Xero Shoes Z-Trail – Women’s Lightweight Hiking and Running Sandal – Barefoot-Inspired Minimalist Trail Sport Sandals – Review

Xero Shoes Z-Trail – Women’s Lightweight Hiking and Running Sandal – Barefoot-Inspired Minimalist Trail Sport Sandals – Product characteristics

  • Made in the USA or Imported
  • Rubber sole
  • The Z-Trail EV sport sandal fits true to size.
  • Xero Shoes Z-Trail EV gets rid of 70% of your usual sport sandal’s weight and bulk. The super flexible sole lets your feet bend and move naturally.
  • Upper webbing is Unifi recycled plastic bottle yarn.
  • Tubular quick-dry webbing (now made with nylon from recycled water bottles) adds comfort, and adjustable heel and instep straps give a secure fit.
  • The yokes are Clarino synthetic microfiber.
Xero Shoes Z-Trail - Women's Lightweight Hiking and Running Sandal - Barefoot-Inspired Minimalist Trail Sport Sandals Bright Blue, 8*
  • The Z-Trail EV sport sandal fits true to size.
  • Xero Shoes Z-Trail EV gets rid of 70% of your usual sport sandal's weight and bulk. The super flexible sole lets your feet bend and move naturally.
  • Upper webbing is Unifi recycled plastic bottle yarn.

Xero Shoes Z-Trail – Women’s Lightweight Hiking and Running Sandal – Barefoot-Inspired Minimalist Trail Sport Sandals – Reviews

Good sandals for a season

I really enjoyed these sandals. They lasted one summer without any major wear or anything breaking. I give these a low star review, because like I said they wore out after one summer. Stretched a bit, the fit is just different. Along with that I am shocked to see that these sandals DOUBLED in price since I bought them. These are not worth $84… They’re really over marketing the barefoot feel. Pretty ridiculous. I just went to order another pair and after seeing the price, I’ll find a more reasonable brand that will hopefully last more than one year for $84.

Reviewed in the United States on April 5, 2022

Company not honoring warranty

The material is cheap squishy foam that has compacted after a few weeks of use. It now has imprints of my feet which makes natural walking impossible. I reached out to the company to request a replacement with their other sandal that is made from a fermer non padded material. They requested I email photos to another email address. This was a huge inconvenience and it took me a couple of weeks to find the time. After taking and sending many photos and an email I never heard back and probably never will.I will update with photos when I have time and an update to the star rating and review if I ever get a replacement.

Reviewed in the United States on August 23, 2021

Must get your feet would love you for it!

Love my xero sandals! I feel they have the right amount of flexibility and cushion. I am new to minimalist wearing and these are perfect. Walked all around town, the beach without any issues. Great grip when crossing over wet rocks.I did size up. I am normally a size 7. The 7 did fit however the edge on the back of sandal pushed my foot forward making my pinkie toes stick out. Some people don’t mind that but I prefer my toes inside the sandal itself. So I ordered an 8 and it’s a great fit. If they did have half sizes I feel a 7.5 would be perfect as there would be less to tightened, but and extra pull it’s not a big deal.

Reviewed in the United States on April 8, 2022

Not worth the money

I wore this shoe for a short time on a hiking/backpacking trip. We had to cross several streams, so wanted something that can get wet and still hike in. These looked perfect as it said for hiking/running. They are unfortunately way to thin and flimsy. The bottom would flap from the current in the river, putting me off balance. The bottom would also catch on rocks/edges while hiking, bending under itself frequently. By about 2 hours of use the edges were also peeling and starting to fall apart. I could not continue to wear them. For this price point, I would have expected something much more strong and stable. Great for having as a second pair of shoes when backpacking for slipping on to hang around camp in, as they are light weight and easy to carry. However, they should be at least $40.00 cheaper. These are not good hiking or running shoes unless you are on a clean smooth surface maybe. Almost feels like $ store quality in the soles. Very disappointed.

Reviewed in the United States on June 22, 2022

Nice sandals but buy a 1/2 size up – not down

I bought these sandals for running and am very happy with them. The style I bought does not come in half sizes. I made the mistake of buying the half size smaller, rather than going up to the next size. So I had to send back the original pair. They are a little pricey, but I would still recommend because they are ultra comfortable and great for running.

Reviewed in the United States on May 30, 2022

Too narrow in the toe

I returned these as the shape was not right for my foot. I need a wider more squared off toe.

Reviewed in the United States on May 10, 2021

Good grip, comfy, lightweight

This is my first pair of Xero shoes. I’ve had other barefoot brands and I love them all. These sandals are super lightweight and comfy. I was climbing all over wet rocks at the beach without slipping around. I’ll probably buy more of them when I run these down. I would say they are kind of expensive for sandals though. I wish they were a little more affordable.

Reviewed in the United States on April 8, 2022

Literally the best things I’ve ever had on my feet besides skin.

Feels as close to barefoot as possible. The monkey like grip soles, while being able still to “feel” my sense of safe connection /attachment to the ground, are beyond what I hoped for 💓 I never thought I’d say it’s better than barefoot for hiking but I think they are! 🐬💨

Reviewed in the United States on November 15, 2021
Xero Shoes Z-Trail - Women's Lightweight Hiking and Running Sandal - Barefoot-Inspired Minimalist Trail Sport Sandals Bright Blue, 8*
  • The Z-Trail EV sport sandal fits true to size.
  • Xero Shoes Z-Trail EV gets rid of 70% of your usual sport sandal's weight and bulk. The super flexible sole lets your feet bend and move naturally.
  • Upper webbing is Unifi recycled plastic bottle yarn.

Xero Shoes Z-Trail – Women’s Lightweight Hiking and Running Sandal – Barefoot-Inspired Minimalist Trail Sport Sandals – FAQ

I have high arches , will these support my feet?

The arch is supposed to bend and flex like a springboard built into your foot. “Arch support” actually keeps your foot from functioning the way it’s designed to work. So to answer your question, these won’t provide extra support for your arches. That’s actually a good thing. (I have high arches, too.)

Will these fit a wide foot?

My feet are as wide as they get and these fit and are still comfy.

How much does a pair of these weigh? Do they smash down flat? Looking for light camp shoes.

I have Mens Amuri Z-Trek size 10. The pair weighs 400 grams (200 grams each sandal). The lay flat on the floor when not in use (if I understood the question correctly). I would go camping in those, as long as you don’t mind feeling the ground with all its sometimes sharp textures underneath, and removing stuff that gets between the soles of your feet and the sandals from time to time. I don’t, and I love that they give me the almost barefoot sensation with some protection.

Is the front strap comfortable for foot w large bunion?

I have a bunion on my right foot and the strap does not irritate it. Theses are very comfortable sandals; you can adjust to fit your foot instead of forcing your foot to fit the sandal.

Has anyone worn these after having kids? When your feet are different the s they used to be?

Yes, we have received feedback that they are still great even after pregnancy. The straps are adjustable so you’re able to adjust the fit to your liking.

I am US size 10.5, should I order size 10 or 11?

Hello there, Thank you for your message and your interest in Xero Shoes! Great question! We recommend having a bit of space in front of your toes (some people go by the “rule of thumb” as it were, where you have about a thumb’s width in front). That way your foot has space to shift as needed when doing something more physical like running or going down a hill! In your case, if you are a size 10.5, you may want to lean towards the size 11 to make sure there is enough space! Likewise, we actually have templates for all of our sandals available online on our Xero Shoes website! We recommend printing them out to determine your size. If you wanted to compare the 10 and 11, be sure the page is set to actual size (100%) and match the scale with a ruler afterwards. If you aren’t able to print those out, they will also have the length measurements so you can get an idea! Hopefully that helps! Please let us know if you have any other questions. 🙂

I have idiopathic neuropathy. looking for a good pair of running sandals that allow feet to be cool while I run. Would these sandals be right for me?

No no no There is no support in these Imagine a tortilla with straps that’s how thin these are I sent them back

Why isn’t there any size 10’s?

Hello , Thank you so much for your interest in Xero Shoes! Unfortunately we are out of stock of some colors and sizes of the Z-Trail . If you ask our owner and CEO Steven Sashen he likes to say: “This is my least favorite conversation: ME: We sold out of many of our best styles, colors, and sizes this year SOMEONE WHO HAS NEVER RUN A BUSINESS: That’s a good problem to have. ME: It’s never good when I can’t give people what they want. If you’re one of the MANY people who has been frustrated because we didn’t have the product you wanted, we sincerely apologize. Being a bootstrapped company, growing as fast as we have, running out of inventory is one of the issues we’ve had to deal with. And, trust me, it’s more unpleasant for us than it is for you.” The good news: More products/styles/colors are coming soon. We have new shoes and sandals for men and women that we’ll be introducing throughout the next year. We’ll send a notification via our newsletter at xeroshoes.com/newsletter when they are available again. You may find the size you need on Xeroshoes.com or REI! We’ve also included a video link that goes into further detail here: https://xeroshoes.com/xero-shoes-news/inventory/ Please let us know if you have any other questions! 🙂

10.5 size

Hello, Our sandals actually only come in full sizes. We have templates for all of our sandals available online. We recommend printing them out to determine your size. Be sure the page is set to actual size (100%) and match the scale with a ruler afterwards. You can find them at www.xeroshoes.com/xerofit Hopefully that helps! Let us know if you have any other questions.

Xero Shoes Z-Trail - Women's Lightweight Hiking and Running Sandal - Barefoot-Inspired Minimalist Trail Sport Sandals Bright Blue, 8*
  • The Z-Trail EV sport sandal fits true to size.
  • Xero Shoes Z-Trail EV gets rid of 70% of your usual sport sandal's weight and bulk. The super flexible sole lets your feet bend and move naturally.
  • Upper webbing is Unifi recycled plastic bottle yarn.

*If you buy a product through one of these links, I will receive a small commission from the seller. There are no additional costs for you, and you support my work on this site. To learn more read here. Thank you and Feel Grounded. Dirk