New Balance Women’s 1400 V6 Running Shoe – Review

New Balance Women’s 1400 V6 Running Shoe – Product characteristics

  • 50% Synthetic, 50% Mesh
  • Imported
  • Rubber sole
  • Barefoot friendly internal construction
  • Blown rubber outsole
  • Breathable air mesh
  • No-sew material application
  • Synthetic/mesh upper
New Balance Women's 1400 V6 Running Shoe, Neo Crimson/Neo Flame, 5
407 Reviews
New Balance Women's 1400 V6 Running Shoe, Neo Crimson/Neo Flame, 5*
  • Barefoot friendly internal construction
  • Blown rubber outsole
  • Breathable air mesh

New Balance Women’s 1400 V6 Running Shoe – Reviews

Still love the fit but not the changes

I have two pair of the previous version of this shoe and liked them a lot; however, there are two small changes that I don’t like. One is that the tongue went from lightly padded to not padded. This might not be a problem except that it is longer, which means the end of it rubs against the front of my ankle, causing chafing in a place I’ve never experienced with a shoe before. The other is that the material on the inside of the shoe is lighter and within two weeks there was a hole wearing through at the top of my big toe. Usually this takes a couple months to happen, when my shoes are getting close to the end of their (running) life.I still love how lightweight these are and the fact that they are slightly wider, which fits my foot better. But like so many shoe changes I wish they had left a couple things alone, as these were not an improvement at all.

Reviewed in the United States on August 21, 2018

Terrible Runner

I have 5 pairs of 1400 because I love them so much so I buy them in different colors when they come out and I keep them for when I need a new pair. This. Is. Not. Them. I don’t know what shoe this is but it fits nothing like a normal 1400. It has no cushioning underneath, it is hard, looser than the other ones and the tongue is thin and literally cut into my ankle on the first run. I can’t use it so it is a complete waste of money. Don’t buy this if you are wanting a comfortable run show.

Reviewed in the United States on December 29, 2018

Not on par

I have been a loyal New Balance customer and am willing to spend the extra money because they are so comfortable and are roomy enough for my orthodics. This pair, not the case. I hate these shoes! They run small, are not deep enough so I can’t use my inserts and they also stink. Don’t get these shoes, THEY SUCK! So disappointed.

Reviewed in the United States on April 12, 2020

Long time 1400v wearer unhappy

I have been wearing this style of New Balance for around 6 years. I just buy a new color every 6 months or so. I bought the maroon and orange color and wore them for 1 month and the top of the toe started to get rubbed. I have had them for 2 months and the toes have totally rubbed a hole in the top. This pair has no rubber coating around the front at all. I am really disappointed in the quality of this version. I would not reccommend the 1400v6 to anyone.

Reviewed in the United States on February 25, 2019

Dramatic wear with only 100 miles

I have run in all versions of the 1400. V1 was the best by far, with V2-3 not far behind. But with V4, 5, and 6 the quality just went downhill. With V1-3 I probably put on nearly 500 miles on each with expected wear on the treads and little to no wear on the top. With V4-6 after 100 miles the tread looks as though I have run 500 miles, and holes developed in mesh tops on both the left and right shoe. Definitely not going to buy the 1400 again.

Reviewed in the United States on May 12, 2019

Great trainer and dupe for Mizuno Hitogami Wave

Was trying to find a replacement for mixing wave hitogami trainers for long distance running and found that this shoe was a good replacement. So far, I love them. The rise is good for a distance trainer with enough cushioning to not feel ridges on the road but not so much that it changes my foot strike.I’ve never used the 1400 before so can’t comment on the quality as compared to previous production years, but I love this shoe so far as a good mid to long distance trainer.

Reviewed in the United States on June 18, 2020

Not for small feet

I used to love the 1400s but over the years they have changed too much and there isn’t enough consistency from year to year. This pair is cut too high at the ankle and is rubbing my ankle. Since I liked the fit and styling everywhere else, I kept them and have cut out some of the shoe around the ankle to get a better fit for my foot. I covered the cut shoe with moleskin. It’s better but still not perfect. I may eventually go with a different insole.

Reviewed in the United States on April 17, 2019

Already falling apart

I really loved these sneakers at first – very light weight, comfortable, stylish and supportive. I’ve really enjoyed running in these for the time being. However, within 2 months of owning them, I noticed the back heel was “splitting” out of nowhere along the seam (see photos). Really disappointed with the quality, as I love NB sneakers and was excited to wear these for months to come.

Reviewed in the United States on October 10, 2018
New Balance Women's 1400 V6 Running Shoe, Neo Crimson/Neo Flame, 5
407 Reviews
New Balance Women's 1400 V6 Running Shoe, Neo Crimson/Neo Flame, 5*
  • Barefoot friendly internal construction
  • Blown rubber outsole
  • Breathable air mesh

New Balance Women’s 1400 V6 Running Shoe – FAQ

Is New Balance still making these or is there a replacement option?

You can find them at Running Warehouse in select sizes, you might also try Joe’s New Balance outlet.

Are the insoles removeable? Are the shoes suitable for orthotics?

Yes the insoles are removable. I use orthodics in all my running shoes. I have used both superfeet and powerstep in these shoes. They are very light weight but well cushioned.

Can you get new balance to listen to their customers on this shoe?… people want the revlite 1400 back… maybe they will listen to you.

I also wish they would bring the 1400 relite back. Maybe we need to start a petition.

New Balance Women's 1400 V6 Running Shoe, Neo Crimson/Neo Flame, 5
407 Reviews
New Balance Women's 1400 V6 Running Shoe, Neo Crimson/Neo Flame, 5*
  • Barefoot friendly internal construction
  • Blown rubber outsole
  • Breathable air mesh

*If you buy a product through one of these links, I will receive a small commission from the seller. There are no additional costs for you, and you support my work on this site. To learn more read here. Thank you and Feel Grounded. Dirk