Vibram Men’s FiveFingers, V-Run Running Shoe Black Yellow 42 M – Review

Vibram Men’s FiveFingers, V-Run Running Shoe Black Yellow 42 M – Product characteristics

  • 100% Polyester Lycra Stretch Mesh/Polyester Microfiber
  • Imported
  • Rubber sole
  • Perforated fabric mesh upper with Lycra stretch
  • Adjustable bungee laces with toggle closure for a secure fit
  • VI-LITE for the ultimate in lightweight shock absorption and cushioning
  • Vibram XS RUN for maximal stable hardness for better ground contact and added grip
  • Vibram MONT compound rubber outsole offers reliability on the most difficult terrain at low temperatures
Vibram Men's FiveFingers, V-Run Running Shoe Black Yellow 42 M*
  • Perforated fabric mesh upper with Lycra stretch
  • Adjustable bungee laces with toggle closure for a secure fit
  • VI-LITE for the ultimate in lightweight shock absorption and cushioning

Vibram Men’s FiveFingers, V-Run Running Shoe Black Yellow 42 M – Reviews

Not built for those with wide feet.

Absolutely, unapologetically NOT built for runners with wide feet. Unlike the KSO, Spyridon, and other Vibrams, the insides of these shoes abruptly stop at the inside edge of the foot leaving your foot to hit the inside edge of the rubber with each foot strike. Spyridons and KSO’s solve this by having a nice long piece of rubber on the inside of the foot that wide feet can press against and flatten without any issues.In my experience, a properly-fitted shoe is a 10.5 2E (not super-wide, but wide enough). Ordering this shoe properly for length left me with the overhanging issue that I haven’t had in other Vibrams and some pretty deep blistering on the balls of my feet that I’ll spare you the view of.The attached images compare the V-Run to the KSO and Spyridon from the arch-side of the shoe. You can see where the green ends and where the rubber ends on the other models. In the second image, you can see the rubber on the KSO’s nicely wrapping around the ball of my foot, but the bright green rubber of the V-Runs abruptly stops.

Reviewed in the United States on August 26, 2016

An incremental upgrade from the Bikila Evo. Still my favorite running shoe.

This is the continuation of the Bikila Evo model. The main differences are a somewhat tougher and more cushioned sole. It’s a subtle change in the sole and I hope it means they last longer. But the ride on the first run felt *very* smooth, while still having great flexibility and ground feel. The upper feels a little more stretchy and it has holes in it for breathability. Like the Bikila Evo, this hits my sweet spot between going barefoot and running in shoes. I’ve been running in minimalist shoes for several years now and it will always feel more comfortable for me now that I’ve made the transition..Vibram Five Fingers shoes now include instructions on how to transition to minimalist shoes. This is a good thing. Too many people were injured in the early days of the minimalist craze. A lot of people blamed it on the shoes. Somehow, the same crowd never blames its injuries on so-called “motion control” and “stability” shoes.

Reviewed in the United States on March 27, 2016

42 fits like a glove

I’ve been running barefeet on trail and wanted something for road running. After a lot of research I narrowed down on these. Its been a month since I’ve used these intermitently (running about 10-15k each time). Here are my thoughts and opinions:1. Size: Very very crucial. Thanks to one of the reviews, I edited my order after choosig the size from Vibrams Europe site. Had chosen 43 according to US size, but Europe said 42. 42 fits like a glove!!2. Pronation warning: I have slight pronation on the right foot, which causes the edge of the sole to touch my foot sole. 10+ kms gave me a slight blister. Unfortunately, I dont think i’ll be able to use these for half or full marathons :(3. Comfort and feel are great. being used to barefeet running, the sole feels a little thick and I wouldnt have minded a thinner sole.On one of my runs, I saw a few people wear running sandals. These are fully open from top and have a full sole, which (i feel) will not give me blisters. They are Xero shoes. Looks like I need these for long distance running. WOuld prefer near barefeet experience with open foot (airy) feeling!

Reviewed in the United States on September 4, 2018

Great shoes!

I’ve ran about 7 miles in these so far. A warm up mile when I first got then and now 2 3 milers. They feel amazing. A little bit of an adjustment to my running style, but overall good. The only negative I’ve noticed is after my 2 three milers both times I’ve notice a blister forming on my big toe. Not vibrams fault its hard to make a shoe that conforms to every type of foot. I’m sure if I get the socks it will remedy that situation.

Reviewed in the United States on February 23, 2019

No pain no glory

The shoes as others warn mess up your feet at first but once your feet acclimate you’ll find dormant muscles not otherwise worked out with regular running shoes develope. I’ve had nice caffs before but now I’ve gained more refined muscle which facilitates longer runs with less body soreness. This is truelly how humans are meant to run, rather then the nerfed coushined traditional running shoes. I would recommend this to serious runners wanting more from their runs.

Reviewed in the United States on November 16, 2018

These shoes are great. Use them on pavement and light gravel with …

I used to run short distances (4 miles or less) pure barefoot for many years. Feet started to become extra calloused this year (getting old I guess) so I decided to get some more protection.These shoes are great. Use them on pavement and light gravel with no complaints. Fits like a glove when I can get them on – I never seem to get the toes lined up until a few tries.

Reviewed in the United States on June 19, 2017

Perfect and comfortable

I’ve owned several pairs of Vibram Five Fingers, including 2 pairs of Bikila. This paid continues the tradition of Vibram’s quality, comfortable and perfect walking/running shoes. Totally in love with it, provides good support.If there’s anything that isn’t so great about it, it is the fact that the back ankle support is a little higher and rubs against the back of my ankle, causing a little discomfort. However, this is easily addressed by wearing 5 toe socks.All in all, a great pair of running shoes.

Reviewed in the United States on July 6, 2019

Exactly what I needed!

After running my first half-marathon in my old KSOs, I knew I needed a shoe that could handle paved surfaces better. The V-runs were just what I hoped for. I know it’s said that the shoes don’t make the runner, but I cannot deny how much easier my runs (especially on roads) are.

Reviewed in the United States on January 9, 2020
Vibram Men's FiveFingers, V-Run Running Shoe Black Yellow 42 M*
  • Perforated fabric mesh upper with Lycra stretch
  • Adjustable bungee laces with toggle closure for a secure fit
  • VI-LITE for the ultimate in lightweight shock absorption and cushioning

Vibram Men’s FiveFingers, V-Run Running Shoe Black Yellow 42 M – FAQ

Hi, i wear a size 42 in bikila ls. can anyone confirm that 41 will be my v-run size? thanks!

I do believe so. I had a 41 Bikila LS and the 40 in V-Run fits just right. I am a little annoyed that the sizes are off, but at least they warn you.

i wear a size 43 in v-run. how does this convert to us sizes? ps the seller is horrible and has no contact info

I had no trouble with the seller, but I think they came from Amazon when I got these shoes. I wear a size 12, and a 46 works well for me…

Hello, it’s 2016 or 2017 edition ?

The shoes in the picture look like the black and yellow Men’s V-Run (SKU: 16M3101) from the 2016-2017 Vibram Fivefingers catalog. Hope this information helps & let us know if you have any more questions! Thanks for surfing with us, Your friends at ShoeSurfing.com

I’ve never used these b4. is it safe to run 3 to 5 miles on the sand in these right away? or do i need to wait like if i was running in the street?

If you are running in the sand just go bare foot, these are great for the street. sand will get in them and most likely cause foot irritation even though they fit tight

Vibram Men's FiveFingers, V-Run Running Shoe Black Yellow 42 M*
  • Perforated fabric mesh upper with Lycra stretch
  • Adjustable bungee laces with toggle closure for a secure fit
  • VI-LITE for the ultimate in lightweight shock absorption and cushioning

*If you buy a product through one of these links, I will receive a small commission from the seller. There are no additional costs for you, and you support my work on this site. To learn more read here. Thank you and Feel Grounded. Dirk