Vibram Women’s Five Fingers, V-Alpha Trail Shoe – Review

Vibram Women’s Five Fingers, V-Alpha Trail Shoe – Product characteristics

  • 100% Textile
  • Imported
  • Rubber sole
  • Shaft measures approximately low-top from arch
  • 50/50 wool and synthetic upper material
  • Slip on style with adjustable bungee stretch laces
  • A protective shoe that also allows for ground sensory perception
  • 2 mm EVA foam insole for added comfort
  • 3.7 mm Megagrip Outsole
Vibram Women's Five Fingers, V-Alpha Trail Shoe Black
227 Reviews
Vibram Women's Five Fingers, V-Alpha Trail Shoe Black*
  • 50/50 wool and synthetic upper material
  • Slip on style with adjustable bungee stretch laces
  • A protective shoe that also allows for ground sensory perception

Vibram Women’s Five Fingers, V-Alpha Trail Shoe – Reviews

One of the best pairs for running

For those that run in minimalist shoes, and whose feet have already adapted to this style of shoe, the V-Alpha is one of the better options. I use these for distances from 5k-10 miles (street and trail) down to 25 degrees Fahrenheit/-4 degrees Celcius (anything colder than that or if there is snow and slush on the ground I switch to the insulated version). The traction on the soles of these shoes are on point – my last two runs were on frost covered asphalt, frozen and wet leaves, and frost and partial thawed mud and dirt trails. It is nice not to have to slow your pace for fear of slipping and sliding. They really do grip well and still give a nice fit with good ground feel. The sewing on the pair I recieved was perfect, my number one complaints for Vibrams – still after many years – is that they don’t seem to have any quality controld on checking the inseams, etc, for the toe pockets and other areas for any excess material that would cause rubbing and chafing. This pair was perfectly sewn and the fit was great right out of the gate. In normal street shoes and work shoe’s I wear a 7.5-8 for women. For this pair I ordered the 39 (8-8.5 for women) and it fit great. Also love that you don’t have to tie any laces….

Reviewed in the United States on December 7, 2020

LOVE LOVE LOOOOVVVVEEE THEM

The media could not be loaded.  I am ssooooo happy I purchase these … light on my feet , separate my toes , no Bunions, lol … this black goes with every workout outfit I have … Great for leg days … HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!Love love love it ..Seriously…

Reviewed in the United States on January 28, 2021

weird seam on top of the big toes, details in video

The media could not be loaded.  I love Vibrams and this would’ve been my third pair. I have one wool lined pair for hiking and wearing in winter and a thinner pair for summer and just around the house or running errands. I got these thinking they would be like my thin ones. Not…really. The fit was great except the big toes had a hard seam in non-stretchy fabric that really pressed down hard on my big toes. I tried with thin socks and with no socks. It only marginally better without socks, but there was still pressure from the seam. Also, there are times I’m going to want to wear socks, so these unfortunately had to be returned :(EDIT 4/10/21: I feel compelled to mention that while I ordered the 9-9.5, the box when received said “9.5-10”, so I’m not exactly sure what is going on with that. Maybe the seller made a mistake or didn’t realize or what. I did not notice this until dropping my return off at a drop off location at home.

Reviewed in the United States on April 8, 2021

8-8.5 EU 39 Fits great for US 7,5- 8 easy to put on.

The media could not be loaded.  My European size 37.5 but I like to wear US 8, even 8,5 depending in design of a shoe. According to the chart I was recommended 8-8.5 This is my 5th pair since 2009 – and yay it fits immediately, lucky attempt. In the past I would order 2 pairs to find a perfect fit. Because too loose is as bad as too tight, the sole won’t align perfectly with the foot. I have bulbous big toes as you can see, and so far it is fine. I didn’t put socks on, but I know the shoes get loose with wear. I will update my review after first run. I wish of course Vibram FF were sold in stores because this product’s sizing depends on the model. I got this model for running on the beach. It is way easier to put on compare to my previous pair.

Reviewed in the United States on January 31, 2021

much better lace system than velcro

I have a lot of 5fingers. These were my first pair with the lace system. It is far superior to the velcro. Nice soles to hike in. It is critical that you get fitted for this type of shoe and buy your exact correct size or you’re going to hate them. Amazing product.

Reviewed in the United States on March 24, 2019

Broke After One Use

First time wearing them at a 6ish mile Spartan Super race was all it took to break the quick lace mechanism on my left shoe.For reference: In 2017 I bought a pair of Vibram Women’s KMD LS-W shoes (the pink/black ones pictured in this review) that lasted me 4 years (doing about 6 obstacle course mud runs per year) with the most damage being some of the glue on the sole wearing off.So spending $114 on a replacement pair that had the quick lace mechanism break during 1 race is more than disappointing.The sole is much more flimsy than my Vibram Women’s KMD LS-W. The material goes higher on my ankle which isn’t as comfortable, but it was still a better fit than some of the other Vibram styles I tried replacing my KMD’s with.

Reviewed in the United States on March 1, 2022

Buyer Beware – Not an authorized Vibram dealer

I’ve had these shoes for just over 2 months. I love them, but the return window no sooner closed and the sole started to separate from the shoe. I contacted Vibram about getting them repaired, and because the seller on Amazon is not an authorized Vibram dealer, they won’t touch the shoes. So now I’m left with a fairly new pair of shoes that are falling apart. The photo shows where it was starting to separate when I contacted Vibram. Now, one week later, the gap is about 1.5″ long and growing each time I wear them.

Reviewed in the United States on June 9, 2022

Love these

I love these shoes and they’re a lot nicer looking than the picture. The color are more of a grayish khaki tint.Just got finished with my jog in them they were comfortable, I did 3 miles on a paved bike trail. They run slightly bigger than I expected, but the adjustable laces fixed that. I appreciate the added space so I can eventually wear socks in them.

Reviewed in the United States on June 18, 2020
Vibram Women's Five Fingers, V-Alpha Trail Shoe Black
227 Reviews
Vibram Women's Five Fingers, V-Alpha Trail Shoe Black*
  • 50/50 wool and synthetic upper material
  • Slip on style with adjustable bungee stretch laces
  • A protective shoe that also allows for ground sensory perception

Vibram Women’s Five Fingers, V-Alpha Trail Shoe – FAQ

Are these insulated for winter?

no

Will my feet get wet if i walk through a puddle?

Yes, I wear them without socks just in case that happens. They do dry quicker than a regular snicker though.

My old vibrams are size 38, what size do I choose based on this sizing chart?

Depends if you have long toes. My old vibrams were a size 38 and fit perfectly. These fit alright I’m general but the toes were longer and had a little more fabric than what I was used to. That being said, a 38 is the most comparable in my opinion. I tried a 39 and 37 also and the 38 were the most comfortable

Can these be worn in the water,?

They are not waterproof but can be worn in the water

Can anyone tell me if size 9.5 is size 42 or 43?

42 if you’re going sockless. 43 if you plan on wearing toe socks.

Im a size 6 in women what size should i get?? i am looking into these shoes because i have bunions trying to fix separation

They run true to size, but don’t depend on them to fix your bunions. That is a structural problem that requires surgery. I tried many things to correct my bunions and surgery was the only answer.

what US size is euro 40?

I would think it would be a US size 8. I know I wear size 9 and normally order a #41. They do have a size guide on their website if that will help you decide which size you need. I dearly live their shoes.

Vibram Women's Five Fingers, V-Alpha Trail Shoe Black
227 Reviews
Vibram Women's Five Fingers, V-Alpha Trail Shoe Black*
  • 50/50 wool and synthetic upper material
  • Slip on style with adjustable bungee stretch laces
  • A protective shoe that also allows for ground sensory perception

*If you buy a product through one of these links, I will receive a small commission from the seller. There are no additional costs for you, and you support my work on this site. To learn more read here. Thank you and Feel Grounded. Dirk