Merrell Women’s Vapor Glove 3 Luna Leather Sneaker – Review

Merrell Women’s Vapor Glove 3 Luna Leather Sneaker – Product characteristics

  • 100% Leather
  • Imported
  • Leather sole
  • Shaft measures approximately low-top from arch
  • TrailProtect Pad underfoot for Protection
  • Vibram TC5 Outsole
  • Breathable Mesh Lining
  • Full Grain Leather Upper
  • Zero Drop
Merrell Men's Vapor Glove 3 Luna Leather Sneaker, Dusty Olive, 12 M US
402 Reviews
Merrell Men's Vapor Glove 3 Luna Leather Sneaker, Dusty Olive, 12 M US*
  • Vibram TC5+
  • TrailProtect pad offers underfoot protection
  • Soft full grain leather upper

Merrell Women’s Vapor Glove 3 Luna Leather Sneaker – Reviews

manufacturing problems

I love the Vapor Glove series and have owned two pairs before this purchase. I was very excited for the black leather version so I can wear it comfortably in more work settings. First I ordered the exact size I have successfully ordered for Vapor Glove 2 and Vapor Glove 3 – a half size smaller than my regular shoe size. The first pair that came was literally 2 sizes larger than labeled. It was labeled a size 8 but seemed more like a size 10. I sent it back and ordered a new pair. The sizing was right on the new pair (though slightly large), but the tongue on the left shoe is a good inch longer than the tongue on the right shoe.Two pairs in a row with inexcusable manufacturing defects! I’m so in love with the shoe that I will try for a third pair. But it should not take three tries to acquire one good pair. I can only guess Merrell has a big problem with the manufacturing line or quality check. I want to be a loyal customer and hope this problem does not persist.Update: I ordered a third pair of these shoes and the size is way too big for a men’s 8. I measured against the two other Vapor Glove shoes I own and love. It is a full 1/2 inch bigger than the Men’s Vapor Glove 3 sneaker (the non leather version). That is a whole 1 1/2 sizes off. I have attempted to order three pairs and found each pair to be either way to big or have a manufacturing defect in the tongue length. Merrell, I love your shoes!! PLEASE make your sizing consistent or fix these manufacturing problems. For now I will try to find these shoes in person to make sure I can buy a size 8 that is actually a size 8. I will also keep an eye out for alternatives in the minimal shoe market.

Reviewed in the United States on October 29, 2018

Everyone was right – They run large

I’ve owned a lot of Merrell’s and they’ve always run true to size for me, so I ignored all the reviews saying they were a half size too big. My advice? Don’t talk yourself into being the exception. They run large and I should have ordered a half size smaller. Every other shoe in my closet is a 12. I need an 11.5 in these. Also the green is much lighter/brighter than the pictures led me to believe. Closer to a sage than an olive. They seemed well built and are comfortable, but I didn’t like the color so I sent them back.

Reviewed in the United States on December 13, 2018

Greg Maurer Review of Merrell Men’s Vapor Glove 3

Love this shoe – going to get another pair in black. Have always liked the look, fit and feel of Merrell Barefoot type sneakers, and they used to have a leather model that had smooth leather you could polish – favorite shoe of all time. This is a close 2nd – with a felt type feel rather than smooth. Like all real leather forms to your foot and gets better and better overtime. Also dramatically outlasts other shoe materials in my experience!

Reviewed in the United States on September 15, 2018

The leather Vapor Gloves run smaller than other Vapor Gloves.

I’ve been wearing Vapor Gloves since they were first released. Normally I wear a size 9. But with Vapor Gloves, which usually run large, I wear an 8 ½. Except for the leather version. They run true to size.

Reviewed in the United States on August 20, 2018

year and a half later

The wear shown in the attached photos is after almost daily use since late March 2020. I bike to/from work most days (about 2.5 miles total per day). I replaced the default laces with stretchy ones to make the shoes easier to slip on. Shoes have been quite comfortable throughout. I’ve gone on a handful of hikes with them, and I can’t really recommend hiking in particularly rocky terrain due to the lightweight-ness of the shoe and how thin the soles are. Mountainous terrain in southern AZ left my feet feeling pretty rough afterwards. However I hiked a bit in Olympic National Park and they performed just fine for that particular terrain.Treads are starting to wear a bit near the heel and ball of my feet. The treads held up longer than I expected them to, but perhaps not as long as I would have liked for paying just upwards of $100 for a sneaker-type shoe. They also started squeaking a bit more on tile floors in the last few months, possibly due to the treads wearing?The leather (above the toes mostly) started to warp maybe half a year or more ago, hasn’t affected the fit really, but doesn’t look as nice as they did at the start obviously. I haven’t polished or cared for the leather in any way other than wiping them clean once in a while with a damp rag and drying afterwards, so proper care could possibly extend their longevity and keep their shape/appearance.These are almost more of a glove for your feet, so if you do parkour or some kind of outdoor gymnastics, urban ninja work, or stalking in the woods, you may appreciate the amount of grip you have on wherever you’re stepping.

Reviewed in the United States on September 30, 2021

BEWARE of this supplier

The product is just fine, as you can tell by the ratings, Merrell is a great company and produces a great product. This one just didn’t work for me. Here’s the problem, the seller is an outfit located in Spain, know as “Tradeinn” and if you need to send the merchandise back you will have to pay the shipping which in my case was $25.50 for the cheapest shipping option I could find. Also, it took quite a while before they “sent” the shipping label which was actually embedded in Amazon correspondence as opposed to e-mailing it direct to me. Had I not searched I never would have found it.

Reviewed in the United States on September 27, 2021

I love these shoes

These shoes fit great. It takes a few days to get used to the thin sole, once that has happened they are more comfortable than any type of shoe I’ve ever worn. My first pair of shoes like this were New Balance Nimbuses, these shoes seem to be equal in every way. I love the sensation of being barefoot while having a tough material (vibram) to protect your soles. The overall effect is that of being barefoot with calluses thick enough to protect against sharp objects where you put your feet. If you desire a pair of shoes that give the sensation of being barefoot, these shoes will fit the bill.

Reviewed in the United States on July 24, 2019

Merrell should bring this shoe back

This is probably the best barefoot shoe out there. I’ve tried many, and this shoe just moves with your foot perfectly, with proportions that are just right. The 3 model was perfection. Just bought a second pair while it’s still available

Reviewed in the United States on June 3, 2022
Merrell Men's Vapor Glove 3 Luna Leather Sneaker, Dusty Olive, 12 M US
402 Reviews
Merrell Men's Vapor Glove 3 Luna Leather Sneaker, Dusty Olive, 12 M US*
  • Vibram TC5+
  • TrailProtect pad offers underfoot protection
  • Soft full grain leather upper

Merrell Women’s Vapor Glove 3 Luna Leather Sneaker – FAQ

Does the size goes by us or uk sizing?

All three, US, UK, and EU; I’ve found Merrell’s to be true to size, for me.

Are they slip resistant?

Not sure because I have never slipped with them. Merrill use to have a smooth leather type before which were much better than these because you could polish the much easier.

Are these shoes waterproof (i.e. will your feet stay drying if you stand in a puddle/run through wet grass)?

Not at all.

These shoes are labeled womens shoes once in the cart but Mens before adding to cart? What will I be receiving if ordered?

Not sure about that you need to ask Amazon about that.

Would the leather of these hold up in the rain? It looks like suede, and I live in a pretty rainy area where that would be shot after a few days…

According to the description these are full grain leather which means they are the most waterproof leather that exists. Look up difference between genuine leather/suede

Does this have any support or is it completely barefoot?

No support

Merrell Men's Vapor Glove 3 Luna Leather Sneaker, Dusty Olive, 12 M US
402 Reviews
Merrell Men's Vapor Glove 3 Luna Leather Sneaker, Dusty Olive, 12 M US*
  • Vibram TC5+
  • TrailProtect pad offers underfoot protection
  • Soft full grain leather upper

*If you buy a product through one of these links, I will receive a small commission from the seller. There are no additional costs for you, and you support my work on this site. To learn more read here. Thank you and Feel Grounded. Dirk