Xero Shoes Women’s Toronto Canvas Shoe – Lightweight, Casual High Top Sneaker – Review

Xero Shoes Women’s Toronto Canvas Shoe – Lightweight, Casual High Top Sneaker – Product characteristics

  • LIGHTWEIGHT hemp canvas upper with a foot-shaped design for comfort
  • Rubber sole
  • NATURAL FIT – A wide toe box lets your toes splay, spread, relax, and move naturally.
  • NATURAL MOTION — Your feet can bend and flex naturally thanks to the flexible sole. A non-elevated “zero-drop” heel allows for proper posture. And the low-to-the-ground design is for balance and agility.
  • NATURAL FEELING — The FeelTrue rubber sole gives you just-right protection, while being minimalist enough to let your brain get the feedback it needs for you to move naturally and efficiently.
  • BAREFOOT FRIENDLY, VEGAN FRIENDLY, DURABLE — Remove the 2mm insole for more bare foot feel. This product is free from all animal products and is backed with our 5,000 Mile Sole warranty.
  • GET THE RIGHT FIT with FREE Domestic Exchanges — This shoe runs ‘true to size.” If for any reason that’s not the case for you, contact the Seller for a free domestic exchange of your ‘like-new’ shoe.
Xero Shoes Toronto - Women's Lightweight High-Top Hemp Canvas Casual Sneaker. Barefoot-Inspired, Minimalist, Zero-Drop Black
65 Reviews
Xero Shoes Toronto - Women's Lightweight High-Top Hemp Canvas Casual Sneaker. Barefoot-Inspired, Minimalist, Zero-Drop Black*
  • NATURAL FIT - A wide toe box lets your toes splay, spread, relax, and move naturally.
  • NATURAL MOTION -- Your feet can bend and flex naturally thanks to the flexible sole. A non-elevated "zero-drop" heel allows for proper posture. And the low-to-the-ground design is for balance and...
  • NATURAL FEELING -- The FeelTrue rubber sole gives you just-right protection, while being minimalist enough to let your brain get the feedback it needs for you to move naturally and efficiently.

Xero Shoes Women’s Toronto Canvas Shoe – Lightweight, Casual High Top Sneaker – Reviews

Great for training legs and very comfortable, but…

These shoes are amazing for lifting, and they’re comfortable for my wide feet I will probably get another pair.UPDATE 10/26/2020: A few days after my first review and after wearing these shoes for the 3rd time, the rubber on the side that holds the white lace together broke. I didn’t do anything crazy other than lunges, squats, the elliptical, etc. When I got home, I realized it was broken. I am disappointed because they’re super comfortable, but now I don’t think they’re durable or strong enough to last.UPDATE 11/5/2020: I contacted Xero Shoes and explained to them what happened. They offered to send me another pair, but I had to choose whether to send the broken pair back with a return label provided by them or to further damaging the shoes so they become unwearable. I chose to further damage the shoes, which they said I could do by wring a big X on the toe box with a silver sharpie. I just got the new pair today, and I am very satisfied. Now, I hope they last. Xero shoes customer service is great!

Reviewed in the United States on October 25, 2020

Very comfortable, cute, but $$$

Damn it. Why is it so cute and comfortable but so chintzy. Seriously, I would pay less than half what I did for a shoe like this. And I was going to return it, because my first impression was Hmmm This is Kind of Low Quality for Over a Hundred Bucks. Not that there’s ripped seams or visible glue, etc. But – it’s a cheap shoe none the less!Alas! I put it on, and then took it off, unimpressed. And then a week later, I put it on, and wore it around the house…and then outside…and then everywhere for the next three days…and I was hooked. I love these shoes. Light, roomy, cute. I just wish they weren’t so damn expensive relative to the quality of materials. I would say these are worth about 40 bucks, actually. If I got them at that price, I would consider it a good deal. 75 would be pushing it.I will look for less expensive, wider, thin-sole, zero-drop shoes elsewhere. But I’ll be looking for them while wearing these. 🙂

Reviewed in the United States on December 22, 2020

BESTEST EVER!

I LOVE these shoes! I workout everyday. I do 2 hours of cardio a day before weight training. I’ve had the hardest time finding my idea of a perfect shutter to train in. These are it! I would usually have to take my shoes off during cardio and sometimes during weights. I have not even wanted to take these off even when I’m home. These shoes are the best to me! I love the lace around the ankle and heel. I can pull the lace tighter for more support without compromising my toe space! I should highly recommend these shoes for anyone and everything! Thank you so much!!

Reviewed in the United States on February 23, 2020

The PERFECT Shoe!

As soon as I saw the shoes inside the box, I was excited! It looked so small however. I was nervous but when I put it on, it was not tight at all! I was shocked! It is so comfortable and attractive, I am now a lifetime buyer! I am VERY picky when it comes to my shoes. I searched high and low to see something that attracted me in all ways! This shoe ticked all of the boxes AND MORE! I took the shoe off immediately just to write the review! I am so very very happy with this shoe. I’m glad I switched to the color “pine” right before I ordered. Matches more of my clothing. It looks like a light/dark gray, not a shade of green I would have thought. Perfect!!! This color is actually what I was hoping it would be- according to how it looked in the picture! Again.. Perfection!!!

Reviewed in the United States on November 12, 2020

Blissful

I was 2hrs into my shift at work when they arrived and asked my mom to bring them up so I can get out of my heavy work boots.So right off the bat, I was able to work 6hrs in them. If Im not working, Im barefoot, so the adjustment to barefoot shoes wasnt a thing for me.I immediately stumbled in them because I was so use to my boot’s heel. But after my feet adjusted in like 5 minutes, it was the most blissful 6hrs on my feet. I’m normally aching from a 8hr shift, my shoulders dont ache, my legs dont ache, and my feet dont ache. I even said screw it and walked home the 20mins because I was still in great shape.The fit was spot on, and I was a little nervous because I havent worn anything but work boots/fashion boots/military like boots in about 4-5 years. Before I ordered I was at a dollar store and got my size for a normal sneaker shoe there.As for slip, I work at subway, dishes can make floor a little wet, I did slip a little bit. They are not non-slip, but i didnt expect them to be as they were a casual shoe.Comfortability/breaking in:No need to break in, but as I said, 6hrs of my shift were just sweet bliss.Price: I have never once spent over 30$ for shoes/boots/etc but I really took the plunge because the style was better than other barefoot shoes.Durability: They seem quite strong, Ill update after a month or so.

Reviewed in the United States on May 2, 2020

Survived opening Day at sport clips

I just finished the opening day of Sport Clips across America.Historically speaking I’ve never experienced anything like it. So no idea of what to expect, I researched & found these wonderful shoes. Talk about baptism by fire , my left foot has swelling & a bunion , I’m pretty girthy in size & these shoes saved my life today. Water , long hours no worries, my feet aren’t going to hurt tomorrow morning because they were loved by this beauty shoe design & product. They stayed cool. No throbbing &! I’m still standing 14 hrs later. Rock on y’all !

Reviewed in the United States on May 16, 2020

Great shoe for my work outs.

I got this shoe for stability with body weight isometrics and for aesthetic reasons. I noticed the difference zero lift makes with range of motion. I believe these shoes will allow me to break through a few plateaus at the gym.

Reviewed in the United States on February 5, 2022

Comfortable and stylish boxer shoe design

I like the shoe design and they are very comfortable. I used them during a high ropes obstacle course and they were the perfect shoe for balancing and walking across beams. It is unfortunate they are made in China.

Reviewed in the United States on September 8, 2020
Xero Shoes Toronto - Women's Lightweight High-Top Hemp Canvas Casual Sneaker. Barefoot-Inspired, Minimalist, Zero-Drop Black
65 Reviews
Xero Shoes Toronto - Women's Lightweight High-Top Hemp Canvas Casual Sneaker. Barefoot-Inspired, Minimalist, Zero-Drop Black*
  • NATURAL FIT - A wide toe box lets your toes splay, spread, relax, and move naturally.
  • NATURAL MOTION -- Your feet can bend and flex naturally thanks to the flexible sole. A non-elevated "zero-drop" heel allows for proper posture. And the low-to-the-ground design is for balance and...
  • NATURAL FEELING -- The FeelTrue rubber sole gives you just-right protection, while being minimalist enough to let your brain get the feedback it needs for you to move naturally and efficiently.

Xero Shoes Women’s Toronto Canvas Shoe – Lightweight, Casual High Top Sneaker – FAQ

How wide are they

We don’t have an exact measurement of how wide they are but most of our customers who have an 2E foot can usually fit into our shoes comfortabable. However, fit will be different for everyone.

Do these have toe protection? Suitable for hiking? Thanks!

No for the protection. As for hiking , my customers all remark they look like wrestling or boxing shoes. Flat on bottom and balance is good.

Is there a men’s version of this shoe?

There is a Men’s version of the Toronto. It does look like we are currently out of stock, but we will be restocking this style in the early Fall. 🙂

are you gonna have more sizes? 6.5 perhaps

Hello, Thank you so much for your email and your interest in Xero Shoes! Unfortunately we are out of stock of some colors and sizes of the Toronto. We are expecting a restock during the Summer. However we do receive back exchanges and returns on a daily basis, and inventory is added back into the system when these are processed. We’ll send a notification via our newsletter at xeroshoes.com/newsletter when they are available. Please let us know if you have any other questions! 🙂

I just recieved mine and love them. however they arent as flexible as i thought. cant feel as much if the ground as i thought either. anyone else?

The Toronto has a 5.5mm FeelTrue® rubber sole to give you the right combination of protection plus ground-feedback. Also, you can remove the 2mm insole, for a closer-to-barefoot experience that lets you Feel The World®.

If only these had black laces. Does anyone know of where we can get some that fit them perfectly?

So I changed my laces to blackish. I bought a lace that was 42′ long I feel they fit just fine. The original white laces that came with the shoe is more like 48″ long. I dont mind the shorter laces I feel they work just fine.

What if you step on something sharp is there protection?

Hello Candace, Thank you for your message and your interest in Xero Shoes! All of our shoes and sandals are designed to allow the foot to move, bend and flex naturally. This means that there is no arch support, minimal if any cushioning and a wider than average forefoot to allow for toe splay. Our main concept is to allow you to move naturally, as if you were barefoot, but with protection! Many of our shoe styles are great for providing ground feedback, while still offering protection from things you may encounter daily such as rocks. If you are looking for a thicker sole with added protection, we would recommend one of our trail styles, which feature lugs for added protection and layers of trail foam to help reduce impact on various terrain. I hope that helps! Please let us know if you have any other questions.

How long are the laces?

Since the Toronto is a high-top sneaker, the laces would be quite long to span the base of the shoe all the way to the top of the boot, plus spare for being able to tie them. While the length of the laces varies a bit from size to size, you should have enough to tie the shoe comfortably. If you have any other questions, please let us know. We are here to help! 🙂

Xero Shoes Toronto - Women's Lightweight High-Top Hemp Canvas Casual Sneaker. Barefoot-Inspired, Minimalist, Zero-Drop Black
65 Reviews
Xero Shoes Toronto - Women's Lightweight High-Top Hemp Canvas Casual Sneaker. Barefoot-Inspired, Minimalist, Zero-Drop Black*
  • NATURAL FIT - A wide toe box lets your toes splay, spread, relax, and move naturally.
  • NATURAL MOTION -- Your feet can bend and flex naturally thanks to the flexible sole. A non-elevated "zero-drop" heel allows for proper posture. And the low-to-the-ground design is for balance and...
  • NATURAL FEELING -- The FeelTrue rubber sole gives you just-right protection, while being minimalist enough to let your brain get the feedback it needs for you to move naturally and efficiently.

*If you buy a product through one of these links, I will receive a small commission from the seller. There are no additional costs for you, and you support my work on this site. To learn more read here. Thank you and Feel Grounded. Dirk