Merrell Women’s Alverstone Hiking Shoe – Review

Merrell Women’s Alverstone Hiking Shoe – Product characteristics

  • leather-and-mesh
  • Imported
  • Rubber sole
  • Shaft measures approximately low-top from arch
  • Features M Select DRY barrier impermeable membrane seals out water and lets moisture escape waterproof suede and mesh upper
  • Metal D-ring lacing system bellows tongue keeps debris out
  • Kinetic Fit Base removable contoured insole for flexible support Merrell Air Cushion in the heel absorbs shock and adds stability
  • Eva foam midsole for stability and comfort M Select GRIP tunes each outsole with durable traction that grips when and where you need it 5mm lug depth
Merrell Women's ALVERSTONE Hiking Shoe, Storm 8 M US*
  • FEATURES Suede leather-and-mesh upper Traditional lace closure Bellows tongue keeps debris out Breathable mesh lining Protective rubber toe cap Merrell Air Cushion in the heel absorbs shock and adds...

Merrell Women’s Alverstone Hiking Shoe – Reviews

Perfect Hike/Walk Shoe; Best I’ve Owned!

UPDATE TO REVIEW: After owning these shoes for many months, I am changing my 1 star review to 5 star review. This is the best hiking shoe I have ever owned! I had originally given one star because they made noise when walking at first; however, It turns out it’s the Lycra in my socks that make it sound like the shoes are squeaking. Once your foot & sock warm up, it stops squeaking. I have hiked all over Central Oregon Ochoco mountains & huge rocks in this area and the shoe still looks brand new. Very sticky tread in wet & dry conditions; zero slips. It was a perfect fit straight out of the box; no “wear in” factor. Very comfortable shoe & foot bed. Perfect sizing. I wear ladies US size 8 medium width. These shoes are not too light or too heavy. The fabric part of the shoe doesn’t let dirt through so I don’t end up with muddy toes like other breathable shoes do. Buy this shoe. You won’t regret it!!!! It’s the perfect hiking or walking shoe.

Reviewed in the United States on July 7, 2019

Shoes aren’t new – poor condition!

Very disappointed. These were not new shoes. It is evident they have been worn and not lightly. Stitching is coming out and wear on the fabric is evident. Logos inside the shoes have rubbed off from wear. I will be returning and expect a full refund. I love Merrell brand hikers and have used them exclusively for 2 years and never seen this in new shoes. There’s no way these are new or that this is poor workmanship. I have never had quality issues with Merrell. This is a seller issue. I will try to add pics.

Reviewed in the United States on May 5, 2020

Love these shoes!

Fast shipping, arrived earlier than expected. These are perfect! Comfortable right out of the box and I wore them all day as soon as I got them. Love the look and style of these! I have wide feet but did not need to order wide width. Fits true to size. Definitely recommend buying this shoe!!

Reviewed in the United States on April 6, 2021

Eh…just okay.

I typically wear a size 8.5-9 depending on the type of shoes. Originally I purchased a size 8.5 in another Merrell but they were too tight and didn’t have them here in a 9 so I switched to the Alverstone. I fell in love with how these looked out of the box, but didn’t fall in love with them the minute I put them on. The toe box is really roomy, and at first I felt like I was wearing a clown shoe. I thought they were too big but my toes were right where they should be. I decided to keep them and break them in. Wore them on a week long camping trip and as they broke in, an ANNOYING “crimp” developed in the shoe over my big toe so every time I would walk it would bend and dig in to my toe. **Warning!! On our hike we came to a damp wooden dock which we went out on. The dock was not overly slimy but it wasn’t fresh wood. 3 of us had Merrells on and 3 of us almost slipped. They don’t have good traction in damp. I’ll keep them for future camping trips because I like that I don’t have to worry if these get dirty but, it won’t be a comfy hike.

Reviewed in the United States on January 4, 2020

Ultra comfort

I really like these shoes and the size was right on. I walk 3- 5 times a week, about 3-5 miles at a time. I try to walk every other day but sometimes 2 or 3 days in a row. I wore these, right out of the box, for 3 days in a row and was surprised to find I didn’t have any discomfort or blisters! The toe box is larger on these shoes as opposed to the Nike shoes I usually wear and I found that it was much more comfortable. The arch support is great for me but more towards the front of the foot. The bottom sole of the shoe is stiff and provides firm support. Most of the walking I do is usually in urban areas but sometimes through trails and canyons. They seem like they would be a great cross training shoe – you could wear it to the gym or for a run.

Reviewed in the United States on August 17, 2020

comfortable right out of the box; wide toe box perfect for me

Very pleased with these Merrell Alverstone hiking shoes. I have flat and wide feet and ordered 1/2 size up from my usual and it’s a comfortable fit. No more black toenails from smashing toes against the front of my shoe (yes, lacing the shoestrings correctly helps also). The Alverstone sole isn’t as deeply grooved as the Moabs, and the Alverstone do not have the vibram sole, but I also paid $20 less for these shoes. I hope the Alverstones will last much longer than my Fila and Saucony walking shoes where the soles gets worn-out smooth after a 4-5 months of hiking once a week.I’m saving up money for a pair of $100 Merrell Moabs for better traction and grip. Merrell makes shoes that fit the shape of my feet; it’s very hard to find comfortable and durable shoes that look good, as well. I want everything, haha!I purchased my Alverstones from Gear Coop, good seller. Earlier, I had bought the shoes from Zappos but got a defective/previously-returned item; one of the heels squeaked! Amazon took it back and gave me a refund, but I didn’t want the return hassle to begin with.

Reviewed in the United States on July 3, 2019

Merrell never disappoints

Fits as it should.

Reviewed in the United States on April 14, 2021

Overall Really Good

I love about 80% of these shoes. They fit well and have good arch support, but I found them hard to break in and definitely made my feet tired before I managed to break them in. The shoe grips well on steep hikes and your feet won’t slide around if they fit right. Other than the difficulty breaking these shoes in, the only other issue I’ve found is that the shoelaces come undone very easily, I’d recommend replacing them with flat laces instead of round if you don’t want to stop and re-tie your shoes every hour. I really do like the shoes though, my gripes are minor.

Reviewed in the United States on August 26, 2021
Merrell Women's ALVERSTONE Hiking Shoe, Storm 8 M US*
  • FEATURES Suede leather-and-mesh upper Traditional lace closure Bellows tongue keeps debris out Breathable mesh lining Protective rubber toe cap Merrell Air Cushion in the heel absorbs shock and adds...

Merrell Women’s Alverstone Hiking Shoe – FAQ

What color is brindle/brown? I can’t tell if it is purple or blue.

It’s a great combo of brown and a sort of dark teal/gray. Very happy with the color.

What color us the aluminum? Is it in the gray or brown family?

It is more brown

Are these waterproof?

I have not worn them through standing water, but regular rain conditions my feet have been dry

Should I size up for downhill with wide feet?

I wear a 10 and ordered a 10 & they fit perfectly even with thick socks!

Are these only womens? They look like a mens as well. Tkank you

They do look like the men’s version but the box said women’s. I also ordered a Women’s Size.

what color is charcoal, it looks like brown?

They are grey, not brown like the picture.

Merrell Women's ALVERSTONE Hiking Shoe, Storm 8 M US*
  • FEATURES Suede leather-and-mesh upper Traditional lace closure Bellows tongue keeps debris out Breathable mesh lining Protective rubber toe cap Merrell Air Cushion in the heel absorbs shock and adds...

*If you buy a product through one of these links, I will receive a small commission from the seller. There are no additional costs for you, and you support my work on this site. To learn more read here. Thank you and Feel Grounded. Dirk