Merrell Women’s Trail Glove 6 Sneaker – Review

Merrell Women’s Trail Glove 6 Sneaker – Product characteristics

  • Made in the USA or Imported
  • Rubber sole
  • 65% recycled mesh upper 100% recycled laces External rear sling locks in the heel 100% recycled webbing pull tab 40% recycled mesh lining Recycled 100% Sketch Mesh Post Industrial x NXT Merrell Barefoot 2 construction is designed to keep the foot in a natural position Rock plate for protection BLOOM performance midsole foam is made of 10% algae biomass, transforming green water into clean water in the process Vibram EcoStep is 30% recycled rubber
Merrell womens Trail Glove 6 Sneaker, High Rise, 5 US*
  • 65% recycled mesh upper
  • 100% recycled laces
  • % Recycled TPU reinforcements

Merrell Women’s Trail Glove 6 Sneaker – Reviews

Not great

On the advice of my sister, who has worn Merrill Trail Gloves for years, I bought these. I wore them for 3 days, and walked over 10 miles, trying to break them in, which I’m told you’re not supposed to have to do with these. The arch support was so uncomfortable and hit my foot in the wrong place. Not only that, but it was so high, it was painful. I have high arches naturally, so I ordered them even after reading reviews remarking that the arches were too high, thinking that they would probably be fine for me. I finally returned them when, on the fourth day, I put them on, and my arches actually began cramping up. It was then that I knew I couldn’t tough it out another day. I’m really disappointed. I have never spent this much money on shoes, and this was a huge splurge for me! I have 8 children and love hiking, walking, etc, so I’m active and needed a pair of shoes that were comfortable and would last. Don’t buy these unless you have REALLY, REALLY high arches! Other than the arches, I love them, but unfortunately, that’s a deal breaker for me.

Reviewed in the United States on August 6, 2021

Bring Back the Trail Glove 4

I adore the Trail Glove 4. This updated design is so cute…but the new arch support is not a plus for me and the high lacing was not needed. The toe box is too long and wide in my regular size. it’s too bad, because style-wise they are adorable.

Reviewed in the United States on May 7, 2021

Arch supports don’t belong in Barefoot shoes

Why are there arch supports in my Barefoot shoes? Ouch!

Reviewed in the United States on July 24, 2021

narrow toe box

Almost perfect: I like the way the design of the shoe keeps your arch held in. Fits my foot really well. I returned them because the toe box is really narrow. I have a skinny (maybe narrow-ish) foot and this was way too tight for me. For a barefoot style shoe, I find that surprising. I also have a neuroma on the left foot (nerve compression in the ball of the foot) and that foot needs space to relax. Bummer, but the narrowness made them super uncomfortable.

Reviewed in the United States on October 16, 2021

Runs very narrow

Huge fan of the Trail Glove 5 and decided to get a new pair. I was shocked how different the TG6 fit: it’s dramatically narrower! I couldn’t even get my foot in the shoe. Different laces: They are round and I question if I would be re-tying them all day. Overall, there is more structure and weight compared to what I was hoping for.

Reviewed in the United States on May 14, 2021

NARROW! Not Like Trail Glove 4 at All

Very disappointed! The reason I bought Merrell’s Trail Glove 4 (three pairs) was for the wide toe box. See photo of old black Trail Glove 4 next to Trail Glove 6 ordered from Amazon–and promptly returned. Beware. IMO, Merrell should not be using the same shoe model name for these as they are different in so many ways, not just inadequate width. My foot is medium width, by the way.

Reviewed in the United States on January 3, 2022

Trail Glove 6😞

Loved first generation of the trail glove and trail glove 4 was amazing. # 6 not so much – appealing to look at but not the same barefoot comfort. # 4 had the best shoe tongue ever – never needed adjusting. Please bring it back – why fix a great shoe?!

Reviewed in the United States on June 5, 2021

Love!!!

I love these shoes the fit was true to size! They are light and wore them for a week straight and breaking them in was a breeze would definitely recommend! I was surprised to see while checking them out again that I purchased mine for 135$ and now all a sudden they are 197$ same site here so that’s odd

Reviewed in the United States on December 31, 2021
Merrell womens Trail Glove 6 Sneaker, High Rise, 5 US*
  • 65% recycled mesh upper
  • 100% recycled laces
  • % Recycled TPU reinforcements

Merrell Women’s Trail Glove 6 Sneaker – FAQ

Can you actually tie these shoes? It looks like they are just tension laces.

Yes they tie. This is how the shoe comes when packaged. They stuff the laces inside the shoe. FYI This is my second pair and I absolutely love them. I wear them every day.

I wear a 8 1/2 do i need to get a 9 for this Trail Glove 6 Eco?

In my experience, it fits very true to size. I wear a 6.5 and a 6.5 was perfect. I will say is that they fit snug on the width. I do not have wide feet and it isn’t the easiest shoe I have had to get into. They are however very supportive of my arch, I thing the arch is built into the sole, that is why it is a tight fit putting it on. Once it is on, it fits “like a glove”.

Do you wear socks with these? Can I run on a treadmill with these?

I don’t wear socks with them, and I work out . I think the treadmill would be fine

Are they waterproof?

Not waterproof but dry out quickly after a dip in puddles

Do these run small or true to size?

I would order a 1/2 size larger. I ordered my regular shoe size 10, and they are okay, but it’s a snug fitting shoe (like a glove) and difficult to get on…it takes a bit of working to get my foot in, and I have a narrow foot. I really like them though and am going to order a larger pair, I’m debating between 1/2 and 1 size larger. I tend not to wear them because it’s so much work to get my foot inside. That said, I do usually order a 10.5 or 11 in Merrell hiking boots, so I’d say order the size you’d get in boots if you have them.

Merrell womens Trail Glove 6 Sneaker, High Rise, 5 US*
  • 65% recycled mesh upper
  • 100% recycled laces
  • % Recycled TPU reinforcements

*If you buy a product through one of these links, I will receive a small commission from the seller. There are no additional costs for you, and you support my work on this site. To learn more read here. Thank you and Feel Grounded. Dirk