Vibram Men’s FiveFingers, V-Trek Hiking Shoe – Review

Vibram Men’s FiveFingers, V-Trek Hiking Shoe – Product characteristics

  • Made in the USA or Imported
  • Rubber sole
  • 50/50 wool / synthetic blend upper
  • Mid-cut profile with traditional lacing system
  • Polyurethane midsole with a bit of added thickness for extra protection
  • Megagrip outsole provides the premium outdoor formula for grip in both wet and dry conditions
  • 4 mm lugs
Vibram Five Fingers Men's V-Trek Trail Hiking Shoe (44 EU/10.5-11 US, Military/Dark Grey)
1,459 Reviews
Vibram Five Fingers Men's V-Trek Trail Hiking Shoe (44 EU/10.5-11 US, Military/Dark Grey)*
  • BEST USES: Trekking, Walking, Climbing, Urban Sport
  • MIDSOLE: A nice, polyurethane midsole with a bit of added thickness provides a bit more support and comfort
  • VIBRAM OUTSOLE: 4 mm rubber Megagrip outsole for optimal performance on a variety of surfaces

Vibram Men’s FiveFingers, V-Trek Hiking Shoe – Reviews

Refined Hardcore Hiker

This shoe is simply amazing! I have many miles on it’s predecessor the, “Trek Ascent”, and was skeptical about it’s replacement. I am pleasantly surprised! This new version takes a revolutionary hiking shoe and adds some innovative refinements. I love the traditional laces which can easily be replaced and make it look more like a sneaker. The material between the toes is thinner which adds to comfort and makes them easier to put on. The ankle is higher and prevents a higher percentage debris from coming in over the top. I glued a velcro strip on the back of each shoe so they can be worn with “gaiters” and that prevents almost all debris from entering. The sizing is the same as the Trek Ascent. The mega-grip sole grips wet surfaces as good as anything out there. These shoes rock the city streets, mountains, jungles, canyons, rivers, beaches and everyting in between. As with any minimalist shoe they require a gradual transition and a more forefoot strike. The Trek Ascent removed stress from my knees and strengthened my feet and calves. The V-Trek continues the success in a more refined way. I highly recommend!!!

Reviewed in the United States on April 6, 2018

Best shoes I have ever worn.

This is my second pair of Vibram five fingered shoes. They are excellent for old guys with bad knees. I’m a 67 year old runner who can’t run on pavement anymore. My running is limited to treadmills at my gym with a metal knee brqce. Since I’ve started running with my Vibrams, my knee pain is 80% diminished. Your gait will be changed when running with these. For knocking around town, there is nothing more comfortable. Two downsides: (1) My wife and kids find it embarassing to be seen with me when I’m wearing these; (2) in cold and wet weather (since I don’t wear socks with them), they won’t be so nice.

Reviewed in the United States on April 28, 2018

Best fitting Vibram shoes I own

Over the past several years I’ve obtained about 6 pair of various Vibram shoes, but by far these are hands down the best fitting of them all. My normal shoe size is a mens 9 and I purchased the vibrams in the 9-9.5 and it fits perfectly. I wouldn’t want it any smaller, but I wouldn’t want it any larger either. Just perfect.Additionally, I wasn’t sure how I would feel about having a Vibram shoe that laces up like a regular sneaker, because all of my other Vibram shoes are slip on with velcro or a pull lace with a tensioner. However, after wearing these for a few days now I believe having the lacing through the shoe is what actually makes these shoes fit so perfectly like a glove. I’m thoroughly pleased.Lastly, these Vibram shoes have a softer rubber which is much quieter than their normal rubber. So quiet that I feel like a ninja when I’m walking on hard floors at work or in stores because they are virtually silent. The rubber on my other Vibram shoes clicks when I’m walking on hard floors, but not these at all.Half year update: most comfortable Vibram shoes I’ve ever owned. I originally thought having laces would be an inconvenience, however, I’ve discovered it’s a blessing as it makes the shoe considerably easier to put on, and I believe it also allows the shoe to fit better at the desired tightness to allow the foot to breath better.

Reviewed in the United States on November 15, 2020

He says that the heel and the big toe fit perfect but the other toes leave a good bit of …

My husband is a size twelve (12) men’s in sneakers and eleven (11) in casual shoes. The 46 fits well. He says that the heel and the big toe fit perfect but the other toes leave a good bit of space, but it’s not bothersome. He says that he can “scooch” his other toes forward and the shoe still holds his heels. The shoes are very sleek, clean looking, and fashionable. He is very excited about them and has not taken them off since they arrived LOL.

Reviewed in the United States on July 10, 2018

Fit a bit larger than expected, nice thick, comfortable sole, don’t hold up for very long

I’m not a fan of the additional material by the ankle, it’s not like it provides ankle support or anything so it’s just a little bothersome. They fit a bit bigger than other Vibrams I’ve had in the past, but I’ve used them on several overnight hikes in the Sierra Nevada range, and they’ve performed very well.I’ve adjusted the rating from a 4 star to 2 star, due to how long they’ve held up. I’ve taken these shoes on 8 backpacking trips, all under 10 miles round trip, and 5 hiking trips, all under 5 miles. Last trip, the material that connects to the rubber on the big toe on both shoes has mostly disintegrated, allowing rocks and dirt to get into the shoe. For being a “hiking” toe show, it did not last any longer than the others, and I thought it would for the money.

Reviewed in the United States on July 3, 2018
Vibram Five Fingers Men's V-Trek Trail Hiking Shoe (44 EU/10.5-11 US, Military/Dark Grey)
1,459 Reviews
Vibram Five Fingers Men's V-Trek Trail Hiking Shoe (44 EU/10.5-11 US, Military/Dark Grey)*
  • BEST USES: Trekking, Walking, Climbing, Urban Sport
  • MIDSOLE: A nice, polyurethane midsole with a bit of added thickness provides a bit more support and comfort
  • VIBRAM OUTSOLE: 4 mm rubber Megagrip outsole for optimal performance on a variety of surfaces

Vibram Men’s FiveFingers, V-Trek Hiking Shoe – FAQ

Are these dark gray? They look green

I bought these earlier this year and I would say they are definitely more dark green than dark gray

These look cushion inside. Should I get a size up?

I recommend trying on a european size shoe as a reference. I wear a 12.5 US and the 47 fits with the socks….I could maybe fit into a 46. The 48 was too big for me. In Birkenstock, I wear a 45.

Do you wear it without socks?

You can and they are comfortable like that but you would need to wash them more to keep odor down.

How would these fair as running shoes on a track?

hmmm…they grip the ground really well and the insulation between the ground and your feet feel like someone painted rubber tires on your feet! Spiderman shoes! If you like running barefoot then I suppose these would fair ok.

to the seller: i want to buy this but i need 6-6.5 size. can u pls have smaller sizes available?

good idea. Also good for children

I wear size u.s 10 which according to size chart is 43 but when i measure my foot it’s 10 3/4 and that’s 44, which one do you recommend i got with?

I wear 11’s and the 11’s I got fit fine but I also bought some 11 1/2’s and I think they fit better. As for the difference in your shoe size and foot size you may have to try a pair and exchange as needed

Are the us11 equivalent to eu 44 or 45? thanks

I wear 11 in American size and 45 fits me

What size matches size 42 in these?

It depends on you fit your shoes is. For me I normally wear size 46 in adidas with some space in my foot, however in Vibram I wear 45 so it fit with my fingers and comfortable

The size chart and the choices dont really align on the sizes? Which one should one go by?

It’s best to go to a shoe store and see if they can size you for the EU size. And if you have never worn these shoes or done much foot exercising your foot will shrink a bit. Because the muscles will be pulling your bone back into proper placement.

So i wear a 9.5 American what size do you guys recommend?

They fit better if you go by European size.

Vibram Five Fingers Men's V-Trek Trail Hiking Shoe (44 EU/10.5-11 US, Military/Dark Grey)
1,459 Reviews
Vibram Five Fingers Men's V-Trek Trail Hiking Shoe (44 EU/10.5-11 US, Military/Dark Grey)*
  • BEST USES: Trekking, Walking, Climbing, Urban Sport
  • MIDSOLE: A nice, polyurethane midsole with a bit of added thickness provides a bit more support and comfort
  • VIBRAM OUTSOLE: 4 mm rubber Megagrip outsole for optimal performance on a variety of surfaces

*If you buy a product through one of these links, I will receive a small commission from the seller. There are no additional costs for you, and you support my work on this site. To learn more read here. Thank you and Feel Grounded. Dirk