New Balance Men’s 412 V1 Alloy Toe Industrial Shoe – Review

New Balance Men’s 412 V1 Alloy Toe Industrial Shoe – Product characteristics

  • 100% Leather
  • Imported
  • Rubber sole
  • EVA insert
  • Meets ASTM F2413-17 I/75 and C/75 impact and compression safety standards
  • Slip-resistant outsole properties are tested according to ASTM F2913-17 to provide superior traction under various surface conditions
New Balance mens 412 V1 Alloy Toe Industrial Shoe, Black/Silver, 12 Wide US*
  • EVA insert
  • Meets ASTM F2413-17 I/75 and C/75 impact and compression safety standards
  • Slip-resistant outsole properties are tested according to ASTM F2913-17 to provide superior traction under various surface conditions

New Balance Men’s 412 V1 Alloy Toe Industrial Shoe – Reviews

Comfortable straight out of the box

It normally takes me a week to break in new safety shoes. I typically only wear them half a day to avoid blisters that first week. This pair of New Balance was comfortable immediately and I was able to wear them the whole day. I am very surprised how comfortable they are right out of the box. I walk about 10 miles on concrete floors during an average work day. These shoes are outstanding and I’ve already ordered another pair to have a backup. I highly recommend them. UPDATE – After 9 months of wearing them I still love them.

Reviewed in the United States on May 15, 2019

Amazing

These single handedly resolved years of plantar fasciitis pain after my first 12 hour shift.I was in pain after about 4 hours into my 12 hour shifts. Then it’d take 2 of my 4 days off to recover.My second day of wearing these one of my coworkers noticed that I was no longer limping around at work.Well worth the money and I will definitely buy a second pair to add to my rotation.Cannot recommend these highly enough. Suits my needs for manufacturing and working 12+ hour shifts standing on concrete for 50+ hours a week.Buy them, you will not regret it.In the past 3-4 months I have spent about 1k on new boots/shoes for work trying to address the plantar fasciitis. These new balance shoes are amazing.

Reviewed in the United States on March 31, 2021

Not bad

I have wide feet/toes and out of the dozens of boots and shoes I tried these were one of two that were actually extra-wide enough for my dumb feet. I stand on concrete 10 hours a day and they definitely help a little with foot/nerve pain too… especially when combined with an orthotic.I can’t say for sure how they will hold up over time, but they seem like good quality. If they last a year that would be great honestly.I hope they make these with an internal metgaurd at some point. That would be super cool.My only complaint is my orthotics squeaked when put under the insole due to the material used so I had to put it on top and put another on top of that. Not that big of a deal, but worth noting I think.

Reviewed in the United States on September 4, 2019

Very Comfortable

I bought these to wear while cutting and splitting wood. Regular steel toe work boots were killing my feet, no matter what I did, but these were so comfortable that I wore them all day without noticing them. As usual, I dropped some chunks of wood on my feet while splitting, and these kept my toes safe. Highly recommend.

Reviewed in the United States on April 27, 2019

Very pleased.

Flinstone foot approved! I wear NB 4e or 6e depending on the shoe and the xw(4e) fit perfect. They are light and comfortable while still feeling solid and safe.UPDATE: 3 months in and they’re still holding up great. I walk on average 25 miles a week at work, mostly on concrete, and the soles are barely showing wear. I’d buy them again.

Reviewed in the United States on February 25, 2019

Front stitching wore out fast

I am usually a fan of new balance shoes but these just did not hold up. I received them less then a month ago and I wear them to work every day. The front stitching started coming apart less then a week and now almost the entire front steel toe is showing on both shoes. Other then this the shoes are comfortable and fit nicely but for a work shoe they just wore out too fast.

Reviewed in the United States on July 25, 2019

Solid steel toe, that looks good. And great for motorcycles.

Good fit. Solid steel toe that looks good and feels good. We have polished concrete floors at work and these squeak. I blame that on the idiots that thought polished concrete in an office building was a good idea. These are good shoes.Update. Sold my last motorcycle three years ago thinking that I could be done riding after 20 years. Well, the itch came back and I got a new bike. One of the problems I have always had is good shoes for work that are also good, and somewhat more safe, for riding. I am not going to wear something like my last pair of Sidi boots in the office, so need something more tame. These are a good fit for traction on the street, steel toe for safety, and the reason why I update this review, so far, no wear on the top of the shoe from the shift lever on the bike. That deserves another star.

Reviewed in the United States on February 6, 2019

Great light protection 💪🏆

These are super light and the alloy toe is pretty amazing. Don’t try this but I think you could probably drop a bowling ball on your toe with these on and you wouldn’t feel anything. And the alloy toe area does cover quite a lot large area. It’s an awesome design especially how late they feel they really feel like nothing.I wear a size 13 so my shoes are always somewhat bulky and these are no different, they’re not quite the running shoes they look like in the picture. They definitely have an industrial feel to them. But I don’t think there is another brand lighter than these or more protective than these or as stylish as these.The only negative is around the ankle area, I felt it kind of rubbed a little bit against my ankle. I do have bony ankles but other shoes don’t bother me. It wasn’t a deal-breaker but I just wish they weren’t as bulky around the ankles. I would buy them again and highly recommend them.

Reviewed in the United States on November 11, 2019
New Balance mens 412 V1 Alloy Toe Industrial Shoe, Black/Silver, 12 Wide US*
  • EVA insert
  • Meets ASTM F2413-17 I/75 and C/75 impact and compression safety standards
  • Slip-resistant outsole properties are tested according to ASTM F2913-17 to provide superior traction under various surface conditions

New Balance Men’s 412 V1 Alloy Toe Industrial Shoe – FAQ

Where are these shoes made?

China

I have a 12.5 w (us) foot, so would a size 13w work?

I also have wear a size 12.5 shoe and I ended up purchasing a size 12. I’ve noticed that new Balance tends to run a half size big for me. The shoes I purchased fit perfectly for me

Are these electrical hazard shoes ?

I don’t think these would be best suited for electrical hazards, might need ones rated with soles that don’t conduct

Tiene punta de metal?

Sí, sí tiene punta de metal

Does this shoe have a wide toe box

Yes

Are these shoes soft/supple to wear? Is the insole removable?

Yes shoes are soft/supple to wear, I haven’t checked to see if insoles are removable but very comfortable

area these steel toed or not?

My understanding is this is an aluminum alloy protective (safety) toe shoe. This will meet all the same safety requirements as a steel toe shoe does, it’s just using a lighter metal. If your job requires safety toe shoes, this shoe will meet that requirement. For years, we called safety toe shoes “steel toe” shoes because they were made with steel. But today manufacturers use various other materials such as aluminum, titanium, composites, and carbon fiber. The new materials were developed to solve two problems, 1) was getting through metal detectors and 2), to provide a lighter shoe.

Are they nail proof?

Not that I can tell. There doesn’t seem to be any kind of protective plating on the bottom.

How much do these shoes weight?

Depends on the size , to me they don’t weigh that much , I have had other safety shoes that weigh a lot more than these do.

New Balance mens 412 V1 Alloy Toe Industrial Shoe, Black/Silver, 12 Wide US*
  • EVA insert
  • Meets ASTM F2413-17 I/75 and C/75 impact and compression safety standards
  • Slip-resistant outsole properties are tested according to ASTM F2913-17 to provide superior traction under various surface conditions

*If you buy a product through one of these links, I will receive a small commission from the seller. There are no additional costs for you, and you support my work on this site. To learn more read here. Thank you and Feel Grounded. Dirk