Vibram FiveFingers V-Run, Men’s Training Shoes – Review

Vibram FiveFingers V-Run, Men’s Training Shoes – Product characteristics

  • Made in the USA or Imported
  • Rubber sole
  • Weight: M43 = 4.8 oz.
  • Sole Spec: INSOLE: 2mm EVA + Anti-Microbial Drilex Sockliner MIDSOLE: 4mm EVA RUBBER: 2.5mm
  • Upper Material: Polyester Lycra Stretch Mesh + Polyester Microfiber
  • Vegan
  • Machine Wash Cold / Air Dry
Vibram Men's FiveFingers, V-Run Running Shoe Black Yellow 43 M*
  • Perforated fabric mesh upper with Lycra stretch
  • Adjustable bungee laces with toggle closure for a secure fit
  • VI-LITE for the ultimate in lightweight shock absorption and cushioning

Vibram FiveFingers V-Run, Men’s Training Shoes – Reviews

Rubbing me raw

I’ve been wearing vibram five fingers for about 7 years and have never been disappointed until this pair. The shoes are what they state they are, which is good, but my problem is the heel loop. It is almost as if the designed intentionally wanted to rub my Achilles’ tendon raw! The stitching is RIGHT THERE, scratching into you for the duration of the run. I try and flip them backwards, but they only stay put for so long. If Vibram would allow it, I would love to switch these out for a pair of V-trail, from the pictures the back wrap looks like previous versions I’ve had, without nasty stitching.

Reviewed in the United States on May 29, 2018

Comfy, Runs True to Size

Awesome shoes, my favorite Five Fingers for pavement, the gym, and around the house. They have enough padding to let you wear them all day but are thin enough to still feel the ground. I found them to fit true to size, not large as the description states. My feet measure just a bit over 10.5 inches, maybe 10.75 after a long day (I measure 10D at the store, wear 10.5 in most shoes, and wear a 43 in both the V-Trail and Trek Ascent). I ordered a size smaller as the description suggested and they were too short. While they are very stretchy, the 42 was making some of my toes curl and the joints hurt after just a couple minutes of wearing them. I exchanged the 42 for a 43 and the 43 fits perfectly. Most of my toes still hit the end and the shoe doesn’t move around at all when I run. If you have really short toes you might be able to size down (my third and fourth toes are a bit long and were the ones really being scrunched), but Vibram isn’t recommending it, just Amazon for some reason.

Reviewed in the United States on March 20, 2018

Like many people have said before you have to order …

Like many people have said before you have to order a size smaller than usual. Usually I wear 10.5 (44 in European) and I ordered these in 43. Those fit just fine. These are my first five finger shoes and it really changes your running style. I run now much more efficiently, smoother and actually faster. It’s also a fun sensation to actually feel the ground with every step, but it never hurts my feet. The only negative is that I get blisters on my heal where the shoes have this little rig on top. My only solution is to place some flexible band aids there before every run. Hopefully my skin gets more used to the friction there and I won’t need it much longer. Other than that those are the best running shoes I ever had by far, especially because it radically altered my running style for the better. Oh, and my knees don’t hurt anymore.

Reviewed in the United States on April 5, 2018

Best Vibrams for running yet

Size 43 fit my 10.5 US feet perfectly (my 2nd toe is longest and I have a D width). I had been wearing the Bikilas (size 43) with the velcro straps for the last several years (and KSOs before that) and these are definitely a step up. They are noticeably lighter, fit my feet more like a glove, and after a few months still don’t have that FiveFingers funk! Most comfortable Vibrams I’ve ever worn. Wear is as good or better than my Bikilas and I run on asphalt roads. Some people commented about the back being lower near the heel but the fit feels great to me.

Reviewed in the United States on February 25, 2018

Favorite of the Vibrams.

This is my favorite Vibram shoe. Its the most comfortable with the least amount of seams of any Vibram shoe. It fits well and after has been broken in I don’t have any issues with blistering. On the first couple of runs when I have a new shoe, if I forget to bandage my heal I’ll get blisters there after a long run, but that’s a short term issue.This probably isn’t a great shoe if you’re running on a dirt path with a lot of debris; part of the comfort level of the shoe is that the tread is as thin as possible, so if you run on a rock or kick one, you will feel it.Great shoe if you’re into minimalist running on pavement. Buy it.

Reviewed in the United States on June 28, 2017

Size…….

Love the shoes, my foot is exactly 10 and a half inches from heel to biggest toe I bought a 43 and all is well, a little bit of play in the shoe forwards and backwards but it’s to my liking I used to run Barefoot for years and having run for about a half a year back in shoes, I ran one mile in these and my calves were brutally aching for 4 days 🙂 so I do also recommend if you’re not up already on Barefoot Running start back slow so you don’t hurt yourself. It’s a shame that here in Southwest Florida there are no Vibram dealers . Vibrams size varies so much between style of shoe. My only complaint about Vibrams PLEASE GET CONSISTENT…

Reviewed in the United States on July 29, 2018

Acceptable successor to the Bikla

I ordered the same size as my worn-out Biklas, and they fit me the same. Two differences- there seems to be a little more padding in the footbed. Still a barefoot feel, but about 10% less. And, much less material in the upper. (See photo- V-Run on the left, Bikla on the right. They say it makes the shoe more breathable (and they do are a little cooler), but the V-Run seems more cheaply made to me. Still, I am happy with my purchase, but I don’t expect them to last as long as my Biklas. My only real criticism- expensive for a “foot glove”!

Reviewed in the United States on March 19, 2018

If you want your feet to experience freedom, wear Vibram FIVE FINGER shoes!

I’m on my third pair love affair. AreaTrend beat my expectation on delivery by two days. I couldn’t be happier with their service. My friend says the shoes are ugly. I say beauty comes from within. Vibram is changing the world for the better, one sole at a time. BRAVO!

Reviewed in the United States on February 22, 2020
Vibram Men's FiveFingers, V-Run Running Shoe Black Yellow 43 M*
  • Perforated fabric mesh upper with Lycra stretch
  • Adjustable bungee laces with toggle closure for a secure fit
  • VI-LITE for the ultimate in lightweight shock absorption and cushioning

Vibram FiveFingers V-Run, Men’s Training Shoes – FAQ

I have 2 questions. Should the vibram be always used with a five fingures toe socks? Can i use this in winter?

Yes. One should be wearing 5 fingers toe socks too when using VFF shoes. I do not think you can properly wear VFF shoes If you wear normal socks. As for winter, I will suggest you use 5 fingers winter or thicker socks. Injinji does carry such products (Disclaimer: I have nothing to do with Injinj). You may search from the internet for other brands that made 5 fingers tie socks meant for winter.

How much space should be between the end of my longest toe and the end of the shoe?

It is the 3rd pair of those that my husband is using. He runs with them every day, and even uses them for Marathons, Triathlons… His longest toes touches the end of the shoe and it is not a problem… Good luck !

Size Please?

The size is somewhere between a US Men’s 9 and 9.5.

Should I try and size these to fit like a second skin, or do you want a little space between the end of your toes and the shoe?

It should fit like a second skin. They wear in too. But the v runs usually come at a great size to begin with. I had issues with the sizing in the other vibrams until they wore in. I find it helpful to go off European sizes. They have instructions on how to measure your feet and they’re pretty spot on. I was discouraged at first because it seemed like vibrams wouldn’t fit me right but once broken in, they’re excellent. I like all the pairs I have. The v runs had a nonexistent breaking in period though. They were perfect right off the box. If the shoe has space between your front toe, then you won’t have the correct grip and you’ll likely get blister and hot spots and it’ll just feel uncomfortable. Consider what kind of socks you’ll be wearing too or if you’ll go barefoot.

Are these waterproof?

No, the are vented.

Can Vibram V-run be used for training like vibram V-train 2.0?

I use it for my crossfit without any issues,

What happens if you stub your toe?

its called bare foot shoes, imagine what happens when you stub your feet really bare foot, similar consequences happen depending upon how hard you stub, i have been running and walking with them for over 10 years, ran marathons along the way had blisters on one of the feet, i use it as a cross trainer, runningdoc

Is the color as advertised?

I bought the black and yellow and it was the same as the image

What size to choose if the length of the foot is 29 cm?

https://us.vibram.com/fivefingers-sizing-chart.htmlI would suggest a 45, based on the chart- it looks like you’d be between a 45 and 46, and I’d recommend smaller rather than larger.

What size range is an eu 44? All my other five fingers haven’t had us sizes

I am a size 10 and had a previous pair of five fingers that were 43. But in this shoe, I needed a 44.

Vibram Men's FiveFingers, V-Run Running Shoe Black Yellow 43 M*
  • Perforated fabric mesh upper with Lycra stretch
  • Adjustable bungee laces with toggle closure for a secure fit
  • VI-LITE for the ultimate in lightweight shock absorption and cushioning

*If you buy a product through one of these links, I will receive a small commission from the seller. There are no additional costs for you, and you support my work on this site. To learn more read here. Thank you and Feel Grounded. Dirk