New Balance Men’s Fresh Foam 680 V7 Running Shoe – Review

New Balance Men’s Fresh Foam 680 V7 Running Shoe – Product characteristics

  • Imported
  • Rubber sole
  • Dual-density Fresh Foam midsole cushioning is precision engineered to deliver an ultra-cushioned, lightweight ride
  • Engineered mesh upper allows for breathability
  • Upper features no-sew construction for a sleek fit and feel
  • Molded insert helps provide extra support
  • Rubber outsole for durability and traction
Sale
New Balance Men's Fresh Foam 680 V7 Running Shoe, Grey/Ghost Pepper/Black, 13*
  • Fresh Foam midsole cushioning is precision engineered to deliver an ultra-cushioned, lightweight ride
  • Engineered mesh upper allows for breathability
  • Upper features no-sew construction for a sleek fit and feel

New Balance Men’s Fresh Foam 680 V7 Running Shoe – Reviews

Took a chance and it paid off

I ordered these, a bit nervous by the reviews, but desperate in need of new shoes and didn’t have time to go to the running store.These needed absolutely no breaking in. I wore them in a 5k the day after I got them (which is generally a mistake…nothing new on race day!) and anticipated blisters. No problems at all. It was like I’d been wearing them for months.Cheapest running shoes I’ve gotten in years, and now I’m just mad I hadn’t given them a chance sooner.

Reviewed in the United States on May 9, 2022

Good all around running shoestring a decent price.

I’ve been running quite a long time and I’ve been through a lot of running shoes. My favorites were Nikes until they starting jacking up their prices. When that happened I went looking for something reasonably priced and found New Balance. I’m doing 3-4 decent runs a week and the fit and finish is great. They feel well cushioned without being heavy. The several pairs I’ve been through have all worn well and lasted longer that I would have expected. So an all around great shoe at a decent price.

Reviewed in the United States on December 23, 2021

Nice shoea

Got these b/c I got bad metatarsalgia and these were recommended. The toe area seems tight and they are shutters than my go to ASICS so next time I would prob size up but very comfy and lots of cushion

Reviewed in the United States on October 23, 2021

A wonderful pair of New balance shoes

I’m a big fan of New balance shoes. They are some of the best sneakers around. I have been wearing them for over 30 years power to New balance. Thank you Amazon and thank the seller

Reviewed in the United States on March 23, 2022

Definitely a departure from previous generations of NB 680s

My feet are flat as boards and turn out quite a bit. I walk like a duck-footed duck. It’s that bad.I need shoes that give me the support and cushion in just the right spots. The 680 is/was my go-to workout shoe. I started with the 680 v2 many moons ago. I then moved to the v4. They’ve got me through three half marathons, long walks, and countless hours weight training. The 680 has never been pretty or something I’d want to wear anywhere, but it was always comfortable and gave me the support I need for my wacky feet.The v7 is different. It doesn’t seem to offer the support I’m used to. I got these and went for a 5 mile walk. My feet hurt for days after. I don’t know what’s changed, but I seriously doubt I’ll buy another pair. They’re holding up fine, but I can’t say I’ve worn them much after that initial walk.

Reviewed in the United States on January 10, 2022

Much more narrow than previous generations

My last pair of running shoes were the NB 680v6, and they fit me like a glove. Since they were discontinued I ordered the 680v7 thinking it couldn’t be much different. WRONG. They are at least half an inch narrower than the previous generation, and I ordered the same size and width. Update: I just measured. For a size 9D, the v6 is 4.75″ at the widest part of the sole. The v7 is 4.25″ at the same spot.Not to mention, the mesh is less flexible than the previous generation also, which makes the fit feel even worse.These are getting returned and I’m buying another set of v6s from old stock. What a blunder in design.

Reviewed in the United States on March 3, 2022

Super narrow, fits like a women’s shoe

2E and they are so narrow at the bottom, the middle part of the sole is like 1.75″ wide! Providing no stability and practically a form of foot binding torture. What adult human male has feet this small? No one born in the USA that I know of!

Reviewed in the United States on December 30, 2021

PERFECT!

My perfect shoe. Light as a feather too.

Reviewed in the United States on February 15, 2022
Sale
New Balance Men's Fresh Foam 680 V7 Running Shoe, Grey/Ghost Pepper/Black, 13*
  • Fresh Foam midsole cushioning is precision engineered to deliver an ultra-cushioned, lightweight ride
  • Engineered mesh upper allows for breathability
  • Upper features no-sew construction for a sleek fit and feel

New Balance Men’s Fresh Foam 680 V7 Running Shoe – FAQ

Is this a mens shoe? Detailed description calls it a womens shoe. Thx

I’m a guy and I bought it. As far as I can tell it’s a men’s shoe.

What color is ghost pepper?

It is the orangist outline around the N, the upper part of the tongue and the mid ball section of the foot.

If my foot size is 10.75″ length and 4.25″ wide which size should i get? wide or x wide? i have some swollen ball joints.

I used to get normal width but after visiting a red wings store. I came to realize I wasn’t wearing the right size or width for my shoes. So personally I wear a 4E.

Its 9.5 D or is E ?

E

Why would anyone run on foam shoes?

Because it’s terrific cushioning, troll

How much water proof is it?

The shoe is made of nylon mesh . Water passes through the top with ease . Not waterproof at all . Great shoe though

are these narrow I am inbetween regular and wide Thanks

They should be fit you if you need wider.

Are they a slip on so you don’t need to tie the laces?

No but I tie them and usually slip on easily.

Sale
New Balance Men's Fresh Foam 680 V7 Running Shoe, Grey/Ghost Pepper/Black, 13*
  • Fresh Foam midsole cushioning is precision engineered to deliver an ultra-cushioned, lightweight ride
  • Engineered mesh upper allows for breathability
  • Upper features no-sew construction for a sleek fit and feel

*If you buy a product through one of these links, I will receive a small commission from the seller. There are no additional costs for you, and you support my work on this site. To learn more read here. Thank you and Feel Grounded. Dirk