Merrell Women’s Andover Bluff Waterproof Ankle Boot – Review

Merrell Women’s Andover Bluff Waterproof Ankle Boot – Product characteristics

  • 100% Leather
  • Imported
  • Rubber sole
  • Shaft measures approximately Ankle from arch
  • Boot opening measures approximately 8 around
  • Full grain waterproof leather upper M Select DRY seals out water and lets moisture escape so you stay dry Inside zip for easy on and off Kinetic Fit Base removable contoured insole for flexible support Nylon arch shank EVA midsole for comfort and support Merrel
  • l air cushion in the heel absorbs shock and adds stability M Select GRIP outsole tunes each outsole with durable traction that grips when and where you need it
Merrell womens Andover Bluff Waterproof Ankle Boot, Black, 5.5 US*
  • Full grain waterproof leather upper M Select DRY seals out water and lets moisture escape so you stay dry Inside zip for easy on and off Kinetic Fit Base removable contoured insole for flexible...
  • l air cushion in the heel absorbs shock and adds stability M Select GRIP outsole tunes each outsole with durable traction that grips when and where you need it

Merrell Women’s Andover Bluff Waterproof Ankle Boot – Reviews

Go half size smaller for precise fit

I went half a size smaller like what people said and the shoes fit perfectly, going with 7 instead of my usual 7.5 – I could’ve pulled off a 7.5 but this way I can wear my regular socks with ease. They’re comfortable and fit fine. It’s leather unlike what other people said about it being suede.

Reviewed in the United States on September 1, 2020

A triumph of form over function

I ordered these to replace my wife’s existing and beloved Merrells. They look almost exactly the same, but when they arrived, she could not get them on. It turns out the zip is an inch further back, towards the heel, on these,and unless you can really arch your foot, you’re never going to get them onto your foot. Reluctantly and sadly returned as they fail the most basic functionality required of a boot.

Reviewed in the United States on January 21, 2020

Disappointing: comfortable, but suede – not leather

I gave these a 3 as the fit/style/comfort is a 5, yet I was very disappointed when they arrived and the texture is more like a nubuck suede than the leather that is pictured and described.Being a fan of Merrell shoes/sandals/hiking boots I figured I’d give them a chance. Unfortunately the suede shows dirt easily, and even pet fur clings to it and needs to be brushed off.The photos and description are rather misleading. I would not have spent this much on a pair of black suede walking boots that look scuffed after wearing them (on sidewalks) just 3 times.If they had been the grainy leather that is pictured, they’d be a 5 – they are comfy and kept my feet dry in a light rain.

Reviewed in the United States on September 19, 2019

the best booties ever

This is my second pair of Merrill waterproof short boots. My last pair lasted 10 years and were so comfortable and still waterproof that I paid to have them resoled. Didn’t seem to make sense to switch since I knew the quality and fit were perfect for me, so I ordered these which are more stylish than my older pair. And they fit even better! I don’t even want t take them off at the end of the day!

Reviewed in the United States on January 10, 2020

Super wide at toes

I have worn Merrill hiking shoes for years. My size is a consistent 10 so I had no qualms about ordering these boots in a size 10. However, the Andover Bluff is cut very wide. My foot, which is not small, slid around inside. Moreover, the toe does not taper. The end is very blunt and looks very wide, especially with jeggings or cropped pants. These boots may look OK with flared or boot cut jeans, if you have a wide foot. I was very disappointed and returned them.

Reviewed in the United States on October 26, 2020

4+ Stars

4+. I love my Merrill high boots. Wire them around Austria in the rain and some light snow. They worked so well decide to buy these short boots to wear this Spring to Oberammergau in Germany, Austria, and Budapest since it is still slightly nippy and we expect some rain. Mostly wearing them because they are comfortable to walk on cobblestone and has enough room for my feet to expand while being on my feet all day. Like others said, a bit loose in ankles. Might bring my molded orthodict to insert but the shoes as is offers moderate support. I wear them both ways. May bring a few pairs of thick socks for ankles minus the orthodict. Might be too tight for both. Either way I am satisfied 4+ but not a 5 like my tall boots.

Reviewed in the United States on February 6, 2020

Nice boots

These were a bit hard to get on at first, as other reviewers mentioned. I used my fingers like a boot jack, but after a few times they went on easily. I usually wear a size 7, and these fit fine with a medium smart wool sock. However, if I was to wear my orthotic I would order one size larger. They are quite comfortable. Yes, they are leather. They have a little different feel, almost a bit “rubbery” , probably due to the water proofing material.

Reviewed in the United States on January 22, 2022

Great Merrill boots, as usual

I could not get these on at first. But I used a shoe horn for a couple of days and they stretched enough to get put on normally. That said, from the beginning these boots were ALWAYS comfortable. I walk 2 to 5 miles a day over various terrain from muddy grass to urban street. They are waterproof so good in downpours and snow. Plus that look great! Love them!

Reviewed in the United States on December 22, 2019
Merrell womens Andover Bluff Waterproof Ankle Boot, Black, 5.5 US*
  • Full grain waterproof leather upper M Select DRY seals out water and lets moisture escape so you stay dry Inside zip for easy on and off Kinetic Fit Base removable contoured insole for flexible...
  • l air cushion in the heel absorbs shock and adds stability M Select GRIP outsole tunes each outsole with durable traction that grips when and where you need it

Merrell Women’s Andover Bluff Waterproof Ankle Boot – FAQ

Do these come in Wide size?

I have wide feet and I find the standard size to be wide enough and comfortable to use as my primary walking shoes on a trip to NYC!

Are these leather . Any pictures people ?

Yes! I have both the black and the brown boots. They are BEAUTIFUL leather and oh so comfortable.

Are these leather lije they say ?

Yes. They are leather. They are comfy boots. Waterproof and true to size too.

Is there a zipper on this inside of the boot, since they don’t give any pictures to know?

Inside zip for easy on and off

can this be repaired if the heel wears out?

No, it can’t unfortunately. But they last forever. I’m looking to replace mine now that I’ve had for over 7 years. I wear them pretty consistently every winter and they are worn thin. Mine look a little different — they don’t have the buckle and they are not nubuck, but the bottom part is identical.

Can someone please tell me the product weight? Thank you.

I really don’t know but they are light and so comfortable- I am so glad I bought these Merrells- they are my new favorites.

Do these boots have a smooth sole or do they have som traction?

They are not smooth- they have a rubber sole on the bottom with a design on them. I have not found them to be slippery.

Can you remove the soles?

The soles?? No but the insoles are removable if that is what you meant…I replaced my insoles with my orthotics.

do they go with skirt?

It depends on the look you are going for. I don’t see why they would’t go with a skirt.

Are these good for all day walking tours?

With good socks, yes. I would wear them to walk all day.

Merrell womens Andover Bluff Waterproof Ankle Boot, Black, 5.5 US*
  • Full grain waterproof leather upper M Select DRY seals out water and lets moisture escape so you stay dry Inside zip for easy on and off Kinetic Fit Base removable contoured insole for flexible...
  • l air cushion in the heel absorbs shock and adds stability M Select GRIP outsole tunes each outsole with durable traction that grips when and where you need it

*If you buy a product through one of these links, I will receive a small commission from the seller. There are no additional costs for you, and you support my work on this site. To learn more read here. Thank you and Feel Grounded. Dirk