New Balance Women’s 1540 V3 Running Shoe – Review

New Balance Women’s 1540 V3 Running Shoe – Product characteristics

  • 50% Synthetic/50% Mesh
  • Imported
  • Rubber sole
  • Premium Performance Running Shoes: The 1540v3 Running Shoe is crafted with premium materials and technologies for discerning consumers who are serious about athletic style and performance
  • Cushioned Support: The ENCAP midsole technology in these cushioned running shoes combines lightweight foam with a polyurethane rim to help deliver all-day support and impressive durability
  • Built for Stability: These comfortable running shoes feature a ROLLBAR stability post system designed to control rear-foot movement for enhanced support with every stride
  • Sleek and Stylish: Your feet are sure to look as good as they feel in the stylish and breathable uppers of these premium running shoes, made of mesh and synthetic materials
  • As of April 2021, the 1540v3 will no longer be produced in the United States.
New Balance Women's 1540 V3 Running Shoe, Silver/Polaris, 8
1,979 Reviews
New Balance Women's 1540 V3 Running Shoe, Silver/Polaris, 8*
  • Premium Performance Running Shoes: The 1540v3 Running Shoe is crafted with premium materials and technologies for discerning consumers who are serious about athletic style and performance
  • Cushioned Support: The ENCAP midsole technology in these cushioned running shoes combines lightweight foam with a polyurethane rim to help deliver all-day support and impressive durability
  • Built for Stability: These comfortable running shoes feature a ROLLBAR stability post system designed to control rear-foot movement for enhanced support with every stride

New Balance Women’s 1540 V3 Running Shoe – Reviews

I was sent USED and WORN Shoes!

If I could do zero stars I would.I ordered these shoes for a gift for someone. I received them today and upon opening up the shoes, they are very worn and have a hole in the top of one of the shoes. When purchasing, I was lead to believe that these were brand new shoes.

Reviewed in the United States on November 12, 2019

Problems confirmed by my shoe guy!

I’ve worn NB motion control shoes for years, and have professionally made orthotics. This was the first pair I’ve had fit issues with.I wear a 9 narrow, but when I put my orthotics in, there wasn’t enough room for my foot – literally.I sent them back and went to a shoe store (privately owned with people who are trained in shoe types, not mall chain).The owner confirmed the following:- This shoe is more narrow than in prior years.- It’s also not as deep as it has been, the leather ones are much deeper.The tongue is shorter BUT when I tried the regular (vs narrow) it wasn’t too short.I was able to use the last hole without problems to keep my heel secure until the new shoe/orthotic duo works itself out.I don’t remember seeing any other reviews that mention this so… The laces are several inches shorter than normal, so be prepared to buy another set if small bows don’t work for you.**Update**The laces have stretched substantially since I started wearing these on a daily basis (Surprising and odd, but true!), and now they’re more of a “normal” length, so maybe give it some time before you go out and buy new ones.I saw the review with the used/nasty shoe, that’s foul!Mine were new. The tags were still on, they were clean, and there was no wear at all.4 stars since it’s a good shoe once I got the right fit (M, not narrow).

Reviewed in the United States on April 29, 2020

Buyer BEWARE!

I have bought New Balance shoes for years! This pair is the WORST. I have had them exactly 1 month and there is a hole in the top / front near the seam. The mesh seems very thin. I am VERY DISAPPOINTED for $180.00 I certainly expected better than this from New Balance. I checked to see if I could return them and that is not an option, I received them 6/3 and today is 7/6. Bummed!

Reviewed in the United States on July 6, 2020

Never again!

In spite of the fact that the last pair I had developed a hole in the toe Box, I still bought a second pair. Today exactly 9 days past their return date I noticed a little hole developing again. Something has happened to the quality , I will have to find a new brand of shoes. I don’t recommend these, unless you inspect them carefully, very carefully, so as to be able to return them if you see even the slightest little tear in time to get a new pair.PS. Amazon has agreed to give me a full refund and I am returning this pair Of new balance 1540. Thank you Amazon

Reviewed in the United States on October 4, 2020

New Balance the Only Shoe I Buy

30 years… 30 years of New Balance Wides….it’s the only shoe for me.The higher the numbers usually the more stability… more pronation and left to right roll of the foot support as you walk or run….this shoe has great heal and achilles support and a wide strong base for my big foot and tall frame :)Notice a slight change in left and right side of balm area….hoping the support for when my foot rolls left to right is still there when I go walking later. My 1260’s had a support on the left and right side area….couldn’t find any of these in my size so bought these 1540’s. Definitely more support in the ankle and achilles area with these…thank you. If you are looking for a great shoe and great design for comfort on the bottom you could try the 1080’s…I have these in several colors….great for going to the store and kicking around town but go with a higher level like this 1540’s or 1260’s for more sturdy stability side to side long hours of walking and running. Thank you New Balance for once again designing a great shoe.

Reviewed in the United States on February 28, 2021

Shoe doesn’t last

I have only had these shoes for 3 1/2 months and the material is falling apart. The heel has torn where it rubs a blister and the outside of the shoe has a hole in the material. I am VERY dissapointed in these shoes. I only wear them to workout so I don’t even wear them for more than 1 hr a day.

Reviewed in the United States on August 13, 2020

The only shoe I wear!

I have worn this shoe or a previous version of it since 2015. I have severe over pronation and flat feet. I also have prescription insoles I use with these shoes. I love them, especially the navy blue color!

Reviewed in the United States on December 13, 2019

Great shoes

Shoes are comfortable, been wearing them every day since they arrived, usually a few hours, buying groceries, running errands, etc. No problems at all, I have some balance problems. Having stable shoes helps keep me from falling.

Reviewed in the United States on January 5, 2022
New Balance Women's 1540 V3 Running Shoe, Silver/Polaris, 8
1,979 Reviews
New Balance Women's 1540 V3 Running Shoe, Silver/Polaris, 8*
  • Premium Performance Running Shoes: The 1540v3 Running Shoe is crafted with premium materials and technologies for discerning consumers who are serious about athletic style and performance
  • Cushioned Support: The ENCAP midsole technology in these cushioned running shoes combines lightweight foam with a polyurethane rim to help deliver all-day support and impressive durability
  • Built for Stability: These comfortable running shoes feature a ROLLBAR stability post system designed to control rear-foot movement for enhanced support with every stride

New Balance Women’s 1540 V3 Running Shoe – FAQ

What is the difference between a 1540v3 compared to just a 1540?

This is the third Version of the 1540. You can tell the Version by the last number. V3 means all of the different colors which make up Version 3. For example the picture is on the W1540MB3 (Marblehead and Blue). The original was called the W1540, the next generation was V2 or Version 2 and we are currently up to Version 3. Larry from A Perfect Dealer 877-463-9225 if you have any other questions.

Are these brand new shoes that have come directly from the usa new balance manufacturer? thank you.

You should only purchase shoes from a site that has an address and a phone number. If you can’t easily find the address, you shouldn’t shop from that site. Larry from A Perfect Dealer (and New Balance North Jersey, so you know all our shoes are genuine).

1590 compared to 1540?

I own several New Balance shoe stores. There is no 1590, I’m sure you mean the 990. The 1540 is our best stability shoe with a stiff sole and a wide toe box. The 990 has great support and the best cushioning of all the shoes but doesn’t run as wide at the 1540 and doesn’t have the ROLLBARs which offer the best support, best is still a support shoe. Larry Gershberg, A Perfect Dealer

I need to know which wide width corresponds with 2 E

New balance comes in wide widths… that’s also why I like this brand… I have a D width sometimes single E width foot and order the extra wide … there is a little room left in the toe area but that’s ok because sometimes my feet swell…. not sure about double E fit… however Amazon is a great to shop…have you tried the extra wide width? My grandmother was a double EE width and her favorite shoe was SAS … she had them in several colors…Amazon customer service will allow you to return the shoe if it does not fit….good luck

Is the 2 XX wide a 4E?

In men’s a wide would be 2E and a extra Wide would be 4E m.

Looking for 1540 women’s 9D navy

I only know the 1540 for adults

Do these come in a high top? Or is there anything like it in a hight top with the roll bar?

I don’t think that they do. The shoe comes just under the ankle bone on the sides but higher on the back of the foot. I looked on the new balance website and I don’t see them in a high top. I order from Amazon because I can usually always get my shoes. New balance most of the time doesn’t have my size which is a common size 8 1/2. The new balance inventory is very limited. I always get the rollbar but I interchange between the men’s and the women’s shoe. That also helps with availability. It fits the same. The wide width in a woman’s is a D in the men’s it’s a 2EE. The rollbar has saved me from twisting my ankle on multiple occasions.

Do you have laces for 1540SG

No. Just what came with the shoes.

What is the heel height?

From a flat surface to the top of the white band at the heel is 2”

What is the length of the laces for these shoes? these shoes are no longer made in the states. Would like to hear from NB

I bought 40″ to replace the originals. Original laces so long I had to double knot them so that I wouldn’t step on the ends. The upper part of my foot is not thick.

New Balance Women's 1540 V3 Running Shoe, Silver/Polaris, 8
1,979 Reviews
New Balance Women's 1540 V3 Running Shoe, Silver/Polaris, 8*
  • Premium Performance Running Shoes: The 1540v3 Running Shoe is crafted with premium materials and technologies for discerning consumers who are serious about athletic style and performance
  • Cushioned Support: The ENCAP midsole technology in these cushioned running shoes combines lightweight foam with a polyurethane rim to help deliver all-day support and impressive durability
  • Built for Stability: These comfortable running shoes feature a ROLLBAR stability post system designed to control rear-foot movement for enhanced support with every stride

*If you buy a product through one of these links, I will receive a small commission from the seller. There are no additional costs for you, and you support my work on this site. To learn more read here. Thank you and Feel Grounded. Dirk