New Balance Men’s Fresh Foam Tempo V1 Running Shoe – Review

New Balance Men’s Fresh Foam Tempo V1 Running Shoe – Product characteristics

  • 50% Synthetic, 50% Mesh
  • Imported
  • Rubber sole
  • Modernized Midsole Technology: Part of the Fresh Foam X collection, this shoe uses the latest advancements in data-to-design to deliver precise plushness underfoot, exactly where you need it
  • Data-Driven Design: These running shoes are made by combining data-driven research with refined aesthetics to create a contemporary upper that delivers when it comes to both performance and style
  • Offers Strategic Support: An engineered mesh upper crafted with embroidery gives these performance running shoes a snug, custom-like fit while also offering strategic support from heel to forefoot
  • Lightweight Feel: Designed to motivate you to push past your personal best, these Fresh Foam running shoes have a lightweight fit and feel to help you feel swift on your feet
  • Sleek Profile: The low-profile silhouette of these New Balance running shoes offers a sleek look to support faster performance and to upgrade your running gear with a stylish finish
New Balance Men's Fresh Foam Tempo V1 Running Shoe, Ocean Grey/Virtual Sky, 10
2,933 Reviews
New Balance Men's Fresh Foam Tempo V1 Running Shoe, Ocean Grey/Virtual Sky, 10*
  • Modernized Midsole Technology: Part of the Fresh Foam X collection, this shoe uses the latest advancements in data-to-design to deliver precise plushness underfoot, exactly where you need it
  • Data-Driven Design: These running shoes are made by combining data-driven research with refined aesthetics to create a contemporary upper that delivers when it comes to both performance and style
  • Offers Strategic Support: An engineered mesh upper crafted with embroidery gives these performance running shoes a snug, custom-like fit while also offering strategic support from heel to forefoot

New Balance Men’s Fresh Foam Tempo V1 Running Shoe – Reviews

Wore out after 2.5 months

The tread on the shoes is worn to almost nothing in several areas after 111.46 miles of running on pavement (2.5 months). Additionally, the inner heal on the right shoe wore down and padding shifted resulting in the reinforcing material inside of the back of the heal of the shoe to jab at the back of my heal.The material used in these shoes is not quality.They were true to size.

Reviewed in the United States on June 17, 2020

Deteriorate Quickly

I had high hopes for this shoe. I like tight fitting, not too squishy running shoes. I’ll start with the negatives, and then the positive notes at the end.These are super tight, like my big toes hurt unbearably after ~half an hour of wear even after breaking them in. If you like tight fitting shoes, order a half size up anyway. I only wore them for my shorter, faster runs because of the pain.I ran in them every day in dry conditions on pavement. After about 100 miles in them, the heel cup and the toe section had begun wearing quite badly. This may be because of how tight they are, but seems more like a poor material quality to be honest. I think their total life is somewhere in the order of 150-200 miles before the souls start to degrade.Now for the good notes.They feel great for short runs/for the first half hour or so of longer runs. Really planted, stable, powerful shoes. Good energy return without being shin-breakingly hard. Haven’t raced in them because of the pandemic (bought these in Aug. 2020 for those reading in the future) but I think they would be outstanding race shoes.For the price, (I paid ~$55) kinda what I expected. I think it’s a really great shoe if maybe you just need a pair for 5k race days. Definitely not your every day work horse. Great value I suppose.

Reviewed in the United States on October 2, 2020

Zante pursuit replacement

Finally what looks like a replacement for the NB Zante model. They have more cushioning than the Zante because they are built with the new foam X. I also believe the sole is thicker and thus the added weight compare to the Zante. I am ok with that even though it’s not an all out racing flat. The fit is excellent. Don’t expect this to be your everyday trainer. This shoe is meant for tempo runs and will make a fine 5k race shoe for most of you. NB finally added a regular pull tab on the heel which for me is a plus when you are doing triathlons and get off the bike for the run and need to pull on your shoe fast. Thank you NB

Reviewed in the United States on February 17, 2020

Great shoes, a bit small. tie them like this

Feels great, but order a half size up (for reference size 11 nike free rn 2017s fit me true to size) I ordered 11 and they were too snug around the toes, but 11.5 fits me pretty well.I pronate a bit and these feel good when running, the cushening in the mid is nice. And in the heel when walking.Also after a couple runs they started rubbing my achilles tendon, but i tied them a certain way and I haven’t had an issue since, though I only have about 30 miles on the so far.

Reviewed in the United States on August 6, 2020

The lacing system is ridiculously stupid!!!

I think shoes have been laced pretty simply ever since the shoelace was created/invented. However, these shoes had to figure out some ridiculous new way to lace the shoes that was completely tedious and ridiculous! I tried undoing this new lacing system and re-lacing them the way you, me, your parents and grandparents have laced their shoes–but couldn’t figure it out. This was so ridiculous that I am simply returning these shoes. I actually found a pair of Swedish running shoes (Salming) that are the most simplistic, and light, that I have recently worn.

Reviewed in the United States on September 13, 2020

A poor replacement for the Zante Pursuit

I have run in NB Zante pursuits for years. Well, at one point they were just Zantes, then became the Zante pursuit. I love them and have probably had ten pair in succession. The soft mesh upper and total lack of heel cups and other plastic made for a light, responsive shoe that wears very comfortably. To me they had finally reached the apogee of a design experiment that was exactly what I wanted in a running shoe: minimal, neutral drop, soft upper, light, but with adequate cushion. They have now discontinued the Zante and this is apparently the replacement. I find them to be just okay. The toe box is quite small on these and if I had it to do over again I’d order in a wider size. They also feel a bit short. If I didn’t know better I’d say they were also a bit heavier though the reported weight is the same, so that’s likely just the firmer feel giving an illusion of weight. I also dislike the visual design of these compared to the Zante. The Zante was understated and made a great daily wear trainer once the cushioning had been worn too much for running. These suffer from the malady of many running shoes of garish graphics which mean that once they are retired from running they are of little use to me. Sigh, this is all quite depressing.

Reviewed in the United States on March 8, 2021

Very comfortable

Purchased for my brother who had a leg amputated below the knee from diabetes problems, well he wants to protect his only foot he has left ..well he loved them ! Said they were so comfy and cushioned , which he needed .. said best pair of tennis shoes ever owned

Reviewed in the United States on August 11, 2020

Terrible design for wide feet – way too narrow even on the wide models

I’m a huge NB fan, and I exclusively wear their shoes for running… but this particular model is a huge disappointment. One of the main reasons I like NB is because their models always come in wide sizes. I bought this in a 9/2E as I always do, but when I put it on for the first time I said “welp, they sent me the wrong size.”. I always know a standard width when I feel it. So I returned it for a replacement and when it arrived, I realized it fit the same. The problem is that the sole curves in so far at its most narrow point that even on a 2E my foot sticks out over an inch on the inside. Just walking around I can feel that my foot isn’t grounded well, it’s unstable, and there’s added stress on the insides of my knees. Might as well be wearing high heels. Big disappointment on this particular model.

Reviewed in the United States on April 13, 2021
New Balance Men's Fresh Foam Tempo V1 Running Shoe, Ocean Grey/Virtual Sky, 10
2,933 Reviews
New Balance Men's Fresh Foam Tempo V1 Running Shoe, Ocean Grey/Virtual Sky, 10*
  • Modernized Midsole Technology: Part of the Fresh Foam X collection, this shoe uses the latest advancements in data-to-design to deliver precise plushness underfoot, exactly where you need it
  • Data-Driven Design: These running shoes are made by combining data-driven research with refined aesthetics to create a contemporary upper that delivers when it comes to both performance and style
  • Offers Strategic Support: An engineered mesh upper crafted with embroidery gives these performance running shoes a snug, custom-like fit while also offering strategic support from heel to forefoot

New Balance Men’s Fresh Foam Tempo V1 Running Shoe – FAQ

Es posible que el calzado sea envíado sin la caja?

Amazon debe responder. Pienso q si. Pero mo los podra devolver

Are these shoes american made

No, made in Vietnam.

Where are these made?

I was told they are made in Vietnam

Are these slip resistant?

Purchased for my brother and he says yes they are slip resistant, he loves them

where can i purchase a mens nb tennis shoe 111/2 w?

there just pointy in the toe

Are these shoes american made

I believe so. Maybe with Chinese parts.

Will these stretch a bit or should i go up half size? i like a snug fit, ordered my usual nb size. after standing in for half hour, pain and numbness.

Mine have not stretched and i walk 7 miles a day. I did notice that I had to go up 1/2 size as my normal size was very tite.

I have a pair of leather mens mw411 2e 9.5 – walking shoes can i replace them ? i like to buy through amazon if possible. tell me how to order.

Just order your size & return to Amazon if they don’t fit

New Balance Men's Fresh Foam Tempo V1 Running Shoe, Ocean Grey/Virtual Sky, 10
2,933 Reviews
New Balance Men's Fresh Foam Tempo V1 Running Shoe, Ocean Grey/Virtual Sky, 10*
  • Modernized Midsole Technology: Part of the Fresh Foam X collection, this shoe uses the latest advancements in data-to-design to deliver precise plushness underfoot, exactly where you need it
  • Data-Driven Design: These running shoes are made by combining data-driven research with refined aesthetics to create a contemporary upper that delivers when it comes to both performance and style
  • Offers Strategic Support: An engineered mesh upper crafted with embroidery gives these performance running shoes a snug, custom-like fit while also offering strategic support from heel to forefoot

*If you buy a product through one of these links, I will receive a small commission from the seller. There are no additional costs for you, and you support my work on this site. To learn more read here. Thank you and Feel Grounded. Dirk