Vivobarefoot Addis, Womens Classic Leather lace-up with a Barefoot Feel & a Social Conscience – Review

Vivobarefoot Addis, Womens Classic Leather lace-up with a Barefoot Feel & a Social Conscience – Product characteristics

  • Rubber sole
  • Shaft measures approximately Ankle from arch
  • Consciously crafted shoes, empowering makers & supporting local communities
  • Hand-stitched Ethiopian-sourced Wild Hide leather
  • Women’s Everyday Shoes
Vivobarefoot Addis, Womens Classic Leather lace-up with a Barefoot Feel & a Social Conscience Black
90 Reviews
Vivobarefoot Addis, Womens Classic Leather lace-up with a Barefoot Feel & a Social Conscience Black*
  • Consciously crafted shoes, empowering makers & supporting local communities
  • Hand-stitched Ethiopian-sourced Wild Hide leather
  • Women's Everyday Shoes

Vivobarefoot Addis, Womens Classic Leather lace-up with a Barefoot Feel & a Social Conscience – Reviews

Not a barefoot shoe.

Zero barefoot feeling. I feel more barefoot in my high heels than in this. Sole too stiff. Painful to wear, narrow for one of my pinkies, though I have narrow feet. Customer service great, returns easy, just use the included return label.

Reviewed in the United States on December 2, 2020

Wanted to love

These shoes are super cute and will be perfect for someone with a narrow foot. But they simply did not have a wide enough toebox for my average to slightly wide foot

Reviewed in the United States on December 7, 2021

Too short; too narrow

This style in Xero shoes is too narrow and too short for me, although other styles of Xero shoes have been great in the same size. Usually Xero mentions whenever you should “size-up,” but no sizing recommendations were given for this shoe.The contour of the right shoe where the leather meets the sole is a little indented. The left shoe has a smooth contour the whole way around. I would have reordered in a larger size, had the right shoe not appeared flawed. I am returning these shoes with no re-order.

Reviewed in the United States on January 31, 2022

Not Wide

I so wish these had fit. I love minimalist shoes. But wide in no way describes the fit of this shoe. I bought a 7 wide and had to cram my foot into it, and it was so narrow my toes couldn’t move at all. They were just painful to even put on. If .you have very narrow feet, these might work for you. I had to return them. It was clear they would never be wide enough for my feet.

Reviewed in the United States on February 26, 2022

Quality minimalist shoe

Well made, every aspect of this shoe. Quality reigns. I am working my way into full time minimalist shoes so wanted a basic everything shoe. I can’t wear full time yet but these are wide enough to add a little support until I can. Very nice

Reviewed in the United States on January 31, 2022

Tongue

I loved the idea of this shoe, however when I tried them on the tongue of the shoe came up too far and was biting into my leg when I walked. I don’t know if this was something that would go away with use.

Reviewed in the United States on December 16, 2021

Almost what I wanted!

I love the design. I love the materials (genuine leather outer and inner!!! which makes them breathable, non-sweaty and probably long-lasting and environmentally-friendly). I love the fact they are part of a socially-conscious project. I love the wide toebox, etc. What I don’t like is that the edge of the shoe and tongue cuts into my skin and lateral malleolus, and cannot wear them without socks protecting my skin and a plaster over my malleolus. It seems if a few millimeters are taken off the leather edge, they would be perfect. I did put a thin insole to raise my foot a millimeter or two to help with this issue, but it still rubs.

Reviewed in the United States on September 15, 2020

I wanted to love it. But the sizing is WAY off. WAY too small.

I have the Vivo Tracker Forest Escape, size 10/41. LOVE IT. Perfect size, very comfy. I was hoping for the same type of size and feel.This shoe is at least a centimeter shorter, looking at it from the outside. Feels like my feet are hitting the end of it. They are also very stiff. If you look at the comparison – both shows are resting on a flat surface – they look like they are at least two sizes off from each other.I wanted to love these shoes; they are cute. But I’m going to have to sadly send them back.

Reviewed in the United States on December 26, 2021
Vivobarefoot Addis, Womens Classic Leather lace-up with a Barefoot Feel & a Social Conscience Black
90 Reviews
Vivobarefoot Addis, Womens Classic Leather lace-up with a Barefoot Feel & a Social Conscience Black*
  • Consciously crafted shoes, empowering makers & supporting local communities
  • Hand-stitched Ethiopian-sourced Wild Hide leather
  • Women's Everyday Shoes

Vivobarefoot Addis, Womens Classic Leather lace-up with a Barefoot Feel & a Social Conscience – FAQ

does this run true to size?

These shoes run true to size. However, just know the fit is a little wider and longer. It may feel “bigger” at first if you’re not used to it. But these shoes are made to fit less like a glove and more like a mitten.

Do they only manufacture in Wide? That’s all that’s for sale here.

They are barefoot shoes so they have a wider toe box than traditional shoes.

Does your Geo have any arch support

As a “barefoot” type shoe there is no arch support. But since I have transitioned into this type of footwear about 4 years ago, I won’t even buy regular types. They are fabulous!!! This brand is among the most durable barefoot style I have found.

Do these have a non-slip sole? Need for work in industrial kitchen.

These shoes do have a fairly grippy sole (pretty non-slip). I wear them daily and own several pairs of these shoes. However, they may or may not be fitting for the kitchen (wet or soiled hard floors) as the shoe is made to fit a little loose, which could reduce some of the non-slip aspects. The material used on the bottom of the shoe is very suitable for casual wear in various conditions. So, I don’t think they’d be a bad option at all, just maybe not the best by comparison. It would be a matter of preference, but I love mine!

Are these authentic Vivobarefoot shoes?

I don’t know for sure. The leather wasn’t as soft and they ran about a size smaller than other Vivobarefoot shoes that I own. I had to return them.

Vivobarefoot Addis, Womens Classic Leather lace-up with a Barefoot Feel & a Social Conscience Black
90 Reviews
Vivobarefoot Addis, Womens Classic Leather lace-up with a Barefoot Feel & a Social Conscience Black*
  • Consciously crafted shoes, empowering makers & supporting local communities
  • Hand-stitched Ethiopian-sourced Wild Hide leather
  • Women's Everyday Shoes

*If you buy a product through one of these links, I will receive a small commission from the seller. There are no additional costs for you, and you support my work on this site. To learn more read here. Thank you and Feel Grounded. Dirk