Xero Shoes Men’s Toronto Canvas Shoe – Lightweight, Casual High Top Sneaker – Review

Xero Shoes Men’s Toronto Canvas Shoe – Lightweight, Casual High Top Sneaker – Product characteristics

  • LIGHTWEIGHT hemp canvas upper with a foot-shaped design for comfort
  • Rubber sole
  • UNMATCHED CASUAL COMFORT – This high-top lightweight sneaker features a hemp canvas upper, wide toe box, and grippy soles for unmatched comfort. A men’s size 9 is about 9.5 ounces each, perfect for both casual uses or your next adventure!
  • XERO DROP SOLE FOR PERFECT POSTURE – The Xero Drop sole offers a non-elevated heel and is low-to-the-ground for proper posture, balance, and agility. You’ll love the silky-smooth liner that becomes slipper-soft in no time
  • FLEX YOUR FEET, FEEL THE FLOOR – Patented 5.5mm FeelTrue sole for protection and ground feedback, optional 2mm insole to adjust the amount of “barefoot feel”. Enjoy the security and comfort of the adjustable heel strap
  • VEGAN FRIENDLY – Xero Shoes believes in promoting healthy and sustainable lifestyles which is why the Toronto is made with zero animal products
  • GET THE RIGHT FIT with FREE Domestic Exchanges – This shoe runs “true to size.” If for any reason that’s not the case for you, contact us for a free domestic exchange of your ‘like-new’ shoe
Xero Shoes Toronto - Men's Lightweight High-Top Hemp Canvas Casual Sneaker. Barefoot-Inspired, Minimalist, Zero-Drop*
  • NATURAL FIT - A wide toe box lets your toes splay, spread, relax, and move naturally.
  • NATURAL MOTION -- Your feet can bend and flex naturally thanks to the flexible sole. A non-elevated "zero-drop" heel allows for proper posture. And the low-to-the-ground design is for balance and...
  • NATURAL FEELING -- The FeelTrue rubber sole gives you just-right protection, while being minimalist enough to let your brain get the feedback it needs for you to move naturally and efficiently.

Xero Shoes Men’s Toronto Canvas Shoe – Lightweight, Casual High Top Sneaker – Reviews

Could be better…

I really wanted to like these shoes.I have been wearing barefoot style shoes for years, and I love hi-tops.Unfortunately, these are not hi-tops, they are mids, and they hit right where my ankle bends. This causes some serious pain!If they were higher, I would seriously consider keeping them.Size wise, I love how they feel on my feet.I am iffy on the overall look of them though. Kind of inbetween orthopedic boot, and child wrestling shoes. Lol

Reviewed in the United States on March 15, 2020

Good fit. Comfortable. But…

Xero Shoes Toronto:I like these shoes and to my surprise and delight, they fit like they should! I wore them around a carpeted apartment for days and liked them very much. But when I wore them to work and walked around on marble floors, I suddenly liked them much less. They were far less protective against super hard floors and also, they sounded weird. The sound of hard plastic is strange in footwear. I didn’t like it. I will definitely keep them and use them here, but not out there. Not for me.

Reviewed in the United States on August 28, 2020

SOLES DO NOT STAY ON LONG

I like the feel of the shoes and the hemp canvas is great and durable. I’m REALLY annoyed though that the soles are easy to come off after 1 month of daily wear. absolutely terrible product for that fact alone.In my whole life I’ve never had an issue kicking my shoes off until this pair…

Reviewed in the United States on April 15, 2022

Amazing shoe even for a larger active man

I would love to say these shoes have changed the way my feet feel. I got the shoes because of its look like the old chuck Taylor’s but I wanted the feel of a minimal shoe and they didn’t disappoint at all. I would love to see a more boot like shoe or a little taller even out of this material. I am a outdoorsman and I do alot of reenactments and bushcraft i think these shoes in some more earth tones and a little taller would be incredible and would introduce people to the shoe that wouldn’t normally see it. I have shown it to several of my bushcraft and ren fair freinds and they are highly interested in fact one ordered right then. I will tell anyone find the style you like and buy them you will not be upset with these shoes.

Reviewed in the United States on October 17, 2020

Overall good shoe, just not for my foot.

It’s a great product, The looks are great even in normal shoe world, but in the barefoot shoe world they are AMAZINGLY CUTE. That being said they didn’t fit me right. The length was perfect, but because they curved in on the big toe they were just too narrow! And the soles were stiffer than I expected!

Reviewed in the United States on September 25, 2020

Heel beginning to separate after 6 months of minimal use

I don’t wear these very often but the sole is already coming undone at the heel

Reviewed in the United States on May 26, 2022

Best shoes I’ve ever owned for exercising.

Best shoes for exercising. They grip the floor really well and are super comfortable while giving great support.

Reviewed in the United States on April 18, 2022

The shoes are easy to return it they don’t fit.

The shoes were very wide, and too short.I returned them with no problems.

Reviewed in the United States on July 19, 2020
Xero Shoes Toronto - Men's Lightweight High-Top Hemp Canvas Casual Sneaker. Barefoot-Inspired, Minimalist, Zero-Drop*
  • NATURAL FIT - A wide toe box lets your toes splay, spread, relax, and move naturally.
  • NATURAL MOTION -- Your feet can bend and flex naturally thanks to the flexible sole. A non-elevated "zero-drop" heel allows for proper posture. And the low-to-the-ground design is for balance and...
  • NATURAL FEELING -- The FeelTrue rubber sole gives you just-right protection, while being minimalist enough to let your brain get the feedback it needs for you to move naturally and efficiently.

Xero Shoes Men’s Toronto Canvas Shoe – Lightweight, Casual High Top Sneaker – FAQ

water resistant?

Thank you for contacting us! The Toronto is not water resistant. The following boots are water resistant, not waterproof. They’ll repel water to a certain degree and keep your feet warm, but they aren’t “trudge through a slushy puddle in the middle of winter” level weatherproof. If you love the style of one of our water resistant shoes, you can enhance their ability to repel water by adding a waterproof coating, like a Scotch Guard spray or beeswax. Hana Mika Denver Currently, the Xcursion is our only fully-waterproof boot. These shoes are fully waterproof and will keep your feet dry in wet-weather conditions.

Where are these manufactured??

Thank you for your email and your interest in Xero Shoes! We design all of our shoes here in Colorado. Xero Shoes are made in China. We like to say, “responsibly, ethically, and fairly-made in China.” We visit and work with the factories multiple times per year. We also have an on-the-ground manufacturing agent who oversees things when we’re not there to ensure that conditions are good, workers are treated fairly, and the shoes are made in compliance with all local laws and regulations. The factories we use treat and pay their workers exceptionally well. Companies much larger than ours use these same factories and have spent millions of dollars on audits to assure themselves and their wholesale partners about the quality and conditions. While we would love to manufacture in America, it is literally not possible, in the same way it’s not possible to manufacture the device you’re using to read this answer. Performance footwear manufacturing moved to Asia in the 70s and shows no likelihood of moving back. Note that some companies that claim “made in America” are still sourcing their materials from overseas (or the US companies from which they buy their materials are doing so). Hope that helps. Please let us know if you have other questions about this and we will be really happy to help out!

I have hot feet. How breathable are these?

Not too hot for my feet

How long are the laces?

Greetings, We measured the average Toronto laces at 57 inches!

I would like to use them for the deadlift in powerlifting. Have you had any feedback from others in this application?

Being a weight lifter myself I have not used this product for that specific purpose but I don’t see why you would not be able to use this shoe as a flat foot option no different than a converse chuck taylor or any other flat foot shoe.

Are they washable

To clean your Toronto, hand wash with warm water, mild soap and allow them to air dry. We do not recommend putting the Toronto in the washing machine or dryer.

Why are all of the sizes “wide”? Is there a regular size 12? Or does xero make all of their sizes “wide”?

Hello, Thank you for your email and your interest in Xero Shoes! We do only carry one width, however all of our shoes and sandals are designed to allow the foot to move, bend and flex naturally. This means that there is no arch support, minimal if any cushioning and wider than average foot-shaped forefoot to allow for adequate toe splay. This wider forefoot will in fact make them seem wider than a similarly sized conventional shoe. Amazon lists our products as wide since they are wide in comparison to conventional shoes. Our main concept is to allow you to move naturally, as if you were barefoot, but with protection! I hope that helps! Please let us know if you have any other questions. 🙂

Ate you able to replace the white lacing on the sides with something else? I ask because this would be an instant buy if they were more low profile

Hello there, Thank you for contacting us. Great question! The laces and the strap that goes around the back are adjustable and removable, so you would be able to replace both. In your case, I would recommend using a paperclip to make threading the strap in and out that much easier! Hopefully that helps! If you have any questions, please let us know. We are here to help! 🙂

Are these Mens?

Thank you for pointing out the typo. We’ll get that fixed as soon as possible. These are Men’s which go up to size 14. The Women’s go up to size 11.

What is the recommended size if i usually wear nike us 8?

The Toronto is running true to size.

Xero Shoes Toronto - Men's Lightweight High-Top Hemp Canvas Casual Sneaker. Barefoot-Inspired, Minimalist, Zero-Drop*
  • NATURAL FIT - A wide toe box lets your toes splay, spread, relax, and move naturally.
  • NATURAL MOTION -- Your feet can bend and flex naturally thanks to the flexible sole. A non-elevated "zero-drop" heel allows for proper posture. And the low-to-the-ground design is for balance and...
  • NATURAL FEELING -- The FeelTrue rubber sole gives you just-right protection, while being minimalist enough to let your brain get the feedback it needs for you to move naturally and efficiently.

*If you buy a product through one of these links, I will receive a small commission from the seller. There are no additional costs for you, and you support my work on this site. To learn more read here. Thank you and Feel Grounded. Dirk