New Balance Men’s DRFT V1 Running Shoe – Review

New Balance Men’s DRFT V1 Running Shoe – Product characteristics

    New Balance Men's DRFT V1 Running Shoe, Black/Black, 8.5 X-Wide
    4,316 Reviews
    New Balance Men's DRFT V1 Running Shoe, Black/Black, 8.5 X-Wide*
    • Versatile, Comfortable Running Shoes: Featuring ACTEVA midsole cushioning, which delivers versatile, flexible support, these shoes provide all the comfort you'll want and need throughout your day
    • Built-In Cushioning: Made for top performance as much as style, these running shoes include a REVlite midsole that delivers incredibly lightweight cushioning to help smooth out your strides
    • Made for Comfort: These running shoes have an NB Comfort Insert for more softness underfoot and Ground Contact IMEVA cushioning to increase comfort without adding extra weight

    New Balance Men’s DRFT V1 Running Shoe – Reviews

    New Balance. All I need to know.

    I bought these for my 21 year old autistic son. He’s isn’t overly aggressive on his shoes and has had similar New Balance shoes so I suspect these will last just as long as his old pair have. It was just time for some new wheels. They are kind of bold in color and I was kind of surprised he liked them but that’s cool. He isn’t a fan of the black laces so he wished for me to order up a different color. YELLOW! LOLThese fit his size 12 4E wide feet perfectly and he says they are very comfortable except for the arch support as he has flat feet. I told him it would just take a few wearings to break them down a bit with his massive body and bulk. He is a big boy. The only thing I’m not a fan of is the fact that the eyelets are pretty narrow and so feeding laces through them is a bit laborious. New Balance is the shoe of choice around this house. We all wear them.

    Reviewed in the United States on May 23, 2020

    Oooo, these are nice!

    I’ve never owned a New Balance product before, but I found these when looking for a lighter weight shoe that didn’t cost an arm and a leg like Frees usually do.Knowing that all shows fit differently I did decide to order a 15. Mainly because even though I wear a 14-15 it always seems on these lightweight shoes I seem to need bigger sizes. But it looks like I chose right because they fit great and aren’t too tight or anything at all.They feel great and are nice and light. Now my uses might differ a little bit from normal peoples. I use them for everyday use and for gaming. Yeah. I usually employ lightweight shoes on music and rhythm games such as Dance Dance Revolution since it’s a lot easier to run your feet with running shoes versus clunky skate shoes.I can’t comment on durability yet but looking st the bottoms of the shoes they don’t look like they’ll peel apart like my Frees usually do. Here’s to hoping.Overall I am really glad I purchased these. They’re really nice.

    Reviewed in the United States on July 17, 2020

    Let the buyer beware!

    Steer clear of these shoes, especially if you normally trust New Balance. The price is low for good reason. They should be labeled “No Balance.” There is zero arch support. A 4E is not extra wide, but closer to a 2E, too snug with my orthotics in them. The flimsy top surface over the toes feels like it will have holes in it before long. Outsoles are slick and would probably be slippery on wet pavement. Unfortunately, I was halfway into an out-and-back 8-miler before I realized these are not serious running/walking shoes! I didn’t have bus fare, so walked home slowly, hoping not to get blisters on the way. Normally, I can get at least 150 miles out of a pair of NB trainers, but I wouldn’t go 15 in these. Might be ok for short walks in a mall or shopping center, but would hurt my feet if I tried to run in them again. Would give them zero stars if possible. It’s too late to ship them back to Amazon and I’d donate them to charity except I don’t want to stick some other poor sucker with them!

    Reviewed in the United States on February 20, 2022

    Love these shoes

    These are very perfectly fit to my feet. The bottoms are like a memory foam and they do not bottom out on me at 190LBS. The look is clean and it breathes very well. Will look at getting these in black too, I have the bright blue ones.

    Reviewed in the United States on April 27, 2020

    Very Meh Shoe

    A light weight, cheap running shoe. It’s a deal at the price of 20- something, but you get what you pay for. The inner pinning is a very rough material and will quickly cause blisters on your Achilles tendon area. So high socks are a must when running with these shoes. The laces are rather thin and flimsy feeling, so you may want to replace them with better quality.As for the sole of the show, it is a single piece of rubberized foam without flexible crevices, so it’s bit stiff. All in all, three stars. Not bad, not great.

    Reviewed in the United States on June 1, 2020

    2020 > These shoes

    Don’t let the low price fool you! The saying “you get what you pay for” applies to these shoes. While they look stylish and sporty, that is all they provide. Zero comfort. I bought two pairs because Newbs always had a great rep, were comfortable, and for the price I was in heaven. Completely wrong on my end. These shoes provide -10,000.43% support and comfort. Well I would love to keep thinking of other ways to say DONT BUY and STAY AWAY but I have to go search for new all black uniform tennis shoes.

    Reviewed in the United States on October 11, 2020

    Not for walking long distance or any exercise

    This is a poor quality running shoe. It may be ok for casual activity, but I would encourage you not to purchase if you will do any light/ moderate or intense exercise. There is no heel support or cushion. Also, there is poor articulation when you’re off your heels. Again, This may be tolerable for casually walking around short distance, but even then I would buy aftermarket insoles like Super Feet. I tried them for a month and now they just sit in the bottom of my locker. Probably never wearing them again. I bought them thinking I would save some money. Now I wish I just invested more in a better sneaker. Ended up getting Nike zoom flys and it was worth every penny.

    Reviewed in the United States on June 17, 2022

    muy comodos, pero al parecer no son muy duraderos.

    compre estos zapatos exclusivamente para correr y hacer mis entrenamientos de calistenia. en términos generales están muy bien, son cómodos, livianos y bonitos, ademas encajan bien. el detalle es que estos zapatos traen una tela interna que es arropada por una tela tipo malla, a través de los agujeros de la tela de malla puedo ver mis medias en la parte delantera del zapato, la que pega en mi dedo pulgar del pie (dedo gordo) es decir, ya la malla interna se rompió, la del zapato izquierdo, y la verdad los zapatos están muy nuevos aun. supongo que esto no debería pasar con tan poco tiempo de uso (2 meses) por esto les doy 3 estrellas, ya que el zapato se ve muy bien, los detalles de fabrica están bien, pero…

    Reviewed in the United States on February 1, 2021
    New Balance Men's DRFT V1 Running Shoe, Black/Black, 8.5 X-Wide
    4,316 Reviews
    New Balance Men's DRFT V1 Running Shoe, Black/Black, 8.5 X-Wide*
    • Versatile, Comfortable Running Shoes: Featuring ACTEVA midsole cushioning, which delivers versatile, flexible support, these shoes provide all the comfort you'll want and need throughout your day
    • Built-In Cushioning: Made for top performance as much as style, these running shoes include a REVlite midsole that delivers incredibly lightweight cushioning to help smooth out your strides
    • Made for Comfort: These running shoes have an NB Comfort Insert for more softness underfoot and Ground Contact IMEVA cushioning to increase comfort without adding extra weight

    New Balance Men’s DRFT V1 Running Shoe – FAQ

    I am 9.5 that size will fit me or I have to take size 10

    I always wear a 11.5 and that’s what I ordered every time I purchased them and they fit fine. I love these shoes! They are so comfortable

    How much do these weight?

    NB doesn’t publish the weight on these shoes, only claiming that they are 12% lighter than other models. So compared to a 10-oz shoe, they would weigh 8.8 oz. They do feel light, but partly because the fabric on top of the forefoot is very thin. If you have even slight hammer toes, they might poke through within 50 miles.

    Made in the USA?

    Made in Vietnam. Was necessary to tape over rough stitching on top of forefoot to prevent blisters. Not up to usual NB standards.

    I received wrong shoes size. what does 11d mean? i just wanted size 11, seems wider than other nb shoes i have. please advise.

    Standard width

    Can you remove the insoles to be able to insert custom ones?

    YES, I AM HANDICAPPED AND MUST WEAR A PROSTECTIC BRACE SO I HAVE TO REMOVE THE INSOLE TO ACCOMODATE IT. HOPE YOU LOVE THESE SHOES AS MUCH AS I DO!!!

    Super Cushon ??

    I don’t know what you mean by “super cushion” however my son used these shoes to run cross country and in triathlons and he loves them.

    is the cushion spongy or more on the firm side?

    More on the firm side.

    New Balance Men's DRFT V1 Running Shoe, Black/Black, 8.5 X-Wide
    4,316 Reviews
    New Balance Men's DRFT V1 Running Shoe, Black/Black, 8.5 X-Wide*
    • Versatile, Comfortable Running Shoes: Featuring ACTEVA midsole cushioning, which delivers versatile, flexible support, these shoes provide all the comfort you'll want and need throughout your day
    • Built-In Cushioning: Made for top performance as much as style, these running shoes include a REVlite midsole that delivers incredibly lightweight cushioning to help smooth out your strides
    • Made for Comfort: These running shoes have an NB Comfort Insert for more softness underfoot and Ground Contact IMEVA cushioning to increase comfort without adding extra weight

    *If you buy a product through one of these links, I will receive a small commission from the seller. There are no additional costs for you, and you support my work on this site. To learn more read here. Thank you and Feel Grounded. Dirk