Xero Shoes Men’s Aptos Hemp Canvas Slip-on – Casual, Lightweight Zero-Drop Shoe – Review

Xero Shoes Men’s Aptos Hemp Canvas Slip-on – Casual, Lightweight Zero-Drop Shoe – Product characteristics

  • Rubber sole
  • UNMATCHED CASUAL COMFORT – The Aptos is lightweight, and features a hemp canvas upper, wide toe box, and new grippy soles for unmatched comfort. A men’s size 9 Aptos is just 7.8 ounces each, perfect for casual, day-to-day use or to wear to the beach
  • EASILY SLIPS ON & OFF HANDSFREE – Elastic sections in the upper mean you can slide in and out of the Aptos with ease (no hands!), yet still have a secure and comfy fit
  • FLEX YOUR FEET, FEEL THE FLOOR – Patented 5.5mm FeelTrue sole for protection and ground feedback; optional 2mm insole to adjust amount of “barefoot feel;” named after a casual California beach town for its “walking on the beach at sunset” vibe
  • VEGAN FRIENDLY – Xero Shoes believes in promoting healthy and sustainable lifestyles which is why the Aptos is made with zero animal products
  • GET THE RIGHT FIT with FREE Domestic Exchanges – This shoe runs ‘true to size.” If for any reason that’s not the case for you, contact us for a free domestic exchange of your ‘like-new’ shoe
Xero Shoes Aptos Men's Water Shoes - Lightweight Wide Toe Box Casual Slippers Black*
  • UNMATCHED CASUAL COMFORT - The Aptos is lightweight, and features a hemp canvas upper, wide toe box, and new grippy soles for unmatched comfort. A men’s size 9 Aptos is just 7.8 ounces each, perfect...
  • EASILY SLIPS ON & OFF HANDSFREE - Elastic sections in the upper mean you can slide in and out of the Aptos with ease (no hands!), yet still have a secure and comfy fit
  • FLEX YOUR FEET, FEEL THE FLOOR - Patented 5.5mm FeelTrue sole for protection and ground feedback; optional 2mm insole to adjust amount of “barefoot feel;” named after a casual California beach...

Xero Shoes Men’s Aptos Hemp Canvas Slip-on – Casual, Lightweight Zero-Drop Shoe – Reviews

A solid minimalist shoe.

My opinion of this shoe — like many of Xero’s shoes — is all over the place. First, they look better in real life than they do in the photos. The hemp is high quality, and the color is saturated. For example, the navy looks like a rich indigo denim. Very nice. I would say these run a little small. Xero — and almost all of the minimalist shoe companies — drive me insane that they cannot get sizing right. In this brand, nearly every model of shoe is different with regard to sizing. I bought another model shoe in the exact same size and both feet could have fit in one shoe they were so big. Also, the toe box width is only what I would consider average (if you are used to wearing minimalist shoes from other brands). These are wide, but not especially so. I like the look of these quite a lot, and they are as comfortable as expected. But that’s subjective. Know there is no support, the most minimal of padding, and really not much to this shoe; set your expectations appropriately. Some mention this shoe is overpriced, because there is not much to it. That is absolutely true. At least Xero stands behind the quality of their shoes, even if you purchase them from Amazon. It’s difficult to find minimalist shoes that aren’t hideous, so I recommend this one based on this fact alone. These don’t scream “hippie,” “bad taste,” or “orthopedic shoe,” which is a huge victory in my book.

Reviewed in the United States on December 16, 2021

Do my size 11 feet need size 12?

These Aptos are almost great. I wore these for a day before I noticed these 11.5 shoes seem a little too short for my size 11 feet. My feet are 11.0″ long and second toe rubs on the inside of the toe box. It’s like a mild hammer-toe feeling.The reason this is occuring, is my heel doesn’t stay tight enough against the back of the shoe. As I walk around the house, my feet slide forward ‘slightly’ in the shoes, until the longest toe (2nd toe) rubs and gets irritated.I really notice this when I stop walking suddenly. My foot goes forward and I get that old hammer-toe feeling. I’ve only got a few days on these shoes and I hope they will “break in” a little, with more wear. I don’t care for the fit, but I’m sure that a size 12 would be too long. All my other brand size 11 shoes (running shoes, work boots, boat shoes etc) fit fine. Maybe the toe area of these shoes will expand a few mm and solve the slight hammer-toe. I also want to see how these shoes work with thick winter socks. It’s going get cold soon.I got these for walking around the house and yard. Not for hiking or senior citizen 3 to 6 mile walks. I love the way these feel so much better on cold hardwood floors, than just socks.Today, I noticed my fancy NB 1540V2 (w/ roll-bars) with “NB 3810 Ultra Support Insoles”, seem to feel very odd, (and heavy) after wearing my Aptos all day, before going out for a walk. I didn’t enjoy the last mile very much.

Reviewed in the United States on September 24, 2020

Very comfortable zero-drop shoes for wide feet.

Having tried several zero-drop “minimalist” shoes from several manufactures, this is the best by far “casual” shoes for wide feet. Like other Xero shoes, this has an ultra-flexible sole with great ground feel. It also has a wide toe box, but unlike other Xero shoes, it has some extra room around the ball of the foot. This allows the foot bulge over, just a bit, without feeling overly constricted (a problem I’ve run into with multiple shoes from multiple brands).These are very useable for walking, having put in 5-8 mile walks without issue. I’ve not had issues with the cold (in above freezing environment), though I suspect they’ll have issues with hot sidewalk/roads, as they are close to the Hana (but the slip on of the Aptos is a better fit). They also survive quick dashes, but I wouldn’t jog in them, personally.It’s worth noting, these are not good rain shoes (even for small puddles) and if purchasing over, I’d tend towards a darker version, as the light grey shows the dirt (a black pair of Hana, also made from hemp looks newer/cleaner). That said, I’ve worn my in the rain too often, and they dry out well, suffering only the discoloration one gets from drying out clothe wetted with less than clean water.

Reviewed in the United States on December 24, 2021

Toe box has enough room for 2 feet. Unless you have polish sausage toes ya might wanna pass!

There was so much hype over these shoes. Being extremely underwhelmed is being kind. The material is rough and toe box is huge. Unless you have overweight feet I can’t image why you need so much damn room for your toes. They feel like scuba flippers. You could park a smart car in the toe box area. Now there’s a great use…portable car cover for a smart car or Prius. Sheesh!

Reviewed in the United States on October 15, 2020

Favorite pair of xero’s

So as other reviews have said, there’s a lot of volume in these shoes. I almost returned them, but figured I’d try em for a couple days. The volume became less noticeable for me. I really like how I can slip my feet in and out no problem. Turns out I’m glad I kept em and will buy another pair when these wear out.

Reviewed in the United States on August 31, 2021

Great fit, natural feal

For people with flat feet looking to find a more comfortable alternative to sneakers that have too much cushion or soles that are just too hard and constricted toe boxes that hurt your toes, this is a great shoe. I personally wouldn’t recommend it for jogging but if your looking for a better lounge shoe or office footwear, this does the truck.

Reviewed in the United States on June 21, 2022

Never going back

I recently switched over to zero shoes so I decided as a bday gift I’d buy my dad some too. He loves them. He has wide feet so he took to them easily . He kicked his vans to the side and only uses these Aptos now.

Reviewed in the United States on September 12, 2021

Overpriced and overvalued

These are minimalist shoes for wearing around the house or driving. The shoe has no arch support and the soles are very thin. These should be priced at $15 to $25.

Reviewed in the United States on July 7, 2021
Xero Shoes Aptos Men's Water Shoes - Lightweight Wide Toe Box Casual Slippers Black*
  • UNMATCHED CASUAL COMFORT - The Aptos is lightweight, and features a hemp canvas upper, wide toe box, and new grippy soles for unmatched comfort. A men’s size 9 Aptos is just 7.8 ounces each, perfect...
  • EASILY SLIPS ON & OFF HANDSFREE - Elastic sections in the upper mean you can slide in and out of the Aptos with ease (no hands!), yet still have a secure and comfy fit
  • FLEX YOUR FEET, FEEL THE FLOOR - Patented 5.5mm FeelTrue sole for protection and ground feedback; optional 2mm insole to adjust amount of “barefoot feel;” named after a casual California beach...

Xero Shoes Men’s Aptos Hemp Canvas Slip-on – Casual, Lightweight Zero-Drop Shoe – FAQ

How do these men’s differ from the women’s? I love the blue- hate the women’s pink. Can I just do the usual conversion?

The Men’s version will be a size and a half different, and the Men’s will be wider than the Women’s. So, a Women’s size 8 will be the length equivalent to a Men’s size 6.5, with the Men’s being wider.

Could these be used for lifting weights like deadlifts or squats? looking for a flat shoe for those

Hi, Our Aptos are considered more of a casual slip-on, but you can absolutely lift weights in them. A lot of our customers use our shoes for weight lifting, cross training, etc. The Prio has been a favorite for those activities, but these would work too. Have a great day!

Where are these manufactured?

Hello there, Thank you for your email and your interest in Xero Shoes! We design all of our shoes here in Colorado. Xero Shoes are made in China. We like to say, “responsibly, ethically, and fairly-made in China.” We visit and work with the factories multiple times per year. We also have an on-the-ground manufacturing agent who oversees things when we’re not there to ensure that conditions are good, workers are treated fairly, and the shoes are made in compliance with all local laws and regulations. The factories we use treat and pay their workers exceptionally well. Companies much larger than ours use these same factories and have spent millions of dollars on audits to assure themselves and their wholesale partners about the quality and conditions. While we would love to manufacture in America, it is literally not possible, in the same way it’s not possible to manufacture the device you’re using to read this answer. Performance footwear manufacturing moved to Asia in the 70s and shows no likelihood of moving back. Note that some companies that claim “made in America” are still sourcing their materials from overseas (or the US companies from which they buy their materials are doing so). Hope that helps. Please let us know if you have other questions about this and we will be really happy to help out!

If i wear an 11.5 in men what size should i order? hammering toes tend to be an issue in anything other than vans or nike for me so what should i get?

The Aptos is one of our wider styles which would be great for allowing your toes to have room. In regards to sizes we have found going with your usual size is best. Please let us know if you have any other questions we could assist with. : )

Do these fit wider than the Xero Hana?

No they can actually be a bit wider however I wear I size 12 in these.

Why are these listed as being delivered one month after the purchase date?

I actually ended up getting these along with the other pair I ordered within a week not a month like it had initially told me.

Will there ever be different colors for men’s Aptos?

Thank you for contacting us and for your support! While we don’t have any plans for this in the near future, we have passed along your email to our design team. They love to hear from our customers 🙂 Please let us know if you have any other questions. We are always happy to help!

My size is 11.5 eeee. will an 11.5 aptos be wide enough?

Hello Orlando, Thank you for your email and your interest in Xero Shoes! All of our shoes and sandals are designed to allow the foot to move, bend and flex naturally. This means that there is no arch support, minimal if any cushioning and wider than average forefoot (2EE) to allow for toe splay. Our main concept is to allow you to move naturally, as if you were barefoot, but with protection! We do not carry any specifically wide widths. Since everyone prefers a different fit, we unfortunately cannot guarantee that they will work for everyone but we do have many customers with wide feet who find our shoes comfortable! The Aptos in particular has been found to have an extra roomy toe box and mid-foot area so hopefully this style will work for you! Please let us know if you have any other questions

Are they machine washable?

Yes

Xero Shoes Aptos Men's Water Shoes - Lightweight Wide Toe Box Casual Slippers Black*
  • UNMATCHED CASUAL COMFORT - The Aptos is lightweight, and features a hemp canvas upper, wide toe box, and new grippy soles for unmatched comfort. A men’s size 9 Aptos is just 7.8 ounces each, perfect...
  • EASILY SLIPS ON & OFF HANDSFREE - Elastic sections in the upper mean you can slide in and out of the Aptos with ease (no hands!), yet still have a secure and comfy fit
  • FLEX YOUR FEET, FEEL THE FLOOR - Patented 5.5mm FeelTrue sole for protection and ground feedback; optional 2mm insole to adjust amount of “barefoot feel;” named after a casual California beach...

*If you buy a product through one of these links, I will receive a small commission from the seller. There are no additional costs for you, and you support my work on this site. To learn more read here. Thank you and Feel Grounded. Dirk