or smaller?

Mine were true to size. I bought a second pair and the fit was perfect again. Great shoe.

Are these ok for sweaty feet?

Why yes they are… IV been know to also have sweaty feet, and in some shoes this will cause issues.. Not with these.. There awesome. I got two pairs.. And go with socks sometimes and go with out the rest of the times.. And IV had no issues, I wear mine a little loose.. And no sweat problems!…. Hope this helped….

Left shoe makes noise when I walk . Is it defective ?

Mine don’t squeak so it could be defective. (I assume since it is only one shoe it is not caused by the surface you’re walking on). Make sure your kids did’t leave a toy in there 🙂

Do these tie? I mean, all the photos from the manufacturer show laces, but no bows. It seems like it should be a “slip on” shoe which I want.

They do have laces that you can tie into a bow like a tennis shoe.

If I wear size 9 on a classic converse should I also size 9 for this shoe or 8.5?

Nine.

is this shoe suitable for running a 5k?

Do some research about minimalist running transitioning you’ll be very happy. Don’t listen to the other person. Take your time your feet and legs will thank you

Sale
Merrell Men's Vapor Glove 3 Luna Leather Sneaker, Dusty Olive, 10.5 M US*
  • Vibram TC5+
  • TrailProtect pad offers underfoot protection
  • Soft full grain leather upper

*If you buy a product through one of these links, I will receive a small commission from the seller. There are no additional costs for you, and you support my work on this site. To learn more read here. Thank you and Feel Grounded. Dirk