Vibram Women’s V-Trek MilitaryPurple Trail Running Shoe – Review

Vibram Women’s V-Trek MilitaryPurple Trail Running Shoe – Product characteristics

  • Made in the USA or Imported
  • Rubber sole
  • BEST USES: Trekking, Walking, Climbing, Urban Sport
  • MIDSOLE: A nice, polyurethane midsole with a bit of added thickness provides a bit more support and comfort
  • VIBRAM OUTSOLE: 4 mm rubber Megagrip outsole for optimal performance on a variety of surfaces
  • MATERIAL COMPOSITIONL: 50/50 wool / synthetic blend exterior upper construction for added stretch and comfort
Vibram Five Fingers Women's V-Trek Trail Hiking Shoe (39 EU/8-8.5, Black/Black)
635 Reviews
Vibram Five Fingers Women's V-Trek Trail Hiking Shoe (39 EU/8-8.5, Black/Black)*
  • BEST USES: Trekking, Walking, Climbing, Urban Sport
  • MIDSOLE: A nice, polyurethane midsole with a bit of added thickness provides a bit more support and comfort
  • VIBRAM OUTSOLE: 4 mm rubber Megagrip outsole for optimal performance on a variety of surfaces

Vibram Women’s V-Trek MilitaryPurple Trail Running Shoe – Reviews

Fits normal, Only good for city life

First off the fit is normal! or at least same as spyridons and KMD. I have the same size in all and I actually go with the 39 for wmns 8-8.5 even though when i buy vans, converse in 9(add insoles and hose shoes run narrow in toes) and i buy size 8.5 in nike(free runs wider toe box then some other nikes) I find all vibram five finger shoes stretch nice and perform better when tight, i do not wear toe socks just vinegar spray after use and wash quarterly. I bought these for outdoor use, hiking, trail running, track running, grass running. I rec for only grass and track, or walking around a mall lol.The support on these are bad, compared to their others, Spyridon was at least solid in the bottom instead of flexible so stones and derbis didn’t hurt your sole. The fact the bottom is one solid piece instead of how the more athletic shoes (i have KMD) have multiple layers which are more supportive. On the KMD you can see there is a seperate arch layer that is higher up then the areas that strike ground, which does actually provide way more arch support and foot stability with design. Spyridons work because the one piece was harder and therefore supportive. These shoes just have a thin layer of neither. You do get grip, like when running down dirt hill it does grip nicer than KMD which is expected as KMD is a training shoe(gym, weight lifting, cardio)

Reviewed in the United States on October 18, 2019

No pain With These Shoes On!

I had ordered 5 shoes thru the wardrobe program as I have very problem feet. I knew instantly that 4 would not work for me, but since I’d never tried a Vibram shoe realized it takes a bit of time to adjust to them. I’ve worn the toed Sox before, and wanted to see if the shoes feel as good as the Sox. I had read all reviews and went w/ their advice to get a little smaller than you usually wear. I did that and it worked. I love them. You feel like you are barefoot, but protected. They have been wonderful. My bunions can’t stand shoes on for very long. These work. Thank youVibram.

Reviewed in the United States on June 10, 2019

Love these shoes!

Got my pair in the mail a couple days ago and I love these! They’re my first pair. I was always skeptical about them (and their odd looks) but decided to try them since I’m fed up with wearing stiff, tight shoes (wides vs regular don’t help) and I hate that squished-toes feeling. Toes need room to wiggle and breathe! These shoes are awesome because they are form fitting but they move with your foot. I love how I can feel the rocks and other stuff while walking but it doesn’t hurt to step on them. They take a few wears to get used to as I’m not used to wearing such “bare” shoes. But I haven’t had any issues with them and I’m ecstatic about them already! So far I’ve used them for a short hike and a walk on a paved trail (gotta break them in slow before taking them on an all-day hike). No issues! I bought them in my size and they’re perfect. Ordered some toe socks to wear with them as they are more comfy with socks.

Reviewed in the United States on May 24, 2020

Runs small, could use more arch support

These shoes run small. I’m usually a women’s 6.5-7, but in these I ended getting 7.5-8 for them to fit comfortably.It’s useful to have a little extra space too, because — I ordered socks to wear with these (so they don’t get smelly)- These shoes didn’t give me sufficient arch support, and I put in 3/4 inch arch/sole inserts to solve that- The back of the shoes also really dug into my heel, which hurt. Adding the sole insert lifted my heel up and solved this issue- I am a little worried about the material on the top part of the shoe is going to wear quickly because it’s such thin material. i.e. even just my toe nail or something rubbing against itOtherwise – I took them out hiking, walked all over rocks – they were really comfortable, had a lot of traction, and provided a lot of foot grip control climbing over things and going up/down inclines. I’m excited to have shoes that are actually the shape of feet.

Reviewed in the United States on March 23, 2020

My Heel!

Love how they fit and look. Went for a 2 hour walk/run. And got a huge blister.. I wore socks and everything. I could wear thicker thicker socks but those are hard to find for toe shoes.. either I’m heel to toe on my right dominant leg that cause this big ol blister.. I broke them in for 2 weeks and end of week 2 I decided to run the same trail. I still like the shoe but listen to your feet. After the first hour of my trailing it started to burn and I have to walk back. I think these shoes have potential and once my blister heels I will try running in them again. My form felt balanced but this blister hurts really really bad lol. I bought 2 pairs 🙂

Reviewed in the United States on June 26, 2020

fits a little tighter than usual 5 fingers

I have 6 pairs of vibram 5fingers, all different models, all 42. These fit, but they feel just a bit more snug than any of the others. It feels like the heel area might be thicker and make these feel more like a 41.5 (if it existed). They also require you to loosen the laces quite a bit to get them on as there is no stretch to the heel area. I wish they utilized a lacing system similar to salomon instead of traditional laces. Overall a nice shoe, but a couple differences that make these fit a bit differently.

Reviewed in the United States on December 9, 2019

love them – not for running

these are great, my choice for everyday walking around on cold days, I use them with leggings.not suitable for running – back part is too high around the heal.for walking, they are great.

Reviewed in the United States on February 23, 2020

Break them in

I got the same size I wear in the cvt-wool (38), and it was a wrestling match getting them on the first couple times. I wore them around the house for 2 or 3 days to break them in. The ankle was painful at first and one of my pinky toes felt like fabric was scratching it, but now they fit perfectly. I did put moleskin in the back and also put bandaids on the back of my ankles when I wore them hiking the first time. I only did about 3 miles. They felt like slippers. I didn’t feel the rocks under my foot and the grip was great.

Reviewed in the United States on September 10, 2021
Vibram Five Fingers Women's V-Trek Trail Hiking Shoe (39 EU/8-8.5, Black/Black)
635 Reviews
Vibram Five Fingers Women's V-Trek Trail Hiking Shoe (39 EU/8-8.5, Black/Black)*
  • BEST USES: Trekking, Walking, Climbing, Urban Sport
  • MIDSOLE: A nice, polyurethane midsole with a bit of added thickness provides a bit more support and comfort
  • VIBRAM OUTSOLE: 4 mm rubber Megagrip outsole for optimal performance on a variety of surfaces

Vibram Women’s V-Trek MilitaryPurple Trail Running Shoe – FAQ

I need a 38, so what size…..your chart is confusing

I purchased a size 39 but I’m a US size 8. I found that it’s a little snug. If you’re going to wear toe socks I recommend a size up. Hope that helps

If my big toe touches the end and my toenail stretches the fabric on top, but every other toe fits fine, should I size up?

I think you will need too. Any time in these shoes with your big to that far to the end probably won’t be comfortable. My big toe fits and some of the other toes don’t go all the way to the end and it’s not a problem. So if you size up to fit your big toe then if some of the others don’t go to the end its no big deal. At least for me it isn’t. Good luck!

Does anyone know if these are authentic vibram five fingers?

Yes, the pair I received are by Vibram. I’ve been wearing Vibram’s for almost 10 years and this is my favorite pair by far. Hope this helps!

I ordered the wrong size, am i able to return for a smaller size?

You usually can return, I think within 30 days. We haven’t had much in the way of problems when we need to return items. Just contact them.

Has anyone tried these who suffer from bunions? Your experience?

I love mine. Have terribly painful bunions & have hammer toes. I’ve worn the toed socks for a long time & had wanted to try the shoes. Absolutely love them. The trick is to not get a shoe that presses hard on the bunions. I get shoes that don’t press on them. The one I got was the lightest of the ones I tried. Just love them.

I see these are not on Prime for size 42. Are there still free returns?

Not unless it says so

I read years ago that these shoes require a barefoot stride to avoid the heel strike. Is this true?

Hello Debora! These shoes are supposed to simulate a barefoot experience, therefore it is recommended to “train” yourself to run properly in these shoes. I have included some of Vibram’s recommendations below. In short, yes. These will require you to adjust your technique to better replicate a barefoot stride. BE PATIENT AND BUILD GRADUALLY. It can take several months to a year to make the transition into Vibram FiveFingers. If you are experiencing soreness or discomfort allow your body to rest! DO NOT EXCLUSIVELY USE VIBRAM FIVEFINGERS AT FIRST Start with casual use and light training. Go barefoot whenever possible. Add Vibram FiveFingers to your rotation of current training shoes. STRENGTHEN YOUR FEET With easy exercises and methods, you can perform at home. This will strengthen the 40+ muscles in your feet as they’re adapting to being barefoot – or in Vibram FiveFingers – more frequently. Our two-week Strength Training Program can be a good start.

Can you wear them in the water?

Yes! You can wear it in the water!! But your foot will be wet. very wet. This shoes is very very very good one. I recomend it !! But this shoes is not WATER POROOF. : )

Is this available in 7.5 wide?

There’s no wide with Vibrams

Are these authentic Vibram shoes?

Yes, all our items are brand new and authentic.

Vibram Five Fingers Women's V-Trek Trail Hiking Shoe (39 EU/8-8.5, Black/Black)
635 Reviews
Vibram Five Fingers Women's V-Trek Trail Hiking Shoe (39 EU/8-8.5, Black/Black)*
  • BEST USES: Trekking, Walking, Climbing, Urban Sport
  • MIDSOLE: A nice, polyurethane midsole with a bit of added thickness provides a bit more support and comfort
  • VIBRAM OUTSOLE: 4 mm rubber Megagrip outsole for optimal performance on a variety of surfaces

*If you buy a product through one of these links, I will receive a small commission from the seller. There are no additional costs for you, and you support my work on this site. To learn more read here. Thank you and Feel Grounded. Dirk