VIVOBAREFOOT Tracker Forest Esc, Mens Off-Road Hiking Boot With Barefoot Sole – Review

VIVOBAREFOOT Tracker Forest Esc, Mens Off-Road Hiking Boot With Barefoot Sole – Product characteristics

  • Rubber sole
  • Shaft measures approximately Ankle from arch
  • The Michelin ESC Sole, offers extreme traction using high performance rubber and aggressive off trail lug design to maximise ground feel
  • Created in collaboration with wilderness experts from Wild Human and the Independent Adventurer
  • Men’s Outdoor Shoes
VIVOBAREFOOT Tracker Forest Esc, Mens Off-Road Hiking Boot With Barefoot Sole*
  • The Michelin ESC Sole, offers extreme traction using high performance rubber and aggressive off trail lug design to maximise ground feel
  • Created in collaboration with wilderness experts from Wild Human and the Independent Adventurer
  • Men's Outdoor Shoes

VIVOBAREFOOT Tracker Forest Esc, Mens Off-Road Hiking Boot With Barefoot Sole – Reviews

Most Comfortable boot I own

I was a bit nervous ordering these after reading some of the reviews about comfort and some soreness, particularly around the ankles. These boots look incredible and are very well made. Initially I had some mild discomfort around the ankle and then I realized I was trying to lace them like my other standard hiking boots… tight around the footbed and a bit looser around the collar. I then started barely tightening them and it all started to make sense: No slip or slide on inclines or descents and an amazingly comfortable hike. I’m totally hooked.

Reviewed in the United States on May 9, 2022

Now boots and shoes should be like this

I like the boot in general. The concept, the comfort, the materials-although I would prefer a leather insole and lining-and the look. I do wish they had more leather, color tone, variations and designs with the same outsole which btw is great. I had to exchange my pair because I should have ordered a size bigger because of them being hiking boots and I don’t want my toes to touch the end while descending but the delivery was quick and the product seems very well built. We need more barefoot shoes and boots. I still won’t give up my riding boots but these shoes were made for walking.

Reviewed in the United States on October 3, 2021

Fit and finish is stellar

Fit and finish is pretty good although it did not come with the can of renapur these are supposed to come with even though I got it from the vivo storefront so they will honor the 100 day return guarantee. I like these boots a lot though on first impressions. They are comfy, water beads on the leather as expected, traction is good in short test outside in snow/ice and sizing was perfect following the foot length + 6-14mm headspace rule they used which put me in a US 8 or Euro 41. I will be wearing them more as the days go forward to test breathability, comfort, traction in a more varied environment, etc. So far so good though.

Reviewed in the United States on February 9, 2022

Vivobarefoot Tracker is an amazing shoe, do yourself a favor and buy a pair.

The quality of this boot is extraordinary. These are my 3rd pair of Vivobarefoot and I’m blown away once again. The Michelin soles are exceptional in the rain and seem to be bulletproof. The leather smells and feels like the highest quality. Ankle support and the heavy duty notched laces work brilliantly. Black on black look sharp. Highly recommend these to anyone and everyone.

Reviewed in the United States on May 6, 2022

Awesome!

Barefoot sole is amazing. Sturdy but flexible. Comfortable! Traction is the best feature!!! Highly recommend.

Reviewed in the United States on December 16, 2021

Nope! I could feel the knobs

I could feel the knobs through the sole. Seem excellent otherwise.

Reviewed in the United States on April 11, 2022

Not their best shoe

I wish I could get my money back for these

Reviewed in the United States on May 8, 2022

They got it right this time

I’ve been wearing barefoot shoes exclusively for the past 12 years, and I struggled to find a winter option. I have gone through 6 pairs of primus trail sg’s (I usually go through a pair a year and I will continue to buy them), and I bought a pair of the Tracker II SG’s a few years back. I was thoroughly disappointed by the Tracker II SG’s. The durability of the sole was inadequate compared to the upper boot, it was glued on and instantly started separating, and the combination of the waterproof membrane and the leather upper meant that it was very impermeable to vapor, turned into a sweatbox quickly, and would not recover over multiple days in the backcountry. However, it was an early iteration of this type of shoe and I can’t really fault Vivobarefoot because they had little to base their design upon. Also, I must note that the FG variants in my opinion are simply the SG’s with less tread life so unless they are used completely as a style item they should be avoided.Then came the Tracker Forest ESC. This boot is EXACTLY what I’ve been looking for. I’m very glad they thickened the sole slightly and made it much more durable, because if you are buying a leather boot with the intention of walking on snow or wet, soft ground, then an extremely thin sole is less necessary to preserve barefoot walking mechanics. The toe box is reasonable for a barefoot shoe while the high ankle is protective without hindering ankle mobility. Most of all, the boots are very breathable. I carried ~100lbs in a pack for 9 miles and 2800ft of vert into the backcountry over a 5 hour period in hot sun, and the boots were hardly damp. Best of all, they were completely dry overnight in a cold tent. I used to wear waterproof socks with my Primus Trail SG’s well into fall and early winter, but now I will use the Forest ESC’s because they are designed well for the job.

Reviewed in the United States on October 5, 2021
VIVOBAREFOOT Tracker Forest Esc, Mens Off-Road Hiking Boot With Barefoot Sole*
  • The Michelin ESC Sole, offers extreme traction using high performance rubber and aggressive off trail lug design to maximise ground feel
  • Created in collaboration with wilderness experts from Wild Human and the Independent Adventurer
  • Men's Outdoor Shoes

VIVOBAREFOOT Tracker Forest Esc, Mens Off-Road Hiking Boot With Barefoot Sole – FAQ

Just to confirm. This is men’s shoe?

Yes, Mens Shoe.

How high are these ?

They go above the ankle. Typical boot height.

Did this come with the leather treatment like their site does?

Mine did not come with leather treatment. I picked up some Kiwi conditioning oil at walgreens, works great.

Are these us or uk sizing?

I ordered size 10 and the boots have the EUR 43 size listed on them. Hope that helps, the size chart is a bit confusing.

VIVOBAREFOOT Tracker Forest Esc, Mens Off-Road Hiking Boot With Barefoot Sole*
  • The Michelin ESC Sole, offers extreme traction using high performance rubber and aggressive off trail lug design to maximise ground feel
  • Created in collaboration with wilderness experts from Wild Human and the Independent Adventurer
  • Men's Outdoor Shoes

*If you buy a product through one of these links, I will receive a small commission from the seller. There are no additional costs for you, and you support my work on this site. To learn more read here. Thank you and Feel Grounded. Dirk