TOMS Canvas Classics – Review

TOMS Canvas Classics – Product characteristics

  • cotton-blend
  • Rubber sole
  • TOMS Classic Alpargata styling
  • Elastic gore for easy fit
  • Textile uppers

TOMS Canvas Classics – Reviews

Swindled by ‘Some Random Seller’

The shoes I received were not up to par compared to Toms I’ve bought in the past. There were messy threads and the heels were super stiff. They were true to size but very uncomfortable. The difference in quality and comfort was more than can be attributed to ‘worn in’ shoes compared to new ones. I don’t know if they were knock-offs or not but had to return them.Note: I’ve never questioned the authenticity of any shoes (and I’ve bought a lot!) purchased on Amazon and SOLD by Amazon, Zappos, etc. I purchased these on Amazon, the purchase was fulfilled by Amazon, and even though it was Amazon Prime, the SELLER wasn’t Amazon. In the future I’ll use caution when buying something (especially shoes!) that says “Sold by ‘Seller Name’ and Fulfilled by Amazon”. FYI this info is usually shown near the Add to Cart button.

Reviewed in the United States on August 22, 2020

NO REAL TOMS

I have real Tom’s and they are a size 9 (my foot size) they also don’t say made in China on the inside shoe. The ones I got here say made in China in the shoe and are definitely not a size 9 as I can barely get my foot in them. Will be returning on THEIR dine or will call the bank to fight the charge for bogus TOMS!

Reviewed in the United States on April 30, 2020

I got real TOMS

I feel awful for those that received knockoffs. I got real black on black TOMs for $30! I feel lucky! I have very wide peasant feet ( think short even length toes with a wide forefoot and skinny heel) that go between a 6.5 and 7. I also have a high arch and a ridiculously high instep(top of the foot) from a decade of pointe work in ballet. Some shoes just don’t work for my foot. These are borderline almost unwearable. I love them, they could be comfortable but the toe box squishes my toes to the point of making them go numb after 30 minutes. That’s no good. I have stuffed them to stretch them and the left shoe is perfect now. But my right foot is more muscular and defined than the left and it still has some stretching to do. The other issue I have is that this shoe just by design has a very slippery bottom. I ordered a size 7 to try and account for the narrower width and it will work once I get it more broken in but I could have gone with a 6.5 but I worry that it would have been even more squishy in the toe area. The very first time you wear them you will hate it. Wide foot or not. It’s scratchy and uncomfortable. I am not put off by TOMS just yet. I love the company mission and once broken in, the comfort and style of them. But I do wish they considered making them for wider feet so the dance of them shoe break in wasn’t so extravagant. I’m almost reminded of breaking in pointe shoes. A dancers bane.

Reviewed in the United States on August 28, 2020

If they’re fake, they sure fooled me!!

I read some of the reviews about these being fake but I also read lots of great reviews too. So I decided to take a chance and try them out because they can easily be returned if I’m not satisfied. I am so glad I took that chance because these are perfect! I got lucky. I compared them to other TOMS that were purchased directly through their website and they seem to be real. If they’re not real, they did a good job fooling me and I’m okay with that. This review isn’t to invalidate people with negative experiences here, only to say that I think I was one of the lucky ones because these are GREAT! I recommend buying them. If they turn out to to be sucky for you, return them and get your money back. 🤷🏻‍♀️

Reviewed in the United States on March 2, 2021

How do they smell so FAST

I wore these on an eight day trip to Mexico City. I had worn them only once prior to the trip to make sure they wouldn’t give me blister. The fit was just right. It was the dry season, so the shoes never got wet or rained upon. It was winter, so the weather never really got above 75 degrees. So no excessive sweating per se, no moisture from the environment. Yet these shoes managed to smell so horrible at the end of the trip that I considered leaving them in the trash at my AirBnB. These are my first pair of Tom’s and they were passable other than the stench. I know sweat is human and please believe me when I say I am not a squeamish person – I use natural deodorant for gosh sakes, I feel that smelling to a certain extent is acceptable. This was… beyond that extent. I packed them in my carryon to save my seatmates on the plane. So I guess consider that before purchase?

Reviewed in the United States on February 22, 2019

Fake Toms…

So I should have listened to everyone else’s reviews but I guess for some reason I thought I would get lucky. Well I was definitely wrong. I received fake Toms. The label and the slogan inside the shoe wasn’t even the same. It was honestly upsetting and the soles were not sewn in, they were actually falling out when I received them. If I wanted knock off shoes I could’ve easily bought them but I love the Toms brand and really thought I was getting a good deal. They came large as well but I threw them in the wash and am just going to wear them since I already spent all that money. However, I would recommend if you really want a pair of Toms shoes, go directly to a store or buy them directly from Toms to avoid anything like this happening.

Reviewed in the United States on November 15, 2019

Love these!

I was so nervous about getting these, I took them in and out of the cart like seven times before buying. When I got them they arrived in a Toms box, not a bag like some people have showed here on the reviews. The inserts are really comfortable and Toms tags are sewed right so I believe they are the real thing and not a knock off. When I first got them i felt like they were really tight and putting them on took some effort but after giving them – chance over two weeks they have really stretched to the size. So my advice would be to not be annoyed or worried about it and just try them before returning and to get the half size and not the next size up because they are made from canvas and that fabric stretches once used regularly so if you got a larger size in a week or two of use they would most likely be too large. Hope this was helpful!

Reviewed in the United States on February 22, 2020

Comfort

So comfortable! True to size. Picture is showing the already a little beat up but I literally wear them to run errands, work he yard, you name it.

Reviewed in the United States on July 22, 2018

TOMS Canvas Classics – FAQ

Do the sizes run big?

Absolutely run big–I wear a size 8 and since I had read previous comments about these running big, I ordered a 7 1/2. The 7 1/2 was also too large (not just in length, but also the heel area and the sides of the shoes had a gap as well. Returned the 7 1/2 and ordered a 7. The 7 fit better, but they were a bit short. I’ve read a few comments saying they stretch out after a while, but I decided to return. I guess I just don’t have a foot for Toms shoes.

Can you confirm whether or not the sizes are men or women?

Women size, even though I ordered men, because I need 10.5 women’s and they don’t make that size. Bought twice, both didn’t fot

Are these women’s or men’s shoes? title says “women’s” but description says “men’s”.

I received a men’s size. Super bummed because the description says womens and I ordered them for an event and I would not get the replacement in time.

What company does the shoes ship? ups, fedex, or usps

Hi, thank you for contacting us. It does ship by UPS or USPS. Please contact us if there are any additional questions. Thank you

Are the insoles removable so I can put in my orthodic inserts?

I easily removed the insoles and replaced with orthotic inserts. I bought the Ash color in Oct 2015.

Are these shoes vegan? I bought some once that seemed to have a leather insert so I would like to be sure.

It have a leather insert very comfortable shoe I like it

how do you clean white Tom’s canvas shoes?

I have a kit for just this purpose. It’s called Cure, made by Crep. It says Crep Cure on the box. It’s like soap that doesn’t have to be rinsed. You just apply it and then brush it off. I don’t have white Tom’s, but it works on all my other Tom’s.

If these are women shoes, why does it say mens in the description?

They are mens, they are not women’s shoes. TOMS canvas shoes look very similar when looking at mens and women’s but the size inside the shoe will say “W” or “M” next to the size it is to differentiate

What size are these?

Without looking? I’ll guess 4 and a quarter. How’d I do? but there is a drop down menu for available sizes

Can It Be Washed In Washing Machine?

Yes but put them into a delicate bag to wash. I take the insoles out and place them separately in the bag. Wash with cold water gentle cycle.

*If you buy a product through one of these links, I will receive a small commission from the seller. There are no additional costs for you, and you support my work on this site. To learn more read here. Thank you and Feel Grounded. Dirk