Vibram Five Fingers Women’s Classic Shoe – Review

Vibram Five Fingers Women’s Classic Shoe – Product characteristics

  • Textile
  • Imported
  • Rubber sole
  • Shaft measures approximately low-top from arch
  • Vegan
  • Machine Wash Cold / Air Dry
Vibram Five Fingers Women's Classic Shoe (37 EU/6.5-7 US, Black/Black)*
  • Quick drying lightweight stretch upper
  • Vibram xs trek performance rubber sole
  • Designed for a superb glove-like fit

Vibram Five Fingers Women’s Classic Shoe – Reviews

This newbie barefoot enthusiast loves these shoes!

These are my first pair of five fingers and I absolutely love them! There are instructions to wearing them for good reason. Since the shoes go on like a toes sock, it splays the toes a little. If worn too long starting out, your toes will feel sore, like they had a workout. Not a pleasant feeling. I had also switched to going mostly barefoot before buying these.I have had foot problems for 5 years. When I buy shoes, I buy them with what is best for my foot’s comfort and health. I have always been interested in barefoot shoes, and tried a pair of barefoot sandals a while back with little success.With regular shoes, when I step in a hole unexpectedly, I wind up twisting or spraining my ankle. I have a better sense of balance with the five fingers. I can still stumble, but I have found I get my balance back quicker in these. In normal shoes when I walk up a hill, my feet slip and slide in the shoe, in these shoes I use my entire foot to give me stability while walking up a hill. I thought all these years I was clumsy and had bad balance. Turns out it was bad shoes.I have a tilted pelvis, from an old injury, and it affects my gate. My one complaint, which isn’t really the shoes fault, is that my right foot has worn down the little bit of rubber on the ball of the shoe in 2 months of daily use. But like I said, that has more to do with my hips and right foot.The only real con of this style of shoe is that they aren’t good for jobs where you have to stand for long hours or walk on concrete. But I think they’d be great for office jobs and delivery driver jobs.

Reviewed in the United States on September 27, 2020

Safety issues major concern

Pretty good price. Quick delivery. Excellent product if wearing like other Vibrams from 5 years ago. These are my favorite Vibrams and I’ve never lost my balance in them. I sprint around the 500 congressional offices in DC, wade in the backyard creek, navigate steep stairs, exercise at the gym, and look forward to never breaking my 76 year old hip. Snow and ice are a challenge to stay warm and non-slipping but so far so good. Not recommended for web feet or people not enjoying a barefoot feel of motility. Shards of glass and metal points will pierce the sole so watch out when wearing Vibrams. Sharp loose rocks are easier to walk through with Vibrams than with regular boots or shoes. The black color works well with black business suits or even long black skirts and white blouse for opera. Weddings especially in summer are more problematical. Other styles than Vibram Classics might work.

Reviewed in the United States on November 21, 2016

Amazing Shoes!

Amazing shoes! So very comfortable! They fit true to size – They are supposed to be snug on your feet. I wear an 8.5-9 and I wear size 41 in most Vibrams. The Classic does require a break-in period. I am not a runner, I wear these at work where I am on my feet 8-10 hours at a time. With that said, the first thing I did was cut the cord. Yes, I did! I don’t need it, and I don’t like the floppy tag hanging in the back. The best way to break in a pair of Vibram Classic is to invert the heel! This stretches the rubber at the rear of the foot so that there is no pressure on the back of the heel. I inverted them and left them that way for a couple of days. Works like magic! And my feet, knees and back are happy!

Reviewed in the United States on June 7, 2017

I Love them now, let me explain..

These shoes were a lot of work to love. I have other Vibram’s that I adore but these were not one of them I wore these shoes for 1/2 hour the first day and had sore tooties for two days after, almost like they were to small. First the seams cutting into my toes: I had to remedy this by cautiously snipping the extra fabric out of each toe one by one making sure not to ruin the shoe or cut open a seam. This took several attempts putting on and feeling wear they bothered me taking off and snipping more leftover fabric(mostly at the top of the toes). So with that done the shoe still did not feel well, by this time I was wearing them about an hour at a time, my toes woudl be sore, like over worked. I noticed that my toes were not touching the ground when I sat down, they were being pulled up. I tried to remedy this by pulling the draw string to try to loosen it, eventually I had to remove the draw string. With all this done and a good washing I can now say I love the shoe, not sure I would buy it again though because of all the extra time I had to put into making them feel good on my feet.

Reviewed in the United States on July 1, 2016

These are both great and incredibly annoying

These are both great and incredibly annoying. I’m going to go 5 stars because they are exactly what they are supposed to be, and very well made. Most of the problems are my own — a terrible bad heel from plantar fasciitis, and toes that simply don’t like to separate and go into their respective compartments. It’s a struggle to get them on, and I have to pad the rear sides to keep my heel from aching. The theory, that more “natural” movement of my foot will help heal it, is a suggestion from my PT, and I’m game to wear them a few hours a day and try it. The ‘well’ foot loves them, and I wish mightily that both could be as happy.

Reviewed in the United States on November 15, 2017

Shoes corroded after wears to the beach 👣 🏝

Shoes corroded after wears to the beach 👣 🏝 Love & treasured these shoes so much that I can count on my toes how many times I’ve worn them. Unfortunately, during my last trip to the beach the shoes fell apart. They were so comfortable & cool. Perfect for land or water. But lived a life just as short as the money I spent to purchase them. So sad & disappointed that the soles separated. I recommend these shoes with caution ⚠️ You don’t wanna end up broke & barefoot 🦶 on the beach. Wishing you well in your decision to make a purchase. Happy Shopping 🛍 Be Safe & Stay Healthy 💛

Reviewed in the United States on January 24, 2022

maybe not for half size folks

I have many Vibram styles most in 39 a few 38. Sadly this style doesn’t work for me. First order the 39 as comments stated to size up and they were too loose and toes had too much space in front. Just received my 38, so excited…and bummer they are too tight and my big toe hurts with no room on front of the toes….ugh!! .. really like the style and they are comfy. I’m usually a size 7 reg shoes/heels, 7.5/8 in running shoes. Price was great too. BUT If u wear socks than a 39 should be fine. Sadly will return.

Reviewed in the United States on October 12, 2018
Vibram Five Fingers Women's Classic Shoe (37 EU/6.5-7 US, Black/Black)*
  • Quick drying lightweight stretch upper
  • Vibram xs trek performance rubber sole
  • Designed for a superb glove-like fit

Vibram Five Fingers Women’s Classic Shoe – FAQ

I understand folks are having issues with the toe part being too tight. Is this still the case with those of you that purchased recently in 2020?

I’ve not found that to be true. I purchased two new pairs recently, one, the hemp, definitely requires ‘breaking in’ for an extended period, so that it stretches a bit, before it becomes ready for everyday wear. My old hemp is the same size, and super comfortable, but getting shabby. I also purchased some wool blend tie shoes, which were perfectly comfortable first wearing. In neither case has the toe room been inadequate.

What size is a 40?

European Women size 40 – same as US size 9 European Men size 40 – same as US size 7 Hope this helps!

Can they be used for yoga?

I don’t see why not. They’re flexible, comfortable, provide traction and since the toes spread, I imagine poses would be stable. Don’t do yoga myself – no sense of balance which is why I wear these toe shoes. I don’t fall hardly at all any more and I used to with frightening regularity.

I am a 10 or 10.5 does this vibram come that size for women?

Because I work with feet and shoes, if you cannot find a WOMAN’S shoe size, think 2 sizes shorter and look into a boy’s or man’s sized shoe. You will need to do some experimenting with sizing anyway as you get used to this style of shoe. Your lower leg (which is where movement comes from in the foot) can take up to 3 weeks to relax into this shoe (most folks aren’t wearing a proper length shoe or style these days).

Can you wear these in water?

you can definitely wear these in water but you may want to look at the vibram kso (or one similar) as I think these may come off accidentally because they don’t go further up the foot. Hope this helps

Can these be used as water shoes?

Yes. I would have liked to have them when I took aqua gym classes in the past, they would have been perfect. But I do take them to the beach. I wash them in the washer but never put them in the drier. I bought my first pair in 2012 and at the beginning of this year after a lot of hiking the interior began to crack a bit. The exterior was still perfect. Although I have bought other models these are my favorites so I replaced them with same color and model. These are the most comfortable pair of shoes I ever bought. And I love shoes and wear good brands (Ecco or Clarks).

Are these comfortable for the soles of your feet ?

I did not care for this particular pair. I love the Alitzas. They are comfortable if you like being barefoot

Are these waterproof and can i use them for sup paddleboarding?

These are not waterproof but they dry fast. The rubber sole has a good grip. This model was the first pair I bought in 2012. I already bought the same model again although the first one is still wearable. I also love “Women’s Vi-b Cross-Trainer Shoe” that perhaps you can wear for paddle boarding in summer https://www.amazon.com/Vibram-Womens-VI-B-Cross-Trainer-Nightshade/dp/B01H8PQX2S/ref=sr_1_26?crid=215COAGD88IA5&keywords=vibram+five+fingers+women&qid=1565013384&s=gateway&sprefix=vibram+%2Caps%2C190&sr=8-26

Vibram Five Fingers Women's Classic Shoe (37 EU/6.5-7 US, Black/Black)*
  • Quick drying lightweight stretch upper
  • Vibram xs trek performance rubber sole
  • Designed for a superb glove-like fit

*If you buy a product through one of these links, I will receive a small commission from the seller. There are no additional costs for you, and you support my work on this site. To learn more read here. Thank you and Feel Grounded. Dirk