Merrell Women’s Vapor Glove 3 Luna Leather Sneaker – Review

Merrell Women’s Vapor Glove 3 Luna Leather Sneaker – Product characteristics

  • 100% Leather
  • Imported
  • Leather sole
  • Shaft measures approximately low-top from arch
  • TrailProtect Pad underfoot for Protection
  • Vibram TC5 Outsole
  • Breathable Mesh Lining
  • Full Grain Leather Upper
  • Zero Drop
Sale
Merrell Women's Vapor Glove 3 Luna Leather Sneaker, pomegranate, 7.5 M US
1,074 Reviews
Merrell Women's Vapor Glove 3 Luna Leather Sneaker, pomegranate, 7.5 M US*
  • TrailProtect Pad underfoot for Protection
  • Vibram TC5 Outsole
  • Breathable Mesh Lining

Merrell Women’s Vapor Glove 3 Luna Leather Sneaker – Reviews

Almost perfect

I love these shoes and they are close to perfect! Originally gave them 4/5 because there was a little spot where the sole appeared to be separating from the upper, but after several months of heavy use they are basically still as good as new.I have some ankle issues and tight calves, so I thought barefoot shoes might help me strengthen the ankle muscles and allow my calves to stretch without a chunky heel. So far, they seem to be helping. I was initially concerned about stability, since one of my feet kind of collapses (overpronates) and this shoe doesn’t really have arches, but honestly I have way less knee and ankle pain wearing these than a typical shoe. The zero drop is awesome.The toe box is pretty roomy (more roomy than they need to be for my narrow feet, but still comfy) and the heel is snug. I’ve been wearing these hiking on dry (and sometines rainy) days in the PNW with no problems and I wear them to class every day as well. I wear size 7.5 in most shoes, and these were true to size.The rubber sole is somewhat asymmetrical, meaning one shoe has slightly more coverage than the other on the toe. Kind of weird, but not a big issue. They really do fit like gloves. The arch area hugs my foot nicely and it barely feels like I’m wearing shoes. The only thing that keeps them from being perfect trail shoes in my mind is the lack of tread and the low ankle (which allows lots of dirt, rocks, and leaves to get in). I would love to see a shoe like this with a neoprene sock built in.Compared to vivobarefoot’s magna trail shoes, these are way nicer and comfortable. The vivobarefoots are wide and clunky, while the merrells are form fitting.

Reviewed in the United States on February 12, 2020

Vapor Glove 3 for rainy days!

If you wear thin sock liners with the regular vapor gloves and walk into wet grass or light rain you have wet feet & socks. These shoes give good water resistance with the great vapor glove feel. They are slightly more stiff than regular vapor gloves. Fit is like regular vapor gloves but with a short break in period associated with leather shoes. As with any barefoot shoe, your feet need to have time to strengthen if you have not conditioned your feet to feel the ground of barefoot or near barefoot movement. My feet changed + 1 & 1/2 size over 2 years after donating all my support shoes which were destroying my vertebra, hips and meniscus knee cartilage. I need B width (narrow) so need to buy women’s size so to fit properly. Color choices can range to a bit colorful for guys. Women needing wide shoes need to buy men’s size (more like D) width and will get more dull color choices and get less “cute shoes” comments from other women looking at your shoes. I got generic gray color and like a lot!

Reviewed in the United States on October 19, 2018

Loudest, Squeakiest, Most Obnoxious Rubber Soles — They will pierce your eardrums!

Everyone will hear you coming from far away in these shoes!The fit is incredible. So comfortable. The least-ugly Merrell zero-drop sneakers. Finally a wide toe-box and narrow heel, women’s-specific fit with no heel rise in a waterproof leather and no obnoxious neon or pastel colors.All sounds great until you put them on and walk around.The Vibram rubber soles on these are a different material than the textile zero-drop Merrell shoes I have owned before. I have bought textile Merrell shoes with leather accents and worn them for years without this problem and no squeaks. These soles are a different, brown gum-colored rubber and it is extremely loud, ear-piercing, and you have to step very lightly and carefully with no friction on the ground to be able to walk silently. It’s like walking on eggshells to not cause yourself hearing damage and not annoy everyone in the room. Not worth it. I will be returning these.

Reviewed in the United States on September 26, 2019

You need these in your wardrobe!

These are my absolutely favorite shoes right now! I’ve owned several Merrell barefoot style shoes over the last several years and these are just amazing! The leather uppers keep some structure to the shoe while the soles allow you to feel what you’re doing. These are the absolute perfect balance of minimalist and still look great with everything! They look like street shoes, but feel like socks with a sole! Will definitely be buying more of these in other colors! I’ve been a loyal Merrell customer for over 6 years now and basically only wear Merrells until they start to fall apart! The only concern I’ve had with these is the black inside the upper of the shoe transfers onto your socks, but I love these so much and how comfortable they are that I’ve decided I don’t care. I hate wearing anything that isn’t a minimalist shoe, and these have been just incredible! If you’ve had the Vapor Glove 1 or Vapor Glove 2, you know some of the ways the sole doesn’t offer the right support and how the toe doesn’t quite hit right on top. The VG3 has finally solved that, and the leather upper of these has made the VG3 absolute perfection!

Reviewed in the United States on July 28, 2019

My feet are happy, finally a wide enough to box.

Really like these shoes,no break in required. I walk on concrete all day and was worried they’d be uncomfortable but they feel great.

Reviewed in the United States on August 25, 2021

My mainstay

I love these shoes! I found the barefoot Merrill’s about five years ago and I love them. They are pretty bare so little support any where. This is perfect for me. I run, stand and walk for hours in them. I think they are stylish as well.

Reviewed in the United States on October 14, 2021

Love the shoe! Love Merrell!

I love Merrell shoes and this is no exception for me. It’s a barefoot experience. It’s not supposed to have all the support that other shoes do as it allows your foot to do it’s work. Thank you Merrell! Cute and nice shoes.

Reviewed in the United States on November 7, 2021

Perfect

These are my favorite sneakers. They actually feel molded perfectly for my feet. The material hot wet yesterday in the grass and did not get a water stain. I love them.

Reviewed in the United States on July 5, 2021
Sale
Merrell Women's Vapor Glove 3 Luna Leather Sneaker, pomegranate, 7.5 M US
1,074 Reviews
Merrell Women's Vapor Glove 3 Luna Leather Sneaker, pomegranate, 7.5 M US*
  • TrailProtect Pad underfoot for Protection
  • Vibram TC5 Outsole
  • Breathable Mesh Lining

Merrell Women’s Vapor Glove 3 Luna Leather Sneaker – FAQ

How durable is the leather? Will it stand up to mud and moisture encountered in a 15 minute stroll around the green belt?w

I have the slate blue pair and they hold up well. I see no problems with them when they get wet. I actually like these better than the mesh vapor gloves. The mesh ones would get my feet all wet but these leather ones keep water out from the occasional splash, shallow puddle or wet grass.

Can you spray a water protectant on these?

Although I did not feel the need to, I think you could. I have 3 pairs of the suede vapor glove and have worn them in the rain. They do not stain or absorb the water.

Do they hold up with wear?

I wear these everyday. This shoe is incredibly tough. One if the best pairs of shoes I own. Buy them they last

Do you need to wear socks with these?

You wouldn’t have to, but I do.

I wear the non leather ones in 8.5 and the are a perfect fit maybe even just a bit small in the beginni. Because these are leather do they run small?

They seem to run true. I buy a half size bigger so I can wear heavier socks when it’s cold. Leather adjusted to my feet after a few longer walks.

What countrie they are made

Vietnam

For sizes why does it have an ‘m’ by the 8.5? – does that mean men’s size? this is the only half-size that has an m by it so i’m confused.

I presume it means ‘medium’ width rather than narrow or wide. I wear a medium width and my 8.5 m fits my foot.

Do these run small?

I order ½ size larger.

Sale
Merrell Women's Vapor Glove 3 Luna Leather Sneaker, pomegranate, 7.5 M US
1,074 Reviews
Merrell Women's Vapor Glove 3 Luna Leather Sneaker, pomegranate, 7.5 M US*
  • TrailProtect Pad underfoot for Protection
  • Vibram TC5 Outsole
  • Breathable Mesh Lining

*If you buy a product through one of these links, I will receive a small commission from the seller. There are no additional costs for you, and you support my work on this site. To learn more read here. Thank you and Feel Grounded. Dirk