New Balance Men’s Minimus Tr V1 Cross Trainer – Review

New Balance Men’s Minimus Tr V1 Cross Trainer – Product characteristics

  • 100% Synthetic
  • Made in the USA or Imported
  • Rubber sole
  • Midsole with full rubber coverage delivers added cushioning for enhanced comfort and impressive support
  • Mesh upper designed for a lightweight feel and enhanced airflow
  • Underfoot rubber for unmatched traction and a stable base
  • TPU-infused design and reaction-diffusion engineering for exceptional durability
  • Minimus construction and premium liners allow for a sock-free training session
New Balance Men's Minimus TR V1 Cross Trainer, Black/Outerspace/White, 10.5 Wide*
  • Midsole with full rubber coverage delivers added cushioning for enhanced comfort and impressive support
  • Mesh upper designed for a lightweight feel and enhanced airflow
  • Underfoot rubber for unmatched traction and a stable base

New Balance Men’s Minimus Tr V1 Cross Trainer – Reviews

Not Wide Anymore – Do not buy if you have wide feet.

Newbalance shoes that are are labeled as wide are no longer wide. The shoe on my right foot in the picture is a MT10 Minimus Trail in size 12 2E. The one on my left foot is the New Balance Men’s Minimus Tr V1 Cross Trainer in size 12 2E. It is 1/4 in narrower than the original minimus. So for those of us who have wide feet Newbalance was our trusted go to brand. Well no more. I have tried 3 different kinds of wide shoes from Newbalance and had to send them all back. This is really sad when a manufacturer abandons their core customers and creates products that simply do not work as advertised. There was even a wide tag hanging on the laces of the shoes. So sad they were great shoes so if you have wide feet do not buy this shoe in wide, it will not fit you anymore.

Reviewed in the United States on June 18, 2021

Go measure your foot haters

Everyone who’s saying size up should go end get their shoe size checked out or stop buying stuff made in China. These shoes fits just like all of my other size 13 minimus pairs and I’ve had, and I’ve had a ton of them. I’m so pumped they came back out with a great colorway on another great shoe. I need more colors so I can buy more.

Reviewed in the United States on April 28, 2021

Much narrower than advertised

I wear a 9.5 Extra Wide. I ordered an 11 Wide. This shoe is too narrow. I could tell when I opened the box that it was not going to be wide enough. This shoe has hard plastic edges so it gets painful after a few miles of walking. Very frustrating especially considering the price you pay for these shoes. I don’t feel honest returning these shoes after wearing them to walk in.Does anybody make a wide shoe that is actually wide?

Reviewed in the United States on August 16, 2021

New Balance changed their widths, no longer as wide as previous minimus shoes…

New Balance changed their widths, no longer as wide as previous minimus shoes. Such a shame because I really wanted to like these but they are entirely too narrow now. I even sized up and still too small. For example, I am a 13 wide. I wear 14 wide in minimus. These are not wide enough. I wish these companies would continue to cater to their audience that buys their products.

Reviewed in the United States on December 12, 2021

Size up

I’m not sure if I just have a different shaped foot than these are designed for, but they are not meant for people whose second toe is as long as their big toe. A shame because I loved the feel and design.

Reviewed in the United States on March 22, 2021

Could be a great shoe… if it fit.

As many others stated the shoe just isn’t sized right.I started wearing New Balance when I got to my first duty station 11 years ago; more specifically the minimus. I’ve been very happy with nearly every pair. In 11 years I can only remember having to ‘size up’ with one model, consistently wearing a 10.5. When I received these and tried them on i couldn’t even get my foot in with a shoe horn. They felt more like a 9 or 9.5. I’d love to try the 11 or 11.5 but the 3rd party sellers are asking ‘up to 50% restocking fee’. It doesn’t seem worth it knowing the that the line isn’t sized appropriately.

Reviewed in the United States on May 17, 2021

Wide is very narrow.

I had the minimus prevail in the same size (10.5 wide). I couldn’t even get this shoe on my foot. Don’t buy a wide expecting it to be wide.

Reviewed in the United States on April 28, 2021

Great shoe. Minimal feel. Snug fit as per New Balance

The media could not be loaded.  Shoe fit as expected for New Balance. I am a size 15 narrow B. The standard width runs narrow in New Balance shoes. The shoe fits like a glove. I like the minimal feel to the shoes. Shoes are lightweight. I wear socks in mine although they are designed to be worn without socks. I use mine for weightlifting and put them to the test with a leg workout. They passed and survived heavy leg press, heavy hip press, calf raises and also the stair master and treadmill. Legs and feet felt great after without any shin splints, soreness or pain. Great shoe. Highly recommend.

Reviewed in the United States on September 27, 2021
New Balance Men's Minimus TR V1 Cross Trainer, Black/Outerspace/White, 10.5 Wide*
  • Midsole with full rubber coverage delivers added cushioning for enhanced comfort and impressive support
  • Mesh upper designed for a lightweight feel and enhanced airflow
  • Underfoot rubber for unmatched traction and a stable base

New Balance Men’s Minimus Tr V1 Cross Trainer – FAQ

If I typically wear 9.5 W men for workout shoes, should i get these in 10.5 W?

I bought the same size I always by in new balance shoes. I did not go any larger and the fit great for workout shoes. I wear them on a mat for indoor training. I do not wear them outside. Hope this helps.

Where are these manufactured?

Vietnam

How do these compare to the old style new balance minimus?

I hate the new minimus shoes. Every time they change the shoes have gotten more un comfortable

New Balance Men's Minimus TR V1 Cross Trainer, Black/Outerspace/White, 10.5 Wide*
  • Midsole with full rubber coverage delivers added cushioning for enhanced comfort and impressive support
  • Mesh upper designed for a lightweight feel and enhanced airflow
  • Underfoot rubber for unmatched traction and a stable base

*If you buy a product through one of these links, I will receive a small commission from the seller. There are no additional costs for you, and you support my work on this site. To learn more read here. Thank you and Feel Grounded. Dirk