New Balance Men’s Minimus SL Waterproof Spikeless Comfort Golf Shoe – Review

New Balance Men’s Minimus SL Waterproof Spikeless Comfort Golf Shoe – Product characteristics

  • 100% Synthetic
  • Imported
  • Rubber sole
  • Shaft measures approximately low-top from arch
  • Waterproof microfiber leather upper with ultralight FantomFit support
  • REVlite 4mm drop midsole* provides lightweight cushioning & premium responsiveness
  • Flexible NDurance spikeless rubber outsole
  • 2-year waterproof warranty
New Balance Men's Minimus SL Waterproof Spikeless Comfort Golf Shoe, 11 D D US, grey/green*
  • Waterproof microfiber leather upper with ultralight FantomFit support
  • REVlite 4mm drop midsole* provides lightweight cushioning & premium responsiveness
  • Flexible NDurance spikeless rubber outsole

New Balance Men’s Minimus SL Waterproof Spikeless Comfort Golf Shoe – Reviews

Not a good fit

I am an avid golfer. I play at least three days a week. I needed a golf shoe that was comfortable and waterproof. My experience so far is that these shoes are not comfortable thru 18 holes of golf. The shoe gets narrow at the toe end and pinches your toes. I should have returned them but I made the mistake of thinking they would stretch and get better. But they are made in a synthetic material that does not stretch over time. The left shoe is really bad. The size is not the problem, its a seam at the end of the shoes that pushes against my big toe. I like the look of the shoe and they are waterproof but if you buy this shoe and it pinches your foot, don’t kid yourself into thinking it will get better. Return them, there’s too many good golf shoes out there.

Reviewed in the United States on May 1, 2019

Happy with the switch to spikeless shoes

First pair of spikeless shoes I’ve owned in about 20 years as a casual weekend golfer. After wearing numerous pairs of more formal looking soft-spike FJs for years, I wanted to walk more rounds and needed something offering a little more of a sneaker-like level of comfort. These shoes are sort of a hybrid in that there is far more padding than traditional shoes, but at the same time they still have a fair amount of structure and some stiffness in the sole. In the couple of months I’ve been wearing them, I’m really pleased. Very comfortable and I haven’t noticed any difference in grip compared to spiked shoes. In most of my previous shoes, my feet were in need of a break by the end of the round, but that’s not the case here.In damp conditions these have kept my feet dry, but I haven’t yet tested them in truly wet conditions. Perhaps this fall I’ll have the chance. Lastly, only bonus of the spikeless shoes is that you can put them on at home before you drive to the course. I’ve also found that there a lot easier to clean off after a round– just a quick clap together and you’re all set. I’m not sure I’ll ever go back to shoes with spikes.

Reviewed in the United States on August 25, 2018

These shoes are what I need. I play early …

These shoes are what I need. I play early in the morning (start about 10 minutes before sunrise) when the grass is heavy with dew and still has some dew on it when I finish my 18 holes around 9 am. I walk the 18 holes pulling my cart behind me and my feet are still dry when I take my shoes off after play.

Reviewed in the United States on September 12, 2018

they fit perfectly and are comfortable from day one

As all New Balance shoes do… they fit perfectly and are comfortable from day one. Have played 10 rounds and no issues. I have a 9 and 3/4 foot and the size 10 is perfect. AND, the price is perfect!!!

Reviewed in the United States on September 6, 2018

Very disappointed!

The cleats are already separating from the shoe! Only 2 months old!

Reviewed in the United States on August 25, 2018

Worn three times – coming apart

These shoes fit great and were very comfortable. Third time out on the course the sole started coming apart. Not sure who to contact. Hopefully New Balance stands behind their products. We will see.

Reviewed in the United States on September 29, 2018

The comfort of these shoes are awesome!

I’ve been a footjoy fan until they just didn’t have the comfort that they used to have, so I switched to NB golf shoes and I have found my new shoes!!

Reviewed in the United States on July 26, 2020

Repeat buyer

This is my second pair (different color). I’m a repeat buyer due to comfort (lightweight) and water resistance. .

Reviewed in the United States on June 8, 2022
New Balance Men's Minimus SL Waterproof Spikeless Comfort Golf Shoe, 11 D D US, grey/green*
  • Waterproof microfiber leather upper with ultralight FantomFit support
  • REVlite 4mm drop midsole* provides lightweight cushioning & premium responsiveness
  • Flexible NDurance spikeless rubber outsole

New Balance Men’s Minimus SL Waterproof Spikeless Comfort Golf Shoe – FAQ

Can the insole be removed ?

My insole was removable. Tag tied to shoe says it is an Ortholite® insole, but insole is labeled New Balance ® Golf. I ordered New Balance Men’s Minimus SL Waterproof Spikeless Comfort Golf Shoe size 11.5. Other answers were from over two years ago, so product likely changed.

Is the w in line with 2e or 4e as how new balance usually describes their widths?

2E-Wide

Can I wear this for day-to-day activities like shopping, walk the park or Friday casual at work?

Although you can wear them off the course for a bit, they would be uncomfortable to wear all day on casual dress days.

Any wide or x wide options?

I bought the 4E width.

New Balance website says “water resistant” not “waterproof” ??

I played 4 days in a row under wet conditions. I walked in water soaked fairways but puddles never deep enough where water leaked in but these shoes are not waterproof unless they are defective in the seams because my socks were soaking wet each day.

What do you have in 13 narrow

No their golf shoes

Is the minimus golf shoe breathable?

Yes, it is. They are probably the most comfortable golf shoes I have ever owned. They fit great. It’s almost like you are playing golf barefoot.

I bought these golf shoes and they are a little tight. will they stretch any?

I haven’t had the opportunity to wear them that much, but the times that I have worn them they are very comfortable and waterproof, I’m sure if you wore them enough they will stretch

I wear a11 2E in new balence 608. Will these shoes fit the same?

I have 2 different pairs of New Balance golf shoes (different models; both sized 11-1/2 Wide) and they fit the same for me.

Is it normal for the insides to dye my socks purple?

No issues w/sock discoloration

New Balance Men's Minimus SL Waterproof Spikeless Comfort Golf Shoe, 11 D D US, grey/green*
  • Waterproof microfiber leather upper with ultralight FantomFit support
  • REVlite 4mm drop midsole* provides lightweight cushioning & premium responsiveness
  • Flexible NDurance spikeless rubber outsole

*If you buy a product through one of these links, I will receive a small commission from the seller. There are no additional costs for you, and you support my work on this site. To learn more read here. Thank you and Feel Grounded. Dirk