Vibram Women’s KSO-w Running Shoe – Review

Vibram Women’s KSO-w Running Shoe – Product characteristics

  • 100% Textile
  • Imported
  • Rubber sole
  • Abrasion resistant stretch upper
  • Convenient single hook and loop velcro closure
  • Vibram xs trek performance rubber sole
  • 10th anniversary limited edition
  • Designed for a superb glove-like fit
Vibram FiveFingers KSO Black/Black EU 37 (US Women's 6.5-7) B (M)*
  • Abrasion-Resistant Stretch Nylon and Breathable Mesh Upper - made for comfort, durability and breathability to keep your feet cool, whilst also keeping debris out of your shoe.
  • Single Hook and Loop Closure - offers a secure and comfortable fit
  • Non-Marking 3.5mm Vibram TC1 Peformance Rubber Outsole - offers superb grip and traction, it is razor-siped to add to the grip

Vibram Women’s KSO-w Running Shoe – Reviews

Good everyday shoe

These are my favorite shoes ever!I got these primarily because i heard they were good for the way you walk, and for balance.After wearing these all the time I completely dread having to put on any other show and refer to them as toe prisons. Im usually either wearing these, or am barefoot.The material is a very thin rubber on the bottom and an even thinner mesh on top. This was exactly what I wanted.Breaking them in was a little rough. I had some toe socks i would wear with them and ultimately decided the easiest way would be to take them on a tiny hike. Boy did that work.After breaking in they are the most comfortable pair of shoes I own and have become my everyday shoes.It completely changed the way i walk. If you walk a little heel-heavy or on the balls of your feet, this will completely fix that. I also notied that my sense of balance has improved dramatically.I tried to have them replace my gym shoes but ultimately decided that they were a little too minimal for some of my exercises so I will continue to wear them as an everyday shoe.Bonus perk; Drop something on the ground? Pick it up with your toes in these shoes.

Reviewed in the United States on July 12, 2017

Couldn’t even put it on

I wear around a 9 to 9.5. I ordered 9.5 and was sent a 9. The length looked ok, but the opening you put your foot through was so ridiculously small that I couldn’t even get my foot in. I had to return and ordered my size in the men’s version which is what I had before and fit perfectly. I’ve been wearing those for years and they were awesome.

Reviewed in the United States on February 8, 2021

Quality control is lacking.

I returned a previous pair six 61/2. -7 because it was too small. I then recorded a size 7-7/12.Well the barcode tag on the box says 7-71/2 but the box it comes in says 61/2-7. And the shoe in fact is 61/2-7. You sent me the same exact shoe size I returned because it was too small. I love the shoe but where is the quality control?

Reviewed in the United States on August 24, 2019

Very pleased; and I did well on getting the right size…

Color and quality are great! Fits well once they’re on, even with Injini socks on. The only minor complaint is that the opening for your foot is a bit narrow/tight-fitting, but the shoe fabric and design is flexible enough. I typically wear a US women’s 9 to 9 1/2. So these EU 40s were great! Very happy. And they arrived fast. I had a previous pair (grey with red trim) that was tight in the right littlest toe box. These are a half size up and my toes are very happy. There is no arch support, so don’t expect any.

Reviewed in the United States on February 25, 2020

First timer and very pleased!

These are great! They helped me train myself to establish a wide base of support when I’m on my feet. I realized that I was not widening my toes enough when training in sneakers. I like how I feel every muscle working when I wear these. They are relatively easy to put on and they don’t trap any foot odor. I run and do CrossFit WOD’s in them. I’m very pleased with this purchase.

Reviewed in the United States on September 20, 2018

Love it!

I have flat feet, so I really hate walking around in it out in the streets. It has nothing to do with the vibrams but more of poor genetics. So……what do I use this for if I’m not walking bear feet? I use to kickbox in my younger days, but now that I’ve gotten older, I started training for it again at a local gym the aerobics room by myself. The place is kind of dirty most the time so it was horrible to walk around bear feet training kicks. Plus the ground was really slippery. I then decided to get these Vibrams to emulate my feet on the ground and to my suprise it was better than expected. It made my kicks more powerful because the grip on the bottom allows me to stabilize my feet much better. Now I don’t feel off balanced everytime I kick. Also, the size was perfect! I have very small feet so I had to get the female size fittings. I thought it wasnt going to fit me since I have wide flat feet, but to my suprise, this is the best fitting shoe I’ve ever bought in my life. 🙂 I will buy more when there are more female designs.lol

Reviewed in the United States on August 3, 2014

Love these five toes

These are great to walk in. They are like walking in barefeet but with foot protection. They make your feet and leg muscles really strong. They all get a work out. You will find out how the action of your feet and toes affect the other muscles above. These changed the shape of my calves for the better and helped shape other muscles too. I think that the running shoes these days are too constrictive on foot and toe movement and they constrict the action of your calf muscles and achilles tendon. I have studied this kind of body motion in becoming a Pilates instructor and I would highly recommend them for maximum muscle usage. They do take some getting used to in terms of putting them on. They will make muscles work that have not worked for awhile , so expect muscle soreness. Start out at 10mins a day and build up

Reviewed in the United States on October 21, 2014

European size is different

I have a different style of vibrams that I wear a 39 in. I also own Birkenstock’s that are a 39. These run small I had to order a 40 which was an American size 9. I’m an American but European sizing actually fits better but vibram is off with the sizing for this shoe. The hole that you put your foot in is too tight initially but after forcing my foot into the shoe for a couple of weeks it has stretched out.

Reviewed in the United States on April 13, 2022
Vibram FiveFingers KSO Black/Black EU 37 (US Women's 6.5-7) B (M)*
  • Abrasion-Resistant Stretch Nylon and Breathable Mesh Upper - made for comfort, durability and breathability to keep your feet cool, whilst also keeping debris out of your shoe.
  • Single Hook and Loop Closure - offers a secure and comfortable fit
  • Non-Marking 3.5mm Vibram TC1 Peformance Rubber Outsole - offers superb grip and traction, it is razor-siped to add to the grip

Vibram Women’s KSO-w Running Shoe – FAQ

Also, for the woman who ordered men’s size? What size did you wear?

2 size difference

Do you normally wear socks with these or just over your bare feet? Do I need to buy the special toe socks to go with?

Bare foot is best! I do have a pair of toe socks, but don’t like them. Let your naked feet breathe! 😉

Does the rubber sole of the kso running shoe protect the feet from road debris like rocks and acorns? i currently run in the bilikas.

Protect? Yes, however you’ll still feel rocks and debris and especially acorns. I haven’t had anything punch through the sole though. So far it’s been pretty durable. It runs small, be sure to order one size up. I wear a size 8.5-9 shoe and I ordered a 41, it’s very ‘snug’.

Vibram FiveFingers KSO Black/Black EU 37 (US Women's 6.5-7) B (M)*
  • Abrasion-Resistant Stretch Nylon and Breathable Mesh Upper - made for comfort, durability and breathability to keep your feet cool, whilst also keeping debris out of your shoe.
  • Single Hook and Loop Closure - offers a secure and comfortable fit
  • Non-Marking 3.5mm Vibram TC1 Peformance Rubber Outsole - offers superb grip and traction, it is razor-siped to add to the grip

*If you buy a product through one of these links, I will receive a small commission from the seller. There are no additional costs for you, and you support my work on this site. To learn more read here. Thank you and Feel Grounded. Dirk