Xero Shoes Women’s Mesa Trail Running Shoe – Lightweight Barefoot Trail Runner – Review

Xero Shoes Women’s Mesa Trail Running Shoe – Lightweight Barefoot Trail Runner – Product characteristics

  • GET THE RIGHT FIT — This shoe runs ‘true to size.” If for any reason that’s not the case for you, contact the Seller for a free domestic exchange of your ‘like-new’ shoe.
  • Made in the USA or Imported
  • Rubber sole
  • LIGHTWEIGHT FOR ACTIVE LIFESTYLES – The Mesa Trail is made with barefoot-friendly, minimalist running in mind to handle your active lifestyle. A women’s 7 is about 6.4 ounces each so you’ll practically fly over your next trail when you’re wearing it
  • XERO DROP SOLE FOR PERFECT POSTURE – The Xero Drop sole offers a non-elevated heel and is low-to-the-ground for proper posture, balance, and agility. You’ll love the comfort and traction that comes from a wide toe box and lugged, dual-chevron tread
  • FLEX YOUR FEET, FEEL THE FLOOR – Our patented 5mm FeelTrue sole offers just-right protection and the ground feedback that your feet love; 3.5mm lugs give you the right combination of protection and grip
  • VEGAN FRIENDLY – Xero Shoes believes in promoting healthy and sustainable lifestyles which is why the Mesa Trail is made with zero animal products
  • GET THE RIGHT FIT with FREE Domestic Exchanges – This shoe runs “true to size.” If for any reason that’s not the case for you, contact us for a free domestic exchange of your ‘like-new’ shoe
Xero Shoes Women's Mesa Trail Running Shoe - Lightweight Barefoot Trail Runner, Dark Gray Sapphire, 8.5*
  • LIGHTWEIGHT FOR ACTIVE LIFESTYLES - The Mesa Trail is made with barefoot-friendly, minimalist running in mind to handle your active lifestyle. A women’s 7 is about 6.4 ounces each so you’ll...
  • XERO DROP SOLE FOR PERFECT POSTURE - The Xero Drop sole offers a non-elevated heel and is low-to-the-ground for proper posture, balance, and agility. You’ll love the comfort and traction that comes...
  • FLEX YOUR FEET, FEEL THE FLOOR - Our patented 5mm FeelTrue sole offers just-right protection and the ground feedback that your feet love; 3.5mm lugs give you the right combination of protection and...

Xero Shoes Women’s Mesa Trail Running Shoe – Lightweight Barefoot Trail Runner – Reviews

Quality has gone downhill

I have had Xero shoes before, loved them. They lasted a decent length of time before they wore out, it was well over a year, year and a half before I needed a new pair.However this pair, I have walked less than a 1000 miles in them, and the tread has worn off in the heels, there is not a solid piece of vibram under the lugs, so if the lugs wear off, you have holes through the vibram. One lacing strap is broken and I lace my shoes loosely do there wasn’t strain of any kind on the strap, and the fabric parts are beginning to rip by the arch of the foot and across the top of the foot.I walk in my shoes: road, and trail. I don’t rock scramble or do anything that beats up my shoes.I contacted them, and their solution is for me to send these back, and then I can buy a new pair at a discount. But even with a discount, I can’t see buying shoes that won’t last 1000 miles. The quality has gone downhill since my last pair. Of people I know who have been xero fans, this is the general consensus among us all.Actually, thinking about it, it took several pairs sent and returned to amazon to get a pair that didn’t have a lump in the sole or an obvious flaw to begin with.

Reviewed in the United States on June 28, 2021

Did not even last a month

Love the look and feel of these sneakers, but unfortunately the ribbon that holds the lace has broken. Only lasted 3 weeks before it broke. Was not worth the money

Reviewed in the United States on August 13, 2020

Best shoes ever!

I was skeptical of getting a pair of minimal support shoes. I have suffered from a knee injury a long time ago, and even just walking a half mile I would be limping. I gave these shoes a shot after recommendation from a friend. After wearing these, I can’t go back to supported fancy shoes that lift my heel etc. I no longer have knee issues. I have hiked 6 miles in these and I have NO knee pain!!! I love the shoes and the brand will be my dominant shoe in my closet. I recommend them for anyone! Keep in mind it takes time to adjust to the new feeling of not have the fancy support system, but it is soo much better for the joints, posture, the strength in your feet and ankles (all the strength we lose wearing supported shoes).I just ordered a pair of running shoes, and I can’t wait to get them!!

Reviewed in the United States on September 10, 2021

LOVE THEM!

LIGHT AND COMFORTABLE. PLENTY OF ROOM FOR MY TOES. GOT THEM TODAY, WALKED 6 MILES AND THEY ARE JUST PERFECT. THIS IS MY SECOND PAIR OF XERO SHOES AND I LOVE THEM BOTH. HOWEVER, DON’T EXPECT TO GET 5000 MILES OUT OF THEM. THEY ONLY LASTED 3 MONTHS. XERO DID REPLACE THEM WITH ANOTHER PAIR AND AGAIN 3 MONTHS LATER AND NEED A NEW PAIR. MAYBE 1000 MILES OUT OF THESE SOLES.

Reviewed in the United States on March 13, 2020

Comfortable and Stylish

I love these Xero shoes! So comfortable! I went up a half size… I use them for weight training and walking, and they have exceeded my expectations! I get compliments every time I wear them.

Reviewed in the United States on March 16, 2020

I like it, but…

I really like this shoe but it runs small in length so order a full size larger. One of the inserts is the wrong size. I ordered a women’s 11 and the right insert is for a size 9 shoe. I contacted the company and they didn’t respond. This is why 3 stars. I would have given 5 otherwise. I tried the hfs and do not like it for sidewalk running because there is no traction. I like this shoe for road running. It provides the flexibility and barefoot feel with great traction. Wish I had two inserts that fit. I prefer this shoe with the inserts. I would change my review to 5 stars if I had two inserts that fit properly.

Reviewed in the United States on September 12, 2021

Order Up!

I wear a 6.5W, I ordered a size 7. They only fit when I take out the insoles. Next time I’ll order a 7.5, if they wear well over time. I love how spacious the toe box is. The fabric is not tight on the toes, so day one they look used instead of new. I do not like the texture of the laces. I always double knot my other shoes, but these laces are a little too short. The lounge could be a little longer to make putting them on easier. I walk in the desert often and was worried about sand getting in them. Though some sand does get in, it’s not enough to complain. The lugs are a nice size and I’m looking forward to trying them out on hiking trails. I love the natural feel of the rocks under my feet. It’s like a sensory foot massage.

Reviewed in the United States on December 21, 2021

There are better trail runners out there

that have zero heel drop and deeper cleats, and more durable cloth covering your feet.not going to say the brand because i’m hoarding the shoes right now, but they’re cheaper and better.

Reviewed in the United States on March 3, 2021
Xero Shoes Women's Mesa Trail Running Shoe - Lightweight Barefoot Trail Runner, Dark Gray Sapphire, 8.5*
  • LIGHTWEIGHT FOR ACTIVE LIFESTYLES - The Mesa Trail is made with barefoot-friendly, minimalist running in mind to handle your active lifestyle. A women’s 7 is about 6.4 ounces each so you’ll...
  • XERO DROP SOLE FOR PERFECT POSTURE - The Xero Drop sole offers a non-elevated heel and is low-to-the-ground for proper posture, balance, and agility. You’ll love the comfort and traction that comes...
  • FLEX YOUR FEET, FEEL THE FLOOR - Our patented 5mm FeelTrue sole offers just-right protection and the ground feedback that your feet love; 3.5mm lugs give you the right combination of protection and...

Xero Shoes Women’s Mesa Trail Running Shoe – Lightweight Barefoot Trail Runner – FAQ

Does anybody know if these will hold up any better than the other Zero shoes? Which fall apart quickly. Has anybody put any real run miles on them?

I wouldn’t buy these sneakers, they lasted about two weeks before the eyelet broke free. The eyelet is made with lace, the shoe cannot be tied without it.

I bought a mens 8 for the width, how would that compare in a womens size?

Our men’s and women’s shoes are very similar, the difference will be the width. The women’s version will fit more narrow. When moving from men’s to women’s you will need to “size up” 1.5 sizes. You will find a comparable length but you will get the extra width. For example, a Women’s 10 would be comparable in length to a Men’s 8.5.

How does the sizing compare to the speed force model? I had to size up a whole size with speed force. Should I do tve same with these?

This style also runs small, similarly to the SpeedForce, so we would suggest ordering the same size with the Mesa Trail. 🙂

How good are these for running in mud? i have a pair of altra mountain king 1.5 that are great in mud but are a little heavy. look for a lighter shoe.

Not sure they would be good in the mud, but they are light. but I don’t recommend these sneakers for the reason that they broke in less than a months time. The lace that was used as an eyelet had broken, without it they cannot be tied. I would have returned them, but I broke my foot two weeks after purchasing them, and when I went to wear them months later, it broke.

Is there any cushioning in the insole?

there is an insole with very little cushion to, the soles itself does provide some. they are extremely comfortable.

How do these mesa trails compaire to the the terraflex shoes ? I want them for minimalist trail running

The Mesa Trail is designed for trail running, as well as the TerraFlex. The lugs on this style will be 3mm thick as opposed to the 4mm on the TerraFlex. The upper material of this style will be a thinner mesh material for breathability. Both will be very similar in function, with some slight differences as far as appearance and design. 🙂 Please let us know if you have anymore questions.

Any experience hiking in these with Morton’s Neuromas?

I wouldn’t buy these sneakers, they lasted about a two weeks before the eyelet broke free. The eyelet is made with lace, the shoe cannot be tied without it.

Why are there only wide sizes?

Hello there! Thank you for contacting us and for your interest in Xero Shoes! While we wouldn’t have a varied widths and would consider our shoes “medium width”, all of our shoes and sandals are designed to allow the foot to move, bend and flex naturally. ​This means that there is no arch support, minimal if any cushioning and wider than average forefoot to allow for toe splay. ​Because they are more minimal and have that wider forefoot, it provides a bit more space for your feet! ​As such, by Amazon’s standards, they would classify them as being a wide size. Hopefully that helps! Please let us know if you have any other questions. Have a wonderful day! 🙂

Do these shoes work for narrow feet? I understand the roomy toe box, but are they also wide overall?

Hi, All of our shoes and sandals are designed to allow the foot to move, bend and flex naturally, so they do tend to run a little wider overall to allow this. There is no arch support, minimal if any cushioning and wider than average forefoot to allow for toe splay. Amazon is a good option to try out our shoes if you are unsure, since they do offer free returns for Prime members. 🙂 Please let us know if you have anymore questions.

Xero Shoes Women's Mesa Trail Running Shoe - Lightweight Barefoot Trail Runner, Dark Gray Sapphire, 8.5*
  • LIGHTWEIGHT FOR ACTIVE LIFESTYLES - The Mesa Trail is made with barefoot-friendly, minimalist running in mind to handle your active lifestyle. A women’s 7 is about 6.4 ounces each so you’ll...
  • XERO DROP SOLE FOR PERFECT POSTURE - The Xero Drop sole offers a non-elevated heel and is low-to-the-ground for proper posture, balance, and agility. You’ll love the comfort and traction that comes...
  • FLEX YOUR FEET, FEEL THE FLOOR - Our patented 5mm FeelTrue sole offers just-right protection and the ground feedback that your feet love; 3.5mm lugs give you the right combination of protection and...

*If you buy a product through one of these links, I will receive a small commission from the seller. There are no additional costs for you, and you support my work on this site. To learn more read here. Thank you and Feel Grounded. Dirk