Merrell Unisex-Child Trail Chaser Hiking Sneaker – Review

Merrell Unisex-Child Trail Chaser Hiking Sneaker – Product characteristics

  • 100% Suede
  • Imported
  • Rubber sole
  • Shaft measures approximately low-top from arch
  • Non-marking rubber outsole M Select GRIP
  • EVA removable footbed
  • Hook and look closure provides precise and secure fit
  • Suede and mesh upper
Sale
Merrell Trail Chaser Hiking Sneaker, Gunsmoke/Orange, 6.5 US Unisex Big Kid
4,528 Reviews
Merrell Trail Chaser Hiking Sneaker, Gunsmoke/Orange, 6.5 US Unisex Big Kid*
  • Non-marking rubber outsole M Select GRIP
  • EVA removable footbed
  • Hook and look closure provides precise and secure fit

Merrell Unisex-Child Trail Chaser Hiking Sneaker – Reviews

My son’s favorite shoes; he’s on his third pair as he’s outgrown the old ones

I’m reviewing these mostly because my son has owned three separate pairs over the past four or five years. These are my kid’s absolute favorite shoes. While his recently replaced 1-year-old Merrell Trail Chasers definitely show wear, they have not failed in the way so many reviewers have experienced.I’m uploading photos of our 2nd pair, replaced one year and 12 days after purchase and worn almost every day during the school year (excluding rain boot days and sandal weather days.)Merrell quality control must be spotty, or my son is surprisingly easy on shoes compared to other kids. We send him to a school that prioritizes play outside every day (in New England), so his shoes definitely get a healthy share of wet weather, mud, and running around on grass, gravel, and brick pavers plus concrete and asphalt around our home.I can say that my kids have both sometimes worn out the velcro fastening strap on *other* pairs of shoes from other brands. I don’t think we are being particularly careful or delicate with the Trail Chaser shoes. 🙂 Ours have held up as I would expect from sturdy hiking sneakers.I bought the first pair of Merrell Trail Chaser shoes in person at a Nordstrom store after having my son’s feet measured. As he outgrew them (yet refused to wear any others), I found them on Amazon and purchased his second pair in January 2019. In January 2020, I bought his third, and current, pair.The Amazon listing has changed a little bit from:Merrell Trail Chaser Hiking Shoe (Little Kid/Big Kid), Gunsmoke/Orange, 2.5 M US Little Kidto:Merrell Kids’ Unisex M-Trail Chaser Sneaker, Gunsmoke/Orange, 4.5 M US Big KidAside from what is probably just a product listing change, we’ve had the same color combo of army green (Gunsmoke) and Orange for all three pairs, and neither my son nor I can find any visible difference between the old and new pairs.From the photos of less satisfied consumers, it does appear that more of them show alternate color combos. Perhaps the Gunsmoke/Orange combo is a better bet for anyone reading this with quality concerns?My child’s passionate love of these shoes is the best review I can provide. It’s not easy for me to get him to wear any other casual shoe. He likes the speed of velcro over old-fashioned tie laces. He likes that they are weather resistant so he can wear them on rainy days.My son says his feet stay dry (unless he steps in a puddle so deep that they fill up with water from the top.)For other parents whose kids love these Merrell Trail Chaser shoes, I can recommend this particular style for boots that might fit the same child:Merrell Chameleon 7 Access Mid Waterproof Boot Big Kid 5 BlackI bought the boots a half size larger to allow for thick winter socks. My son has been happy with the boots, too, but we’ve only had them a few weeks now.From my perspective, if you like the looks of these shoes, it is worth trying them, but make sure you buy from a seller with a generous return period in case you get a pair like those displayed in the other reviews. I will keep buying these until my son has outgrown the largest size (or finally decides he likes something else!)

Reviewed in the United States on February 16, 2020

He loves them!

I’m a bit of a crazy person when it comes to my kids shoes. Our main brands are Plae, Keen, and Merrell. I love them all for different reasons. This is my son’s first pair of Merrells, and he couldn’t be happier. You know when you slip your heel into the shoe and you hear that perfect fit noise and feel that perfect fit feel. (Think Mr.Rogers going to the shoe store). That’s how these fit my son! He is very proud of his more grown up looking sneakers, and wears them often. We will probably stick with this exact shoe for a while, or until he gets bored of the style. We tend to only have one or two pairs of shoes at a time, quality over quantity! So far quality is spot on, and I’ve already talked to my son about being gentle with the velcro, and he is.

Reviewed in the United States on May 13, 2019

Great toddler shoe with TREAD!!!!

FINALLY SHOES WITH TREAD! I have been frustrated with athletic style shoes for toddlers that have zero tread. We love to hike with our 2yo and worried about the number of times his feet would slide out from under him on loose gravel trails. No more with these shoes. He calls them his “grippy shoes”.They seem to be comfortable because he chooses them for everyday wear too. They seem very well made and I have zero worries that they won’t last. I even had to put them through the wash due to an unfortunate potty training mishap and they washed well (air dry).They are a little bit hard to put on but the pull tab on the heel makes a huge difference compared to others we tried. My 2yo can take them off on his own but definitely needs help getting them on.

Reviewed in the United States on July 17, 2019

Wide shoes are a bit too narrow

These are great shoes and I expect that they will last longer than most of the other shoes I have purchased for my 3-year-old. However, I have an issue with their width. They are marked as “wide” and that is why I ordered them – my son needs wide shoes. I can’t tell if they aren’t as wide as they are supposed to be or if the tightness caused by the elastic no-tie-laces is simply making it hard to get the shoes on my kid’s feet. In other words, I *think* that the shoe is wide enough, but the laces make it difficult to get a child’s feet through the opening in the shoe and into the wide space.

Reviewed in the United States on March 10, 2020

Amazing quality shoes

I think I’ve reordered this pair 3 times. Perfect shoes for my boys. They have been wearing them all winter (and last winter as well) and they hold up great. These are warm, supportive and can be worn in any environment. School, play, rugged hikes, etc. absolutely love them.

Reviewed in the United States on March 17, 2021

Perfect for kids!

My son has started hiking with me and he needed some shoes that could take the beating of the trails on your feet. These are comfortable and help to keep him from slipping with great traction.

Reviewed in the United States on April 20, 2021

Tough shoe

This is a tough shoe that holds up to the wear and tear of kids play.

Reviewed in the United States on May 16, 2022

Great for outdoors!

I got these for our daughter who is a girl scout and does a lot of outdoor skills with her troop. She wore these on her last trip which included hiking, rock climbing and wet conditions. She loved them and I was comfortable with the fact they had velcro so laces wouldn’t be an issue during her trip. Bought a size 4 which they were true to size.

Reviewed in the United States on October 14, 2018
Sale
Merrell Trail Chaser Hiking Sneaker, Gunsmoke/Orange, 6.5 US Unisex Big Kid
4,528 Reviews
Merrell Trail Chaser Hiking Sneaker, Gunsmoke/Orange, 6.5 US Unisex Big Kid*
  • Non-marking rubber outsole M Select GRIP
  • EVA removable footbed
  • Hook and look closure provides precise and secure fit

Merrell Unisex-Child Trail Chaser Hiking Sneaker – FAQ

It says these are hiking shoes. Do they work well for running and everday use?

Yes!! It’s work very well! My son use it every day for school and he is very confortable with them. This shoes are great!

Are these sneakers washable?

No and very stiff to walk in . We sent ours back .

Do all sizes of the big kid shoes have velcro, or do they turn into tie shoes at some size?

Big Kid Size 1 is a lace up, unfortunately, with hook/loop to provide additional umpf.

My daughter has very high arches, do thes shoes have great arch support?

Not sure but my kid is pretty skinny and I had high arches as a kid. Doesnt mean he does but these are great shoes. You cant ask for a sneaker that will outlast a kid at that age. They will grow out of them before the sole wears out or any other part of the shoe like so many of the other kids name brand sneakers do.

My son is 7 what size 1 little kid or 1 big kid ???

Mine is 5 years old and he wears a 10 or 11 in little kid if yours is 7 he might be in big kid what size is he in now?

Are they Waterproof?

I’m not sure. The Velcro came off within a month. Waste of money

My sone is 6years old. Then what is the foot size?

I ordered these for my 10 and 1/2 year old grandson in a 4 and they fit perfectly. He was running around the backyard 30 seconds after putting them on. However, I also have a 6 yr old granddaughter who wears a size 13.5 – 1. She’s a little tall for her age. But has a medium width foot. Hope this helps to figure out what size you need, : )

What is the next size after toddler 10? Cannot find toddler 10.5. Little kid 1 is too big

toddler sizes go up to 12

My son only had this pair for a few months and on one shoe almost the entire bottom of the shoe came apart. Is this normal? I’m not happy

No i do not think thats normal at all. My sons pair lasted him a long time, longer than any other pair of shoes he’s ever had. Maybe contact the company? I would hope they would stand by their product and send you a new pair. Please update and let us know!

Sale
Merrell Trail Chaser Hiking Sneaker, Gunsmoke/Orange, 6.5 US Unisex Big Kid
4,528 Reviews
Merrell Trail Chaser Hiking Sneaker, Gunsmoke/Orange, 6.5 US Unisex Big Kid*
  • Non-marking rubber outsole M Select GRIP
  • EVA removable footbed
  • Hook and look closure provides precise and secure fit

*If you buy a product through one of these links, I will receive a small commission from the seller. There are no additional costs for you, and you support my work on this site. To learn more read here. Thank you and Feel Grounded. Dirk