Merrell Women’s Alpine Sneaker – Review

Merrell Women’s Alpine Sneaker – Product characteristics

  • 100% Leather
  • Imported
  • Rubber sole
  • Shaft measures approximately low-top from arch
  • Leather and Nylon Upper
  • Traditional lace and buckle closure
  • Breathable mesh lining
  • Kinetic Fit Base removable contoured insole for flexible support
  • EVA midsole for stability and comfort
Merrell Women's Alpine Sneaker, Multi, 10*
  • Leather and nylon upper traditional lace breathable mesh lining Kinetic Fit Base removable contoured insole for flexible support EVA midsole for stability and comfort Rubber outsole for traction and...

Merrell Women’s Alpine Sneaker – Reviews

Super comfortable, great grip, look attractive

Love these shoes!I am super picky about shoes being comfortable. I have worn these for months and they still feel like walking on clouds. They offer nice arch support, fit like a glove and I love the tread at the bottom. I began wearing them for my daily walks which can sometimes have icy conditions. These are not slippery.I also wore them on a hiking trip to Arizona and they were great for climbing rocks or even with rough trails.I ordered about 8 or 9 different pairs of shoes (told you I am picky) to see what I liked the best. These won hands down. For reference, the other shoes were mostly Merrells, Ahnu, and Keen.Update: I bought a second pair of these over a year later. I was so happy they are still available. People, I never do that… I really love how comfortable these shoes are.

Reviewed in the United States on March 31, 2020

Very cute and comfty

Updated – Very cute sneaker with a retro vibe. Ran true to size for me – Size 7. Some mentioned being too long – there is a little room at the end of the toe box, but it doesn’t feel too long – I think will be perfect for not rubbing or stubbing end of toe into the shoe when walking, especially downhill. Insole cushions my foot, forms to my arch nicely, but feels firm enough that it hopefully won’t break down too quickly. Haven’t had a chance to wear for long periods of time but will update if something changes once I’ve worn them for a while.Update: I have worn these several days per week to take my dog on a walk/jog. They remain comfortable. They have also cleaned up nicely after a few muddy dog park visits. The heel fabric inside has started to rub a hole. It’s not uncomfortable, but I expect I will need to replace these soon. But they’ve lasted almost 12 months with many miles put on them. I will replace them with another pair.

Reviewed in the United States on February 12, 2020

Impressed

I’m going to start off saying that I don’t like Merrells because, frankly, they’re hideous. All of them. I’ve tried on Merrell hiking boots that were incredibly comfortable, but just couldn’t purchase because they’re too ugly. But, I developed foot/back pain, and needed something comfy and supportive. I thought these looked cute online, so I went for it. They are, undoubtedly, the most comfortable shoes I’ve ever out on my feet. As they’re hiking shoes, not standard sneakers, I can walk for miles with no pain whatsoever. My only complaint is that they’re a bit clunky. I like sneakers with smaller, thinner profiles, and these are so wide on my feet. But, they’re insanely comfy, and phenomenal for hiking.

Reviewed in the United States on April 6, 2020

Slippery

Cute and comfortable, however these are SLIPPERY when walking on wet pavement. Took my baby out for a walk while wearing him in a carrier. I had to go off the pavement onto the grass to keep from sliding.

Reviewed in the United States on February 2, 2020

Half size large

These shoes are surprisingly nice. Merrill usually makes quality shoes but the style of these made me expect hipster shoes with no actual functionality. Anyway- I wear a seven and had to size down to 6.5, they still seem a tad long, but fit everywhere else. My feet are wide, w high arches, these are just wide enough and have maybe moderate arch support. I would not hike in these as tney just don’t seem sturdy enough. I got them for work- wore them for twelve hours of walking and they really felt good. Buy them on sale- I wouldn’t pay full price but the style especially the black and the pink is really unique without looking like I’m wearing my daughters shoes.

Reviewed in the United States on December 16, 2019

I LOVE these shoes!

I absolutely love these shoes. Just as pictured. Fit is perfect and I broke them in on my bike ride today. Super comfortable and supportive. Highly recommend.

Reviewed in the United States on March 27, 2022

I’m in love with these color block sneakers; see my detailed review.

These are the most comfortable and perfect color scheme shoe!! If you’re a “70’s style” kind of person then these will go with just about any outfit you have. Absolutely amazing. True to size – I wear 7.5 or 8 depending on style and bought these in a 7.5. I do have slightly wide feet and could use a smidge more toe room. They’re snug at first and require a very low cut sock if you want the true no-show style. They do stretch a little so the snugness won’t last forever 🙂 The quality is true to Merrell’s reputation… these sneakers will last a very long time unless you’re just terrible on shoes :)My husband and friends love them on me. None of them are a flower child / hippie like me so they all say it’s the PERFECT shoe for me. I say all that about the colors b/c they’re a little darker in person and totally the colors from that era. Definitely my fav top 5 shoe and I’m a shoe-a-holic!! Some reviews said the colors are in different places than what is shown … it doesn’t matter with this shoe, that much I promise. If you don’t wear sneakers enough to stretch these a bit then order ½ size up. LOVE THIS SHOE! Will update with a photo when able.

Reviewed in the United States on July 15, 2021

super cute

love these!! I love Merrell shoes and this one is a fun alternative to my boring black tennis shoes.

Reviewed in the United States on August 11, 2021
Merrell Women's Alpine Sneaker, Multi, 10*
  • Leather and nylon upper traditional lace breathable mesh lining Kinetic Fit Base removable contoured insole for flexible support EVA midsole for stability and comfort Rubber outsole for traction and...

Merrell Women’s Alpine Sneaker – FAQ

I need extra wide shoes ,would this shoes fit me?

I’m not sure if they come in “wide” sizing. I have pretty narrow feet and they fit me well, so my guess would be no, unfortunately.

How is the arch? Are the insoles replaceable?

My feet have average arches, and I don’t feel either unsupported or over supported by the arch in this shoe, so I’d say they have average arch support. And, yes, insoles are removable and therefore replaceable.

Is this mens or womens? One description says women but added to cart says mens

I thought they were men’s because as says men’s I ordered a 7.5 because I wear a women’s 9.5 they sent me a tiny 7.5 in womens

Is the front teal color hard to keep clean?

I’ve had mine for a while and they don’t get dirty as I thought they would. And yes they are easy to wipe and clean.

are they returnable w/o charge if they do not fit properly?

Mine were… but it might depend on the seller.

Do these run slightly big? I always always wear a size 8.5 but they feel a bit big. Trying to decide if I should return them or not.

I bought the size I usually wear.

Do the have an arch support?

They do have an arch. I love this shoes. They are very confortable and pretty

Are these waterproof?

If by waterproof you mean will my feet stay dry, probably not. The non leather part is very thin.

The description says these shoes are imported. Where are they imported from?

Dont know where but it is very comfortable and good quality.

Merrell Women's Alpine Sneaker, Multi, 10*
  • Leather and nylon upper traditional lace breathable mesh lining Kinetic Fit Base removable contoured insole for flexible support EVA midsole for stability and comfort Rubber outsole for traction and...

*If you buy a product through one of these links, I will receive a small commission from the seller. There are no additional costs for you, and you support my work on this site. To learn more read here. Thank you and Feel Grounded. Dirk