Vibram FiveFingers Men’s Classic Trainer – Review

Vibram FiveFingers Men’s Classic Trainer – Product characteristics

  • 100% Polyamide
  • Imported
  • Rubber sole
  • Quick drying lightweight stretch upper
  • Vibrio XS Trek performance rubber sole
  • Designed for a superb glove-like fit
  • 10th Anniversary Limited Edition
  • Padded collar and topline for great comfort
Vibram Men's Classic-M Running Shoe, Black, 9.5-10 M US*
  • Quick drying lightweight stretch upper
  • Vibrio XS Trek performance rubber sole
  • Designed for a superb glove-like fit

Vibram FiveFingers Men’s Classic Trainer – Reviews

… is my second pair of five fingers and I love them! I exclusively use them for outdoor activities …

This is my second pair of five fingers and I love them! I exclusively use them for outdoor activities like hiking, running, climbing, kayaking, etc. For me there is nothing better. I absolutely LOVE how light weight and tough they are while providing more dexterity than any other footwear! The only issue I have with this model is the upper cloth. It doesn’t hold up to high abrasion like skateboarding lol. My first pair were full leather and were indestructible! But for whatever reason they stopped producing that model 😥. The only other word of warning is that they get gross fast! I wash them with laundry detergent often and they still get nasty AF in now time! But still, in my opinion these are unparalleled in versatility as far as footwear goes. I highly recommend them and will absolutely buy again!

Reviewed in the United States on March 6, 2017

Pretty bummed about these

I’m no stranger to VFF and barefoot, but these killed me…they’re so different from my other VFFs (KSO, KMD sport, even the VI-S) I wonder if I’ve gotten fakes. I should have sent them back the minute I first tried them on: they felt funny/different than my other VFFs under the metatarsal area. One afternoon outing on the river/ocean with some hiking, fishing, kayaking and just general outdoor play left me with a nasty case of metatarsalgia and plantar fasciitis that I’m still healing over a month later. I spend my career on my feet and go out of my way to take care of them, so shoes that hurt them are things I will not tolerate. Pretty bummed about these, I had high hopes.

Reviewed in the United States on February 24, 2018

Your feet have been craddled…

I’ve been wearing these everyday since their arrival nearly a week ago and I have been getting used to them. I put them to the test during a day of shopping and if you aren’t used to walking on concrete for hours nearly barefoot…these will definitely show you how spoiled your feet have been in regular shoes with foam and such. I have to tell myself that these shoes are for the betterment of my feet’s health so wear them as much as I can and so far…so good. I’ll keep you updated.

Reviewed in the United States on June 13, 2020

Wants Top Dollar; Sells KNOCK OFF BS! REFUND? Expect a gift card to force more low quality shopping.

I hav 20+ pairs in the same size of VIBRAM 5 Fingers. Ive been wearing these shoes to train and hike for 10+ years. This was the first time I had to send a pair back. I paid for it on my AMAZON CC, and it was refunded in a gift card? What’s a Joke AMAZON and its Chinese Merchandise are becoming. BUYER BEWARE of falsely branded items, and the way your hard earned money is refunded. AMAZON has suckered people into believing there are little to no options in small town America; only to bring in Not So Quality items at VERY EXPENSIVE price points. And when its not kosher for the smart. minded individual, youre gift carded to have to return…. What an utter disappointment

Reviewed in the United States on May 28, 2022

Slipping and Gripping in the Old Growth Forest of the Olympic Mountains

Yoish! I do a lot of bare sole running in the Olympic mountains and though for years i have used moccasins. I have finally got around to exploring the five fingers. I find this style amazing. One of the problems that i have in footing my bare soles through the old growth rain forest is that things get a bit slippery, even with mocks. These give me enough grip that allow me to move through the forest and on the glacial river beds as if i had tree sap on my soles. I have a very wide and flat foot and these fit perfectly. I feel they are very good for shifting and shaping the toes out of toe squeeze which happens with other kinds of shoes.mick dodge

Reviewed in the United States on May 18, 2016

I really wanted to like these but…

Let me start by saying I have been wearing VFF’s for years now. One of the shoes I owned which I absolutely love are the original KSO’s. I wanted an uber minimal shoe to wear during the winter with pants because wearing regular VFF’s with pants, IMO looks retarded.When I ordered these I was stoked only to be disappointed when they arrived. They just don’t feel fitted like all of my other VFF’s have. The kind of feel like they are going to fall off. I thought if I tightened them it would help and it did, immensely, BUT seeing as how the cinching system works by going all around the top of your foot, if you pull the cinch to tightly they cut off the circulation to your feet and really dig in, making the shoes quite uncomfortable. I also noticed they are not stable, meaning they don’t really cling on when performing any movements that I usually perform while in my VFF’s, like lunges or jump rope. But the biggest disappointment by far is the cinch in the back itself. When you tighten these so you know they are going to remain planted on your foot, besides cutting off the circulation to your foot, the cinch is 6 inches long and dangles on the floor with the only remedy being to tuck them into the shoe.I’m sorry, but I am not willing to put up with this for the life of the shoe especially considering with my KSO’s that have the same sole, lasted a good 8 months before holes developed, I will not go that same amount of time tucking the cinch into the back of my shoes.Sad to say but, pass on these, IMO.

Reviewed in the United States on September 12, 2018

Near perfect but didn’t last a year

Having spent my whole life not only bound in the cast of modern shoes but in ill-fitting footwear my entire life, I quickly learned how much feedback and texture I was missing out on and found myself wearing these as my sole source of sole protection for my feet! $60-80/yr in footwear is nothing to complain about but also isn’t the reality unless you live in a relatively dry region. Here in California I’ve managed… for a while. It’s coming up on a year since I’ve had these and I’ve got two holes in them I can no longer ignore.I will buy another pair but they will be used as a primary shoe with a partner if not a secondary shoe to something more appropriate for year round use.Either way these were an awesome experience and the daily reward witnessing more flexibility and muscle toning in my foot was worth it enough to recommend it but only if you can afford it.

Reviewed in the United States on November 11, 2018
Vibram Men's Classic-M Running Shoe, Black, 9.5-10 M US*
  • Quick drying lightweight stretch upper
  • Vibrio XS Trek performance rubber sole
  • Designed for a superb glove-like fit

Vibram FiveFingers Men’s Classic Trainer – FAQ

Is the 10 a 43 in vibram sizing?

I wear a men’s 10 and ordered the 43 vibram and it was a great fit

How are these for running? how do they compare to the kso evo?

I’d recommend the KSO for running, the classics for more casual wear. These do fine for a quick jaunt but nothing long distance. They fit more loose on the foot than the KSO.

My size for el-x is 42 and cvt heap is 43. can anyone help me which size should i get for the classic?

They run small and there is no stretch in the toes. I usually wear a 43. They are extremely snug on 1 foot. Next pair I will order 44.

What’s with the new sizing? How do you order a Size 43?

That’s European sizing. There’s probably a size chart showing how to measure your foot in inches to be able to get the correct size.

Did any of the lining in between the toes tear allowing rocks or debris do enter the toe slots?

I’ve never had it tear between the toes before. I’ve managed to tear the top of one once by dragging my toe on cement teeing off at disc golf. With enough wear though, the lining between the toes does eventually wear out. I still haven’t had much debris, if any, enter that way. I’ve worn out the soles over the balls of my feet on a couple pairs of my Vibrams and that does allow debris to enter the shoe.

i do not see the option of selecting the size. how would i do that?

Look at the size chart. Should be there and have a way to measure your foot in inches to get the size in the European sizes.

Would this shoe be suitable for tai chi?

I use this product for low impact high floor contact training. Things such as strength, flexibilty and exercise ball training. While I have not done tai chi from what I have observed it would fit into that category and this would be an appropriate use of the Vibram men’s classic.

Would this shoe be suitable for tai chi?

I would say yes. I wear these all day, every day. When I took Tai Chi in the past I would prefer to do it barefoot although the instructors wanted us to wear shoes. This would be a good alternative.

Is the 10 a 43 in vibram sizing?

I believe it’s the same as the European systtem; a size 11 is a 44, a size 10 is a 42.

Vibram Men's Classic-M Running Shoe, Black, 9.5-10 M US*
  • Quick drying lightweight stretch upper
  • Vibrio XS Trek performance rubber sole
  • Designed for a superb glove-like fit

*If you buy a product through one of these links, I will receive a small commission from the seller. There are no additional costs for you, and you support my work on this site. To learn more read here. Thank you and Feel Grounded. Dirk