New Balance Men’s Minimus 40 V1 Cross Trainer – Review

New Balance Men’s Minimus 40 V1 Cross Trainer – Product characteristics

  • 100% Synthetic
  • Imported
  • Man Made sole
  • Synthetic/Mesh Upper with TPU Reinforcement
  • Molded External Counter
  • REVlite Midsole with Rapid Rebound
  • 4 MM Drop
  • Vibram Outsole
New Balance Men's Minimus 40 V1 Cross Trainer, Black/White/Metallic Silver, 7.5 D US
83 Reviews
New Balance Men's Minimus 40 V1 Cross Trainer, Black/White/Metallic Silver, 7.5 D US*
  • Synthetic/Mesh Upper with TPU Reinforcement
  • Molded External Counter
  • REVlite Midsole with Rapid Rebound

New Balance Men’s Minimus 40 V1 Cross Trainer – Reviews

Horrible Overall Design; Weird Shoe Shape

I am a shoe buyer; have 30-40 pair. That said, these were THE worst shoes I’ve ever worn. The way the Achilles-support is fashioned actually causes your foot to come out of the shoe as you walk. Combined with a very narrow mid-foot area and elongated toe-box, the shoes felt Elven. I wore them to the gym, tripped on the treadmill multiple times (walking, mind you – wouldn’t have even considered running)! I’m sorry NB, I love you guys and you generally make terrific shoes, but these are a complete WHIFF! Remove them from the market and never look back, or fix the issues above and remake the shoe completely and try again. Colors were awesome!

Reviewed in the United States on April 23, 2019

A little long, but otherwise a great shoe for Crossfit-style workouts

I’ve had 2 other older-generation Minimus trainers that fit just right at 8.5 2E. These were a little long, but still comfortable and light.UPDATE: After a month, these are still comfortable, light, and the Vibram outsoles are very grippy. The flat-braid shoe laces are a great improvement over the old oval laces which I had to double-knot to keep them tied during workouts. These laces stay locked without the need to double-knot. The low heel-to-toe drop gives me good feel for olympic lifts in metcons and the cushioning is good for intermediate-distance running in Crossfit WOD’s.

Reviewed in the United States on June 26, 2019

LOVE THIS SHOE!

I wear a size 9.5 wide in womens NB but they stopped making this shoe, have NO idea why but I found this in men’s and got a size 8 and it works great. This is my 5th pair of Minimus 40 V1 Cross Trainer (1st mens) and now they are impossible to find. I love that they are minimus and don’t have a ton of support and padding. Will have to find a new shoe next but at least I found these! Sure wish they would come back!

Reviewed in the United States on August 11, 2021

Good for Squating, Deadlifting and all around good Gym sneaker

Nice step up from my older NB 20 V6. Very good lateral stability while driving the weight out of the Squat/Deadlift hole. This shoe run’s a half a size longer then my NB 20 V6 or my NB Vongo 2. I literally measured them “Sole to Sole” by “rolling the heal” like any good shoe merchant would. Good thing too, because NB sold out my size, but had that half size smaller. The rubber can be slippery on wet bike peddles, but feel’s stickier then the NB 20 V6 everywhere else. My shoes are 2E and fit snug like they’re designed. I don’t want my feet sliding around in my shoes while shooting out of the hole with four hundred+ pounds on my back.

Reviewed in the United States on June 2, 2019

Comfortable, flat, but a little imbalanced.

Pros: Low profile, good ground feel, stable feel, will use at gym. These shoes improved my form in the squat, deadlift, and lunge. They’re stable enough that there’s no problem with the box step. They do slip off the heel a little at first, but that stops if you lace it up tight and wear it a while. They are noticeably low, as intended, but I don’t feel like I’m barefoot.Cons: These compress slightly inward when you put weight on them. I can make them compress straight down, if I’m thinking about it. That’s why I’ll only use them at the gym.

Reviewed in the United States on March 3, 2019

Son unos tenis muy comodos, frescos y de buena calidad!!!

Excelente desicion, fue una excelente compra!!!Llego en el tiempo estipulado, gran calidad de estos tenis, adicional que son flefectivos y muy comodos, la verdad superaron mis espectativas, un vendedor muy serio, recomiendo 100%

Reviewed in the United States on December 15, 2019

Super Light, Super Comfirtable

***Updated***Out of the box – holy, schmoly, these may be the most comfy gym shoes I’ve ever owned. They’re super light, and thank you New Balance for having actual rubber soles, so they actually will last a decent amount of time. I’ll follow up later, after I’ve worn them for a while, but as of right now, these shoes hit the mark in every category.*Update – 4 months in, and I’m still extremely happy with these shoes for the gym! The heel isn’t very deep, so when using orthotics, they’re a little shallow…BUT…not enough of a problem to be dissatisfied in any way. Get them.

Reviewed in the United States on July 3, 2019

Great Quality, Narrow Toebox

Great overall in quality, and looks. However, the toebox is very narrow. Almost like a western R toe. They are a tad longer than the last NB Minimus, but due to the toe, get your normal size. I have pretty narrow feet for refrence.

Reviewed in the United States on November 22, 2019
New Balance Men's Minimus 40 V1 Cross Trainer, Black/White/Metallic Silver, 7.5 D US
83 Reviews
New Balance Men's Minimus 40 V1 Cross Trainer, Black/White/Metallic Silver, 7.5 D US*
  • Synthetic/Mesh Upper with TPU Reinforcement
  • Molded External Counter
  • REVlite Midsole with Rapid Rebound

New Balance Men’s Minimus 40 V1 Cross Trainer – FAQ

What is the difference between the sizes with “m” and “w”? is this medium and wide? or womens and men? thank you

The m is medium and the w is wide.

New Balance Men's Minimus 40 V1 Cross Trainer, Black/White/Metallic Silver, 7.5 D US
83 Reviews
New Balance Men's Minimus 40 V1 Cross Trainer, Black/White/Metallic Silver, 7.5 D US*
  • Synthetic/Mesh Upper with TPU Reinforcement
  • Molded External Counter
  • REVlite Midsole with Rapid Rebound

*If you buy a product through one of these links, I will receive a small commission from the seller. There are no additional costs for you, and you support my work on this site. To learn more read here. Thank you and Feel Grounded. Dirk