Xero Shoes Women’s Prio Cross Training Shoe – Lightweight Zero Drop, Barefoot – Review

Xero Shoes Women’s Prio Cross Training Shoe – Lightweight Zero Drop, Barefoot – Product characteristics

  • Made in the USA or Imported
  • Rubber sole
  • COMFORTABLE, FOR-EVERYTHING SHOE – Whether you’re out on a run, trying out a new trail, hitting the gym, or toeing a slackline, you’ll love the Prio’s combination of freedom and protection
  • XERO DROP SOLE FOR PERFECT POSTURE – The Xero Drop sole offers a non-elevated heel and is low-to-the-ground – this allows proper posture, balance, and agility for all-round performance
  • ULTRA-THIN BAREFOOT DESIGN – Wear with or without socks. The optional 2mm insole lets you have more or less of a “barefoot feel” depending on your mood
  • VEGAN FRIENDLY – Xero Shoes believes in promoting healthy and sustainable lifestyles which is why the Prio is made with zero animal products
  • GET THE RIGHT FIT with FREE Domestic Exchanges – This shoe runs ‘true to size.” If for any reason that’s not the case for you, contact us for a free domestic exchange of your ‘like-new’ shoe
Xero Shoes Women's Prio Cross Training Shoe - Lightweight Zero Drop, Barefoot, Violet, 9.5*
  • COMFORTABLE, FOR-EVERYTHING SHOE - Whether you’re out on a run, trying out a new trail, hitting the gym, or toeing a slackline, you’ll love the Prio’s combination of freedom and protection
  • XERO DROP SOLE FOR PERFECT POSTURE - The Xero Drop sole offers a non-elevated heel and is low-to-the-ground - this allows proper posture, balance, and agility for all-round performance
  • ULTRA-THIN BAREFOOT DESIGN - Wear with or without socks. The optional 2mm insole lets you have more or less of a “barefoot feel” depending on your mood

Xero Shoes Women’s Prio Cross Training Shoe – Lightweight Zero Drop, Barefoot – Reviews

5 months sole separated

I have loved xero shoes since I first saw them on shark tank. I bought these shoes July 2020. I’ve only had them for 5 months and the sole is already separating! Mind you, I work from home and walk around with no shoes on all day. I don’t heavily use these at all. Just when I leave the house, to pick up groceries. Makes me really sad because these were the first barefoot shoes that were super promising.

Reviewed in the United States on December 19, 2020

Great buy!! Worth every penny!!

I decided to graduate from the standard cushy running shoe to a zero drop shoe and found that I will never go back! This shoe is amazing! I have a high arch and high pronation, so it was always important that I purchased shoes that prevented the pain that commonly exists following a run or routine wear. This is the first shoe I ever purchased where I have no pain at all during my activity or when I’m done. It feels like I’m running with no shoes on, yet like a cushion is below my feet. I can’t explain it better than that. My posture has also improved and my feet don’t feel squeezed or so closed up like in the standard shoes. It’s a very light weight shoe and fits as expected. It mirrors my foot. I recommend anyone do your research before just jumping into a zero drop shoe because you will ultimately work muscles that were previously protected or cushioned by other shoes. As an example, I had to increase my calf stretching as I switched shoes and it helped a lot. My feet and leg muscles have gotten stronger. I’m very pleased with the results. This brand is outstanding and I will definitely purchase again!!

Reviewed in the United States on June 6, 2021

Comfortable. Half size down

Just so everybody knows, around 2018 the company adjusted their sizing. I recommend going a half size down from your usual size. The company says they are now true to size, but I find it is still just a tad large. I am a 7.5 normally but I got a 7 – at first they were snug and it seemed like they would be too small since my toes reached the edge of the shoe. But after walking around the house in them a whole day they fit perfectly. They were comfortable right away. I don’t think they need any breaking in after a day of light use.I am used to barefoot shoes and cannot do the floppy beavertail clown shoes look and feel. Been there done that when first starting out. I need to depend on accurate footwork and wanted a barefoot shoe for parkour. I believe this is it. Also just wanted to say how comfortable these are. Plenty of ground feel and wide toe splay for days, but just enough cushion that you can do sports, hike, or walk in them all day on pavement.Update: I’ve been wearing these for a year and they’re still in good shape. My go to shoe.

Reviewed in the United States on March 24, 2020

Love these shoes

I decided to make the switch to minimalist running shoes due to having repeatedly experienced injuries from my active lifestyle as a soldier. I’ve had to power through a fractured pelvis and frequent shin splints from running in the military. After making a gradual switch to these shoes, having used them for many months now I’ve experienced no more joint pain or shin splints from running. At this point they’re quite worn and the sole is beginning to separate from the shoe. I’ve gotten the life expectancy out of the shoes that I would have expected considering how much I run. I tend to replace my running shoes about every 6 months and these have held up great. Will definitely buy another pair as I couldn’t see myself going back to wearing regular running shoes.

Reviewed in the United States on January 6, 2020

Great in one way but…

I love it that Prios are completely flat inside the shoe. No intrusive arch support–that’s great! Unfortunately, Prios are constructed on a very wide last–for both heel and toe. Great if you have “rectangular feet”! But if, like me, you have narrow heels and a medium to wide forefoot, they just don’t fit. Try as I might, I couldn not tighten them enough to stop my foot sliding around inside the shoe. I tried a smaller size but it was too short. Xero Shoes–please take notice! I’d love to wear your shoes if only they fit me.

Reviewed in the United States on September 19, 2019

Make sure to follow sizing instructions for the best fit

I followed Xero’s recommendation to order a half size up than my normal shoe, and they fit great! I made sure to print out a guide of one of their sandals that fit true to size, and ordered a half from there, going from 8 to 8.5. At first they didn’t feel very “barefoot,” but after removing the optional insole, they had the feel I was looking for. I have gone running, walking, and hiking with these shoes, as well as use them as my every day gym shoes, and they are great. Not specific to Xero shoes, but wearing barefoot shoes and getting acclimated to them has greatly increased my foot strength, got rid of pain in my left arch (especially when going down stairs), and have helped greatly with my “runners knee.”

Reviewed in the United States on September 21, 2018

Well Made & a Wonderful Toe Box

I love the zero drop heel. I have hammer toes and a beginnings of a bunion and the zero drop does NOT push my toes into the end of the shoe like others with elevated heel.The toe box is wide, roomy and deep enough – just beautiful.The negative:Unfortunately I have to have arch support because of overpronation and when I put my orthotic supports in the shoe (after removing the extra insert) it raises my heel just enough that the padding around the heel at the ankle area hits in the wrong place and pushes my foot forward. I have purchased some inserts that don’t have a raised heel but unfortunately it doesn’t work. I will have to return these but am very sad because these are the first shoes I have found with a PERFECT TOE BOX.

Reviewed in the United States on March 22, 2022

Most comfortable shoes I’ve ever owned.

Barefoot shoes were recommended to me by my doctor as I have feet that are wide at the toes and narrow at the back as well as some knee issues. Have been using Hokas and tried these to see what the difference is. Instantly my feet were more comfortable in these. I have both walked and worked out in them with similar results. Never felt unsupported and my feet felt naturally more relaxed. Also feel like my posture and movement have improved. Plan to get another pair in another color and have also purchased the HFS to try out for road running. Highly recommend to at least try. Now that I’ve tried them, I can’t go back to my Hokas for walking or my Under Armor shoes for cross training.

Reviewed in the United States on February 17, 2022
Xero Shoes Women's Prio Cross Training Shoe - Lightweight Zero Drop, Barefoot, Violet, 9.5*
  • COMFORTABLE, FOR-EVERYTHING SHOE - Whether you’re out on a run, trying out a new trail, hitting the gym, or toeing a slackline, you’ll love the Prio’s combination of freedom and protection
  • XERO DROP SOLE FOR PERFECT POSTURE - The Xero Drop sole offers a non-elevated heel and is low-to-the-ground - this allows proper posture, balance, and agility for all-round performance
  • ULTRA-THIN BAREFOOT DESIGN - Wear with or without socks. The optional 2mm insole lets you have more or less of a “barefoot feel” depending on your mood

Xero Shoes Women’s Prio Cross Training Shoe – Lightweight Zero Drop, Barefoot – FAQ

Why are all these sizes wide? is there a regular version too?

The simple answer? To help your toes spread, allowing them the room they actually need. The full answer is in books, blogs, podcasts, videos, etc. There is good science behind the health of ones foot, and the rest of them. Shoes are frequently very restricting for a body pet that contains 25% of ones bones – a part with so many joints is begging to move! Check out the work by Katy Bowman book Whole Body Bearfoot of nutritious movement, or how the people in MovNat are frequently barefoot. I cannot fully answer here, but hope this gives you some leads.

I have wide feet as well as serious bunions. i walk, bike and weight train. is this the best xero style? if not, please recommend.

Hello there, Thank you for contacting us. Great question! The Prios are a general athletic and running shoe, so they would be very well suited! While we wouldn’t have a varied widths and would consider our shoes “medium width”, all of our shoes and sandals are designed to allow the foot to move, bend and flex naturally. ​This means that there is no arch support, minimal if any cushioning and wider than average forefoot to allow for toe splay. ​Because they are more minimal and have that wider forefoot, it provides a bit more space for your feet! ​ ​For the Women’s sizes, we have had customers fit up to a size D width. ​As for the Men’s, we have had some customers that can fit in a 2E or 3E width. In both cases, it is very much a “hit or miss” depending on the style of shoe. At the current moment, we do not manufacture shoes that are wide enough for a 4E+ widths. That said, if you are worried about the width, you could consider the Men’s sizing. To get a bit more specific, the men’s version will have an extra 1/4-1/8″ width compared to the women’s version. When moving from women’s to men’s you will need to “size down” 1.5 sizes. You will find a comparable length but you will get the extra width. ​For example, if you are looking at the Women’s size 8, the equivalent ​would be the slightly wider Men’s size 6.5. Hopefully that helps! Please let us know if you have any other questions. 🙂 Have a wonderful day!

Why is there not a size 9?

I don’t know. I decided to purchase a men’s shoe because they never had my women’s size and I’m pleased.

Is it unisex?

Hello, Thank you for contacting us and for your interest in Xero Shoes! We have many women, including myself, that wear our men’s due to width. Our men’s and women’s shoes are very similar, the difference will be the width. The men’s version will have an extra 1/4-1/8″ width compared to the women’s version. When moving from women’s to men’s you will need to “size down” 1.5 sizes. You will find a comparable length but you will get the extra width. For example, a Women’s 10 would be comparable in length to a Men’s 8.5. Hopefully that helps! Let us know if you have any other questions.

I’m looking at size 5.5, but would like to know why the size here is 5.5 b(m)?? what’s “b” and (m) for? Thanks.

Hello, Thank you so much for your interest! We would be happy to answer your question. We don’t carry special outside sizes for 5.5. So it may just be a glitch showing 5.5 b (m) size. In this style if you go with your usual size Women’s 5.5 that is typically the best size to go with as it fits true to size. All of our shoes and sandals are designed to allow the foot to move, bend and flex naturally. This means that there is no arch support, minimal if any cushioning and wider than average forefoot to allow for toe splay. Because modern shoes have thick soles, and mold your feet the transition to barefoot shoes can take time. We usually recommend a slow transition into minimal footwear, since it can take some time for your feet to adjust to the shoes. When I reviewed the page I was unable to see the 5.5 b(m) you mentioned. Please feel free to select the size then color you would like. Please let us know if you have any other questions we would be happy to assist. We hope you have a lovely day.

Are these shoes good for standing on your feet all day at work in addition to running?

All of our shoes and sandals are designed to allow the foot to move, bend and flex naturally. This means that there is no arch support, minimal if any cushioning and wider than average forefoot to allow for toe splay. Many of our customers wear these for running as well as all day standing, but it would ultimately come down to what your personal preference is regarding fit, comfort, and performance.

My feet are slightly wide so I wear a 9 in running shoes but an 8 in skater shoes. Are these as wide as skater shoes or do I still need to size up?

All of our shoes and sandals are designed to allow the foot to move, bend and flex naturally. This means that there is no arch support, minimal if any cushioning and wider than average forefoot to allow for toe splay. Our main concept is to allow you to move naturally as if you were barefoot, but with protection! Since everyone prefers a different fit, we unfortunately cannot guarantee that they will work for everyone.

Anyone with plantar fasciitis use these? Are these good for this?

Hello! Thank you very much for reaching out and for your interest in Xero Shoes, we greatly appreciate it! All of our shoes and sandals are designed to allow the foot to move, bend and flex naturally. This means that there is no arch support, minimal if any cushioning and wider than average forefoot to allow for toe splay. Our main concept is to allow you to move naturally, as if you were barefoot, but with protection! We would love to give you personal advice but we are not medical doctors and can’t specifically answer or give advice regarding your question, but you may find more information at the customer recommended sites below: https://nutritiousmovement.com/blog/ http://sock-doc.com/ I hope that helps! Please let us know if you have any other questions! Hope you have a great week, thanks again!

Are there kids shoes available?

Yes, we do make kids Prios. Unfortunately, they’re not available through Amazon at this time. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Xero hana 8 was a tad small… looking to return for prios…. any idea what size would work.. half or full up?

If you would need an 8.5 for the Hana, then (based on customer feedback) you would probably need a size 9 for the Prio.

Xero Shoes Women's Prio Cross Training Shoe - Lightweight Zero Drop, Barefoot, Violet, 9.5*
  • COMFORTABLE, FOR-EVERYTHING SHOE - Whether you’re out on a run, trying out a new trail, hitting the gym, or toeing a slackline, you’ll love the Prio’s combination of freedom and protection
  • XERO DROP SOLE FOR PERFECT POSTURE - The Xero Drop sole offers a non-elevated heel and is low-to-the-ground - this allows proper posture, balance, and agility for all-round performance
  • ULTRA-THIN BAREFOOT DESIGN - Wear with or without socks. The optional 2mm insole lets you have more or less of a “barefoot feel” depending on your mood

*If you buy a product through one of these links, I will receive a small commission from the seller. There are no additional costs for you, and you support my work on this site. To learn more read here. Thank you and Feel Grounded. Dirk